1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Root [ROM][UNOFFICIAL] LineageOS 14.1 Motorola Moto E4 Plus Owens

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Member1660584, May 9, 2018.

  1. coacharnold

    coacharnold Newbie
    Rank:
     #483
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    May 21, 2018

    May 21, 2018
    25
    9
    26
    Male
    wow .. so weird, I'm rooted but it was showing not rooted. I restarted and can enter those and save the buildprop. Restarted again, and tethering is now active -- Thank you !!!
     

    Advertisement

    Member1660584 likes this.
  2. Member1660584

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Np.
     
  3. coacharnold

    coacharnold Newbie
    Rank:
     #483
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    May 21, 2018

    May 21, 2018
    25
    9
    26
    Male
    Just curious .... think there will be a 15.01 for the Owens E4 plus?
     
  4. Member1660584

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    If I can get it done or someone else does first, yes.
     
    Some Guy Here and bcrichster like this.
  5. coacharnold

    coacharnold Newbie
    Rank:
     #483
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    May 21, 2018

    May 21, 2018
    25
    9
    26
    Male
    Hey so ..... this kills my camera

    net.tethering.noprovisioning=true
    ro.mot.tether_dun_required=false
    persist.sys.dun.override=0

    I wouldn't have believed it ... but .. camera refused to work... then I wiped everything.. rebuilt from the rom. Reset everything fine. just now I remembered to update the build prop file for a dongle and kaboom ... camera wont start again ... nothing fixes it but wiping the phone and rebuilding from the rom..Thoughts?
     
  6. Member1660584

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Umm, that doesn't make sense to me at all. It doesn't happen to me. Try without that line. I think that'll only work for stock anyway actually. Maybe it's a carrier thing?
     
  7. coacharnold

    coacharnold Newbie
    Rank:
     #483
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    May 21, 2018

    May 21, 2018
    25
    9
    26
    Male
    I agree .. it makes no sense ... I'm on a carrier free moto e4 .. everything was fine ... I added the 3 lines above and camera dead... which is when it started the other day.

    which line should I try taking out ... or all 3

    I take out all three and the camera doesn't come back until I reflash the rom ... is it possible there is an update in the air that I'm not seeing that causing all this?

    thanks for the help resolving this stuff
     
  8. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #33
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    6,191
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    6,191
    4,358
    713
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    I think I seen in the OG buildprop that one of those lines was commented out with a '# Enabling this breaks shit..' ;)
     
  9. Member1660584

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Nope, that was this one:
    telephony.lteOnCdmaDevice=1
     
    bcrichster likes this.
  10. Member1660584

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Remove this one:
    ro.mot.tether_dun_required=false
     
  11. coacharnold

    coacharnold Newbie
    Rank:
     #483
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    May 21, 2018

    May 21, 2018
    25
    9
    26
    Male
    Nope .... I put

    net.tethering.noprovisioning=true
    persist.sys.dun.override=0

    and the camera is immediately unusable.

    When I comment them out, the camera is still unusable. Like before I have to rebuild the phone from ROM.

    Is this like GRUB in linux where there needs to be a config command to get it to revert? SO I don't have to keep rebuilding the phone?
     
  12. Member1660584

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    It hit me this morning that your problem sounded familiar. https://forum.xda-developers.com/moto-e4/help/camera-build-prop-edit-t3678500
    I'll do a new build later that'll hopefully fix your problem. I'm not sure why it's happening on your device and not mine, but I'll look into it
     
  13. coacharnold

    coacharnold Newbie
    Rank:
     #483
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    May 21, 2018

    May 21, 2018
    25
    9
    26
    Male
    So, no thoughts on this? ..... the lines to activate tethering absolutely killed my camera. I can't go back once i do it without re-flashing the phone
     
  14. Member1660584

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Did you look at the last post I made yesterday? It should solve your problem. It's the exact same problem.
     
    bcrichster likes this.
  15. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #33
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    6,191
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    6,191
    4,358
    713
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Yes, I had to reflash my ROM after modding the build prop as well, haven't done it again since. Basically if there's a line that is an absolute must-have, we'll just add it to default_buildprop. But plz keep in mind that any Root modifications will have ramifications.. As in: if you're heavily modifying your ROM, you could possibly be the one breaking stuff and not due to his build.. No hate, just a thought.

    Edit: @coacharnold , I'm not having tether issues on any builds so far, and I think we're ( @amarc78 & I ) using damn near exact same device trees with maybe a cpl of our own personal mods
     
  16. coacharnold

    coacharnold Newbie
    Rank:
     #483
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    May 21, 2018

    May 21, 2018
    25
    9
    26
    Male
    Hey Hey .... no worries .... I'm here to play, I enjoy the hell out of this stuff .. so no need for the warnings ... ....I didnt see you post linking out to https://forum.xda-developers.com/moto-e4/help/camera-build-prop-edit-t3678500 this is interesting .... so ok ... here's the thing .... I'm not doing any root mods at all ... this is a plain vanilla build of the moto E4 plus Lineage .... thanks for finding that post... is that it? I'll test it tonight

    T
     
    bcrichster likes this.
  17. coacharnold

    coacharnold Newbie
    Rank:
     #483
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    May 21, 2018

    May 21, 2018
    25
    9
    26
    Male
    Ok here's what I found:
    I added the tethering lines to build prop and then changed “camera.disable_zsl_mode” from 1 to 0
    This ended with camera not working .....
    I rebooted .... Still no camera.
    Changed “camera.disable_zsl_mode” from 0 back to 1
    no camera.
    Rebooted again
    no camera
    Changed “camera.disable_zsl_mode” from 1 back to 0

    CAMERA WORKS!!!!!!!!!!

    It looks like messing with this stuff in build prop is super sensitive and it really neads to be done on step at a time.

    I would say .... if you have this issue.

    STart with a new build
    Add the thether lines to Build prop
    Reboot
    then ---
    Change “camera.disable_zsl_mode” from 1 to 0
    reboot
    Camera should work.
    as should tethering


    Thanks for the help
    T
     
    Member1660584 likes this.
  18. Member1660584

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Glad to see you got it working.
     
  19. Member1660584

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Glad to see you got it working.
     
  20. Member1660584

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Glad to see you got it working.
     
  21. JesseKnows

    JesseKnows Member
    Rank:
     #578
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    May 2, 2014

    May 2, 2014
    66
    12
    18
    Hello,
    I installed the lineage-14.1-20180509-UNOFFICIAL-owens version on my Boost device. Everything seems to run fine. I was hoping to use this as a daily driver with t-mobile prepaid.

    My problem is, my t-mobile SIM is not recognized at all.
    The Boost SIM is registered fine The Status screen shows the SIM and the phone number. Take it out, the icon goes to a grayed-out block and everything in the Status screen is "Not available". Insert t-mobile SIM - no change at all. Remove t-mobile SIM and insert Boost - registers within a few seconds.
    I also tried to power off, insert the SIM, then power on. Still not registered.

    The t-mobile SIM works fine in an iPhone SE and in a Moto X 22014.

    Before flashing Lineage I had allowed the phone to activate and install updates from Boost.

    I'd appreciate any suggestions. I can try reflashing stock, but then I expect the t-mobile SIM to be rejected because the phone is carrier locked. (I did not try that before).

    Jesse
     
  22. Member1660584

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    There's nothing you can do without carrier unlocking the phone which can only be done by calling Boost customer service. They'll tell you you need to have had the device activated for at least 6 months or whatever the time period is. I think your stuck with Boost for a while.
     
  23. JesseKnows

    JesseKnows Member
    Rank:
     #578
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    May 2, 2014

    May 2, 2014
    66
    12
    18
    Thanks, amarc78.

    I have seen several posts regarding https://forum.xda-developers.com/mo...lineageos-14-1-moto-e4-plus-qualcomm-t3734197 as a way to get around the carrier lock.
    I will try that build. I had thought to get ahead by using lineage-14.1-20180509-UNOFFICIAL-owens, assuming the latter is just a newer build with the same capabilities.

    I now installed the build from XDA and indeed the SIM is recognized.
    I still have specific issues with actual phone calls - the phone drops the cell connection when I try to dial out as well as when a call comes in. I see that both on the new E4+ and on the Moto X 2014.

    Bottom line - the lineage-14.1-20180306-UNOFFICIAL-owens build does seem to get around the SIM issue, the lineage-14.1-20180509-UNOFFICIAL-owens does not.
    Or maybe it's something else.
    Regardless, it seems that the E4+ can't be my daily driver. I need to stick with the iPhone SE, much as I would like an Android.
     
    #48 JesseKnows, Jun 19, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2018
  24. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #33
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    6,191
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    6,191
    4,358
    713
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    OK.. You messed up on that one by leaving the Boost SIM in and updating. If you've read the posts well, you'd notice that people actually removed the Sim before 1st boot and installed their Carrier's Sim and then unlocked bootloader/Flashed ROM.. Always READ-READ-READ and double check, sorry..
     
    Member1660584 likes this.
  25. Member1660584

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I'm pretty sure there's nothing different with that build than mine here that would help you carrier unlock. I my device trees came from SeanStar's, I just made a few improvements for better battery life and performance that shouldn't make any difference as far as what your trying to do. I'm pretty sure if you already activated the device on stock with the Boost sim card, your stuck with it for a while.
     
    #50 Member1660584, Jun 19, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 19, 2018
    bcrichster likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...