1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

[ROM] Velocity V1.0 | LG Ally | Android 2.2.1 Froyo | Super Fast | Stable

Discussion in 'Archived Threads' started by Trident, Feb 2, 2011.

  1. x-amp

    x-amp Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    79
    14
    18
    I honestly can't tell what its for but don't disable it or your signal gets lost instantly
     

    Advertisement

  2. savoxis

    savoxis Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    812
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    812
    708
    163
    ODOT Field Services Tech
    Pacific NW
    Script Update 15

    So I got a call from Comcast Securities this morning... Apparently they frown upon uploading more than 500gigs in 7 days. Since my home server (awesomazing) has become compromised I have decided to move the OTA server to 184.106.76.138 which is a RackSpace Hosted Gentoo 10.10 box with a 10MB connection. So it should be allot nicer for you guys.

    To switch to the new server all you need to do is Update to v15. I will keep awesomazing up as long as comcast will let me, hopefully there isnt service interruption anytime soon.


    Changes:
    • New Server, Quicker, Safer, More Expensive than the one before.
    • Added version number to main menu!
     
  3. Morte

    Morte Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    13
    3
    16
    Just an FYI

    Been trying to determine my problem with Charging for the past week. Basically phone will not charge while plugged into a USB port. I tinkered through possibly apps that are running and such as well as the CPU governer. Phone seems to not only draw more power when plugged into USB but would actually decharge at a rate faster than normal usage would account for. Even on a freshly installed Velocity laydown.

    Solution: Install the LG USB drivers. Why? don't have a clue, but my phone refuses to charge off of ANY USB port on a system without the LG Drivers installed. Wall chargers would charge it, just not USB.
     
  4. savoxis

    savoxis Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    812
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    812
    708
    163
    ODOT Field Services Tech
    Pacific NW
    Seems like the issue may be related to USB tethering -- on it.
     
  5. noodleinjar

    noodleinjar Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010

    Oct 15, 2010
    11
    2
    16
    **** I THINK ITS BOOTLOOPED! WHAT DO I DO WHAT DO I DO WHAT DO I DO?!?! It just keeps saying lg then velocity. I wiped when to backup and restore then hit backup then I wiped data and cache. UGH PLEASE PM ME SOON IDK WHAT TO DO.
     
  6. KingOfGreen

    KingOfGreen Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    842
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010

    Nov 3, 2010
    842
    179
    93
    Chandler, Az

    First calm down, second go to the ally irc channel and someone can help you there right now.
     
  7. savoxis

    savoxis Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    812
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    812
    708
    163
    ODOT Field Services Tech
    Pacific NW
    Script Update 16

    I felt guilty making a release that was just a server change, so I threw in some toys for you guys to play with:
    Version 16:
    Added Stagefright Toggle
    Added LCD Density Changer
    Added Used Space Checker


    with the density changer: anything over 400 is pretty much unusable, might be good for blind people, I tested and you can still get to terminal to switch back, same goes for low, I whent down to 100, very small. If for some reason you adjust it too much to either way, you can run the script from a adb shell and set it back down, generally you will be ok from 150-300
     
    Darkangels6sic, PuNN- and tron101 like this.
  8. PuNN-

    PuNN- Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

    Feb 6, 2011
    33
    3
    36
    S.W. Missouri
    Does the Stagefright Toggle fix the problem some of us are having with choppy out-of-sync camcorder playback?
     
  9. savoxis

    savoxis Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    812
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    812
    708
    163
    ODOT Field Services Tech
    Pacific NW
    Try it out, might need a reboot to stick, only made sure the settings where persistent.
     
    PuNN- likes this.
  10. CallitCaptive

    CallitCaptive Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    24
    3
    16
    Musician
    Hey can someone help me out... the link for velocity 1.0 doesn't seem to be working.
     
  11. Darkangels6sic

    Darkangels6sic Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    84
    5
    36
    Male
    Babysitting for my bf and Tattoo artist
    Weirdtown
     
  12. Afteraffekt

    Afteraffekt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    354
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    354
    76
    53
    Computer Electronics Engineer
    South Carolina
    Why don't you guys add the Stock 2.2 Theme the script?
     
  13. socobandit

    socobandit Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    230
    24
    38
    SE PA
    Question...what does the odex rom script do? Will it free up more memory?
     
  14. getitnowmarketing

    getitnowmarketing Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    138
    Posts:
    477
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    477
    788
    138
    Probably due to the usb driver subsystem change I did. On linux this is not an issue but I didnt develop under windows.
     
  15. getitnowmarketing

    getitnowmarketing Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    138
    Posts:
    477
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    477
    788
    138
    Yes. Odex is the opposite of deodex. The stock lg rom is odexed and the java classes.dex are contained in an odex file. Deodexing allows theming but the side effect is the classes.dex are placed into the apk. On first boot or wipe of dalvik-cache on a deodexed rom these classes.dex are unpacked and optimized into the dalvik-cache and take up some space there. Using the odex script on velocity will re odex all the apks in system and will give you ~ 33mb more free space on /data partition at the cost of not being able to install any themes that alter the system apps after the point you odexed. Framework is left deodexed on velocity FYI.
     
    Nemesiis and socobandit like this.
  16. getitnowmarketing

    getitnowmarketing Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    138
    Posts:
    477
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    477
    788
    138
    On windows greater than xp or linux no additional drivers are needed for rndis wired tether. Xp users have reported that upgrading to sp3 has the drivers included.

    Id like a xp sp2 or less user to try this for me.

    Download and install active sync 4.5. Yes this is for windows mobile but contains the driver you need. Download details: ActiveSync 4.5


    Plug-in phone and activate the wired tether.

    When its asks you for the driver generic RNDIS driver, you can choose the place of this driver (don't choose automatic).
    Then point the "Find New Hardware" wizard to the directory location :
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft ActiveSync\Drivers
     
  17. chevyrado14

    chevyrado14 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #513
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010

    Aug 25, 2010
    110
    54
    53
    i already upgraded to sp3 and it works awesome now thanks for the info maybe it will help someone else.
     
  18. socobandit

    socobandit Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    230
    24
    38
    SE PA
    is there a script to deodex the rom if i decide to theme later? or will i have to reflash to get back to deodexed?
     
  19. Biotic

    Biotic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,376
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    1,376
    664
    213
    Male
    electronic repair/computer repair/ android!
    Pennsylvania
    Ok so I was one of those curious people who flashed velc. 1 via ra recovery with eclair. Course it didn't work. Just flashed velocity and lg. So I flashed back to velc 0.4. But now every time I go into ra recovery. The velocity logo appears. That suppose to happen or a side affect of doen somtin u were told not to do? And another question. Why can't the ota command be installed on velc 0.4 to install v1 on a eclair device? Wouldn't that work since verizon can do it. Y can't we? An attempt to install 2.2 on allys via custom command?
     
  20. EpicFailz

    EpicFailz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010

    Sep 17, 2010
    10
    2
    16
    ok almost evey post you have made on this site is looking for an easy way to stay rooted and move to 2.2.1. The steps are not really that hard. It took me about 1.5 hrs to do. All the time you have wasted with asking how to do this easier and you could have been done by now. You wont brick your phone just do it.
     
  21. Fishndad

    Fishndad Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010

    Nov 27, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Male
    Just curious, this is more a question than a reply. I have the same issue since version.04 that I can only charge when connected at home and not at work on my work pc. When you install drivers, does the drivertell the USB port to "up" the voltage? I was thinking that normal usb ports put out a little over 3 volts but the battery needs more or actually it does discharge? Further note, my co-worker has the same problem... completely different phone all stock. If this theory is correct then people can understand the importance of installing the correct drivers.
     
  22. fltblkvic

    fltblkvic Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    113
    27
    43
    College Student
    Terryville, CT 06786
    I have to agree with Epic on this one, there really isn't an "easy way out" of this one. You have to remember, if there was an easier way to get the 2.2.1 update while maintaining Fastboot and Root Access, I'm sure they (Trident, Getitnowmarketing, and Savoxis, the brains behind this Rom) would have revealed that information by now instead of just directing people to the http://androidforums.com/ally-all-things-root/263285-guide-froyo-2-2-1-root-users.html link to get there. There is a "One Click Root Method for Froyo 2.2.1 on the LG Ally" but you won't get the benefits of doing it the long way. These guys have put a lot of effort into coming up with this method and have had much more feedback since the day that post was released, so it's a much better method now. If you still can't seem to get over your fears about updating check this out: http://androidforums.com/ally-all-things-root/263819-my-guide-froyo-root-update.html. It's a method that a lot of people who seem to be afraid of Tridents complete method have tried with success and relative ease. Give it a try, if you get stuck or have questions there always the freenode Web IRC (qwebirc) avenue. The people who built this rom along with other Android experts are there chatting in realtime to help with this exact kind of thing. Good luck amigo, I hope all the best for you and your quest for Ally Greatness! :cool:
     
    Nemesiis likes this.
  23. PuNN-

    PuNN- Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

    Feb 6, 2011
    33
    3
    36
    S.W. Missouri
    To answer my own question, yes it does.

    Thanks
     
    Fishndad likes this.
  24. getitnowmarketing

    getitnowmarketing Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    138
    Posts:
    477
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    477
    788
    138
    At this time no. Its a possbility but we will need to change some of the odexing method. Reflash to go back to deodexed.

    Velocity comes with a Velocity splashed ra recovery but is the same as the latest version I have on rom manger in every other way. Only the stock recovery can flash the updated radio needed to run froyo roms. All flashing radios that we did on eclair with a custom recovery (Ra or Clockwork) was just a placebo. That's why you have to follow the upgrade to froyo method. If thats not something you want to do maybe stay on eclair or stay stock.

    As a whole most phones require usb drivers to be able to usb charge. Usb mass storage should be no drivers needed however. I have it set in kernel on velocity to usb charge at 500mah.
     
  25. dcooterfrog

    dcooterfrog Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    175
    9
    36
    so in this case once I find a theme I like I can odex the rom and save same space. if I feel I need to "go back" I can restore a nandroid right./ or reflash
     

Share This Page

Loading...