1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM] Viper 4G 2.0.0 and beyond

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SamuraiBigEd, Sep 28, 2012.

  1. SamuraiBigEd

    SamuraiBigEd Under paid Sasquatch!
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,181
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    4,181
    2,088
    633
    Male
    Production, Warehouse & Installation Manager
    San Antonio, Texas
    Not sure, I didn't delve to deep, just closed running apps but was still having the drain. I am guessing it was stuck checking location or syncing with its server.
     

    Advertisement

  2. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    853
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,290
    853
    The Infernal Swamp
    today i did a full install of v2.0.2 that I gave a little bit of brain damage to. Custom Ringtones work and so far so does everything else.
     
  3. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Have you seen the other CleanRom? By newboy I think?

    I'm pondering a little brain salad surgery between its apps and this base...
     
  4. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    853
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,290
    853
    The Infernal Swamp
    no i haven't. that sounds like a fun project. pm me and I'll join in on it with you we'll see what we can create from them. that is if you want the extra set of hands :)
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  5. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,872
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    1,872
    556
    213
    Cary, NC
    So I'm looking at the changelog on this version, and I don't see anything that really jumps out at me as making a big difference. I haven't Lazy Panda's yet, and it seems necessary for this ROM (since I have been reading that there are issues otherwise). So I don't care to take the time, jump through the hoops, and subject my phone to the risk (though minor), if there's nothing really wonderful in the upgrade.

    Maybe I'm missing something.... Can anyone tell me what the big deal is with 2.0.2 over 1.0.0?
     
  6. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    853
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,290
    853
    The Infernal Swamp
    yes it a difference of 1.0.2 :D
     
  7. ckholladay21

    ckholladay21 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    15
    1
    16
    I flashed viper 4G 2.0.1 from 1.0 after doing a full wipe. Upon the setup I noticed that my people app took forever to load. Any app that pulled info from people also loaded slow. Sms, email, etc.
    I did an ota to viper 4G 2.0.2 hoping that would fix it. It did not, and I even tried doing a full flash of 2.0.2 using twrp. Still no luck... Any advice?
     
  8. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    853
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,290
    853
    The Infernal Swamp
    try to wipe dalvic and cache and see if that helps if not see if it does it with another ROM. If it doesn't then try to do a full wipe x 3 and then install 2.0.2 see if it does it then
     
    ckholladay21 likes this.
  9. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    This rev is far more responsive and hands down better on multitasking.

    S-off isn't required, just fastboot flash the stock kernel boot.img first to avoid bootloops from a kernel / rom mismatch.

    Ditto on the new radios, you really need those here.

    The only downside is that you lose your Apple linkify fix, as do all roms on the new base.





    Go into app management and clear data from People and any apps that feed it for you such as Facebook and Twitter.

    Then re-sync everything.

    There's talk at XDA that the lag is caused by fragmentation in the sql database for that stuff.
     
    CriticalCritic likes this.
  10. SamuraiBigEd

    SamuraiBigEd Under paid Sasquatch!
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,181
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    4,181
    2,088
    633
    Male
    Production, Warehouse & Installation Manager
    San Antonio, Texas
    Maybe the spiders from Mars can do something about that.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  11. nullspace

    nullspace Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    154
    98
    53
    They were still wondering why not everybody seemed to be affected by it though. The one person posted that the lag went away after clearing the data then restoring it back, but the lag came back...or something along those lines.

    Do you notice any difference after de-Sensing?
     
  12. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Ah, figures. I haven't been over there today or since that last tidbit. :(

    No changes to my rom or the tests I wanted to do, stuff came up on the site, and poof went my time, so I am still stock with Nova on top.
     
  13. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    853
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,290
    853
    The Infernal Swamp
    from my perspective desensed is really just derosie its nova laucher or apex your choice or if you prefer ssLauncher :D yes i did

    there are still a ton of htc apps in the "Desensed" version of the ROM.
     
    nullspace likes this.
  14. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Guess I didn't post this here -

     
    Tre Lawrence and argedion like this.
  15. spdkilz02

    spdkilz02 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012

    Jan 30, 2012
    106
    37
    43
    Database Specialist
    Ohio
    Does anyone on here use the Handcent app for texting? Mine seems to lag a lot when trying to open it up.
     
  16. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    853
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,290
    853
    The Infernal Swamp
    try EM's suggestion its sounds like its a people thing do any other apps seem laggy that use People? Facebook for instance? or it uses them what ever :D
     
  17. SamuraiBigEd

    SamuraiBigEd Under paid Sasquatch!
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,181
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    4,181
    2,088
    633
    Male
    Production, Warehouse & Installation Manager
    San Antonio, Texas
    I quit using Handcent with my 3D, I was having the same and other problems then.

    I think I did briefly load it on the ElTevo but still noticed the problems and that was stock unrooted.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  18. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    853
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,290
    853
    The Infernal Swamp
    I had lots of lag problems with it back then been using Go SMS ever since.
     
    jackie08 and EarlyMon like this.
  19. spdkilz02

    spdkilz02 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012

    Jan 30, 2012
    106
    37
    43
    Database Specialist
    Ohio
    Ok I dumped the handcent app and installed the go sms app. That one seems to be a lot better.
     
  20. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Fwiw, if you go menu, settings, Basic tab, running mode, normal, you'll find it doesn't babble at you to use their other services.

    I use the ICS theme and then instead of its wallpaper, just black. Looks pretty sharp to me. :)
     
  21. ckholladay21

    ckholladay21 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    15
    1
    16
    I tried wiping cache and dalvic, but it didn't do anything. After a full wipe and re-flash of the ROM things seem to be working fine. :)

    Thanks!
     
    argedion likes this.
  22. windsorclarenc

    windsorclarenc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011

    Nov 6, 2011
    719
    629
    163
    Male
    Windham, OH
    I've found a great solution for many things is to do a dirty flash. Clear cache and dalvik cache then flash the ROM over itself. This way you don't have to back everything up just to stay on the same ROM.
     
  23. nullspace

    nullspace Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    154
    98
    53
    Is the Sprint hotspot unlocked in this ROM?
     
  24. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I believe so, yup just tested, it fired right up. :)

    On another note:

    I've seen quite a few random reboots, mostly at night while the phone is asleep. Notice when I get up, up time is only a few hours. Might have to back everything up and flash the full Rom outright.

    I like the OTA option for the ROM, but it goes agensed my better judgement.
     
    nullspace and argedion like this.
  25. nullspace

    nullspace Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    154
    98
    53
    Hmm, why aren't people using the hotspot when they are having trouble getting wifi tethering working?
     

Share This Page

Loading...