1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM][WIP] JellyBeer 4.2 (4.2.2) for the ZTE Sequent

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by PlayfulGod, Jun 3, 2013.

  1. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    696
    313
    Male
    the one not on the left? i dunno what you mean you want to know which one is jellybeer its on the first post of page one, if you want to know which rom out of all the ones listed above by superr is the right one to put on your phone, then youre the only one who can answer that question
     

    Advertisement

    royal2blue likes this.
  2. shinru2004

    shinru2004 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    1,812
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011

    Nov 22, 2011
    1,812
    1,571
    333
    Male
    Charlestown
    Lol, the one not on the left classic junkie....
     
  3. jstinger9489

    jstinger9489 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 9, 2013

    May 9, 2013
    11
    2
    16
    Male
    Telecommunications Tower Technician
    Louisville, Ky
    Lmao junkie. You guys are busting a$$ on these rooms. Wonderful work, but I have a question... Are any of you going to make a flashable zip of the 4.1 update when it rolls out (hopefully) Monday? I really don't want to unroot and flash the stock recovery. I can't help it, I love my CWM... (Thanks Koush) ;-) :thumbup:
     
  4. money15

    money15 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    492
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012

    Jun 4, 2012
    492
    75
    53
    Male
    Bid Coordinator/Shipping
    Bainbridge, NY
    I'm sure somebody will if not I will if I can root it again
     
  5. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    696
    313
    Male
    yea we got people on the case, as soon as we get it im sure it will be out here. and yes im an a-hole lol
     
  6. Seraph08

    Seraph08 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,043
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    Come to find here in these forums, the majority of people in these rooms, are some of the most sarcastic, ball busting, willing to always lend a hand a**holes on the web.
     
    jstinger9489 and bcrichster like this.
  7. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,103
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,103
    4,933
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    you forgot blunt ass, non-candy coating aholes. ;)
     
  8. DBlake

    DBlake Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013

    Feb 17, 2013
    29
    8
    16
    Male
    Dryden, NY
    Hey PG, have you had time to look at the new JB4.1 update to see if we can get some of the thing in CM10 fixed? I figure if we can get CM10 working fully then we can move onto CM10.1.
     
    jstinger9489 likes this.
  9. Seraph08

    Seraph08 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,043
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    :p
     
  10. Ellilifax

    Ellilifax Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    May 8, 2013

    May 8, 2013
    34
    0
    15
    Male
    Warehouse Inventory Control
    Washington, United States
    So, Since update b11 is being released for the warp sequent throughout this next few weeks, do you guys think their might be fixes for the stuff that isn't working? possibly? I hope so...lol.
     
  11. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    696
    313
    Male
    sadly as has been stated a few times already, there is probably nothing useful that is going to come out of this, yes its jellybean, but its still only 4.1 so that rules out the possibility of a 4.2 sdcard fix, bluetooth and camera are still just as proprietary as the day they came out, the mms issue is just some setting we are screwing up somewhere lol, and i forget what else was wrong with it but basically there is very little chance that anything from this update will help at all. im still going to look into it, run some tests, tinker a bit, but i seriously doubt it will do any more good than what we already have so do not get your hopes up, and the sd card thing is still going to be an issue for a while
     
    boricuakiller likes this.
  12. DBlake

    DBlake Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013

    Feb 17, 2013
    29
    8
    16
    Male
    Dryden, NY
    What about CM10? Can't we get at least that working fully? Any Cyanogenmod is better than stock ZTE I'm willing to help to the fullest of my ability. i don't know anything about device trees or that stuff so I need to learn.
     
  13. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    696
    313
    Male
    sadly, like i said, wont help. the only issue where the android version is a factor is the 4.2 sdcard problem. but if you wanna take a look at the code you are more than welcome to, pg and i both have github accounts you can look up and find out current source
     
  14. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,103
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,103
    4,933
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    the proprietary blobs may help with some stuff, update inits, and scripts etc may help too. Main thing is in the coding tho which no stock rom really helps on.

    And no attempting to stick with outdated software wont make it any easier. ;)
     
  15. Seraph08

    Seraph08 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,043
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    Madonna's boobs.
     
  16. RicanFlow37

    RicanFlow37 Member
    Rank:
     #379
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    May 28, 2012

    May 28, 2012
    72
    13
    28
    Male
    New York
    I tried this1 yesterday looks nice on my sequent
     
  17. Enthrone420

    Enthrone420 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012

    Apr 26, 2012
    15
    0
    15
    SD card will not mount in CWM when trying to put new files on it via PC downloaded all the zte drivers and its not my cable my galaxy prevail shows up on the same cable, am I missing something?
     
  18. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    696
    313
    Male
    umm, well if youre going to "mounts and storage" then hitting "mount usb storage" in cwm then i dunno, maybe its a problem with the sd card, maybe its a problem with your computer, maybe youre expecting it to mount the internal sd that comes in the phone which isnt how it works, cwm only mounts external cards and this phone doesnt come with one out of the box if im not mistaken
     
  19. Enthrone420

    Enthrone420 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012

    Apr 26, 2012
    15
    0
    15
    Yea I'm using a store bought SD card and it worked fine until wiped and rooted. Maybe something to do with my windows being 64bit and the zte drivers not working properly. CWM mounted the sd card fine before I redid my PC OS from 32 to 64.
     
  20. TechDad378

    TechDad378 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    123
    17
    58
    Male
    The Shore
    I got a question about this...
    When i updated this rom on my zte from version 4.0.4 it worked for the most part.

    I installed version 4.1.2 jb and now when i try to install it, the rom fails to install. It gives an error stating bad or status 7. If i remove the getprop from the updater script it does not show the error but it still does not install. Any ideas what may be the problem?
     
  21. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    7,069
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    7,069
    5,638
    1,063
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Flash JB prep zip first AND u may just have a bad ROM download.
     
    TechDad378 likes this.
  22. TechDad378

    TechDad378 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    123
    17
    58
    Male
    The Shore
    Thanks for the info it was a bad download. I downloaded the file from my phone and when i downloaded from the pc, there was a size difference.

    Seems the phone download broke off at some point but the pc one gave the correct file size.

    Just the phone does not read the sdcard. I tried saving everything to the pc and formatting the card but did not work. This sdcard is brand new so i dont think its the sdcard.

    I had the same problem with blackbean and jellybeer. Since the system doew not read sdcard a lot of apks do not work :(

    Any ideas?
     
  23. SuperR

    SuperR Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,980
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    3,980
    1,995
    433
    Male
    Invisible
    External SD does not work in 4.2 roms. If you want a cm variant and external sd support you will want to check out the cm10 thread or the awesome android aokp thread.

    edit: Be aware that some things don't work in these roms. They are works in progress. Read the OP of each rom and it says what is not working. If you want a rom where everything works, I suggest flashing a b11 based rom.
     
  24. TechDad378

    TechDad378 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    123
    17
    58
    Male
    The Shore
    I realized the sdcards dont work by doing some research about it. I use the sdcard for a variety of things. B11 roms are good for now.

    I understand the 4.2 rom is WIP but you guys have done a great job so far. Keep up the good work!
     
    Enthrone420 likes this.
  25. Enthrone420

    Enthrone420 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012

    Apr 26, 2012
    15
    0
    15
    I agree for a WIP the ROM runs great.
     

Share This Page

Loading...