1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM/WIP] - Optimus Prime

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by angrybanana500, Jan 12, 2013.

  1. angrybanana500

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    May 11, 2012

    May 11, 2012
    32
    15
    18
    WARNING! This ROM is a work in progress! I am not responsible for anything that goes wrong with your phone. You should ALWAYS do a full nandroid backup before doing anything in CWM.

    Ok so on to the rom.

    --

    What's included:

    * aLogcat
    * Stock gingerbread SystemUI and framework images
    * Holo Launcher (Replaces default launcher)
    * Opera Mini (Replaces default web browser)
    * Anything else that comes with the phone that I haven't removed

    Bugs

    * None that I can see right now..let me know if there is anything wrong

    What's planned

    * PlayfulGod's Plague custom kernel!
    * Perfect UI tweaks
    * Tweaks to enhance performance on our phones
    * Removing more bloat apps
    * And more! Give me suggestions!

    HOW TO INSTALL

    1. Make a FULL backup
    2. Format /data once
    3. Install the .zip from your sd card
    4. Reboot
    5. Enjoy! (You may now restore your /data that you backed up)

    Credits:

    * Me for getting everything together and booting
    * Artine: I based my updater-script heavily on his Sleipnir so all credit goes to him for that. All I did was modify it to work for our phone. ;)
    * The creators of the included apps
    * Anyone else I missed!

    Download:

    https://dl.dropbox.com/u/8376013/Optimus_Prime_v102_Signed.zip
    md5: a32aff6860a828f89d23df3bbe917be2

    Changelog:

    v1.0.2
    * Fixed the wifi issue
    * Re-added Opera Mini
    * Did a little UI theming. Let me know what you guys think of it.
    * Removed some more apps
    * Boot animation is back
    v1.0.1
    * Fixed root
    * Added aLogcat
    * Stock Gingerbread SystemUI and framework-res images added
    * Removed some non-essential apps
    v1.0 Initial Release

    Enjoy everyone!
     

    Advertisement

  2. alfick3

    alfick3 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #72
    Points:
    303
    Posts:
    2,755
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    2,755
    452
    303
    Male
    IBM SSR
    DFW, TX
    Didn't pg's kernal break WiFi? That's why I never flashed it, 'cause I wanted my WiFi to keep working. I might suggest it not be included, but maybe instructions and a link on how-to flash and where to get it. Do you have any screen shots? I'd love to see what it looks like.
     
  3. angrybanana500

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    May 11, 2012

    May 11, 2012
    32
    15
    18
    Yeah his kernel breaks wifi. I planned on including it if we could fix the wifi issue it has. ;) As for screenshots it doesn't look much different from stock (as of now). I'm going to work on this more tonight so expect an update with some fixes and new additions. :D
     
    alfick3 likes this.
  4. mrdude5660

    mrdude5660 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012

    Jun 12, 2012
    30
    3
    16
    hey i downloaded it and flashed it. as soon as it started to do its thing, recovery crashed and rebooted back into recovery. idk, but it wont flash.... followed the instructions and it just crashes recovery everytime... luckily it will reboot back to stock just fine when turning it back on...
     
  5. angrybanana500

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    May 11, 2012

    May 11, 2012
    32
    15
    18
    That's weird. Did it give any error messages? What version of CWM are you using?
     
    _tuter likes this.
  6. mrdude5660

    mrdude5660 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012

    Jun 12, 2012
    30
    3
    16
    I'm using the cmw in the root and recovery thread.... And i don't recall an error code, but i know that whenever i tried flashing it, the screen crashes and it reboots into recovery...when i rebooted the phone, it went back to the stock ROM
     
  7. angrybanana500

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    May 11, 2012

    May 11, 2012
    32
    15
    18
    Hm that's weird. I'm going to add an updated rom later tonight (I can't test it during the day). Hopefully some of the issues will be fixed.
     
    tymer and mrdude5660 like this.
  8. tymer

    tymer Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 14, 2012

    May 14, 2012
    12
    1
    16
    I flashed it and it worked but thwn i noticed that not only was wifi bro.ken but data wasn't working either
     
  9. mrdude5660

    mrdude5660 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012

    Jun 12, 2012
    30
    3
    16
    Any updates?
     
  10. angrybanana500

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    May 11, 2012

    May 11, 2012
    32
    15
    18
    The lastest version I have the pre root mostly working but I'm still having issues with the wifi. I haven't really had a chance to work on it. I'll try my best to get something for you guys soon.
     
  11. angrybanana500

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    May 11, 2012

    May 11, 2012
    32
    15
    18
    An updated version is being uploaded to dropbox as I type this. Changelog,

    * Fixed root
    * Added aLogcat
    * Stock Gingerbread SystemUI and framework-res images added
    * Removed some non-essential apps

    Wifi still doesn't work. >_< If anyone could figure out what's going wrong I'd really appreciate it.
     
  12. alfick3

    alfick3 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #72
    Points:
    303
    Posts:
    2,755
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    2,755
    452
    303
    Male
    IBM SSR
    DFW, TX
    Do you still have the kernel in there from Playfulgod?
     
  13. angrybanana500

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    May 11, 2012

    May 11, 2012
    32
    15
    18
    No it should be stock.
     
  14. alfick3

    alfick3 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #72
    Points:
    303
    Posts:
    2,755
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    2,755
    452
    303
    Male
    IBM SSR
    DFW, TX
    Still having probs with wifi though? Hmm. I would think that if it's stock you should be able to just use it. I'm not a programmer/developer though and really have no idea how the files interact.
     
  15. angrybanana500

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    May 11, 2012

    May 11, 2012
    32
    15
    18
    Yeah I've searched google far and wide for a solution but I can't find a single thing.
     
  16. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
     #58
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,840
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,840
    2,499
    423
    Male
    Video Production
    Sunrise, Fl
    Someone should upload a logcat while booting and a logcat while turning on wifi.
     
  17. angrybanana500

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    May 11, 2012

    May 11, 2012
    32
    15
    18
    I finally got the wifi issue fixed so expect an update later today!
     
    alfick3 likes this.
  18. angrybanana500

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    May 11, 2012

    May 11, 2012
    32
    15
    18
    Uploading the new rom now. Changelog,

    v1.0.2
    * Fixed the wifi issue
    * Re-added Opera Mini
    * Did a little UI theming. Let me know what you guys think of it. I'm still getting the hang of theming this system so bear with me. ;)
    * Removed some more apps
    * Boot animation is back
     
  19. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
     #58
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,840
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,840
    2,499
    423
    Male
    Video Production
    Sunrise, Fl
    Has anyone confirmed wifi??
    Also is this stock kernel or PG's kernel??
     
  20. angrybanana500

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    May 11, 2012

    May 11, 2012
    32
    15
    18
    The kernel is stock.
     
    sammyz likes this.
  21. tymer

    tymer Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 14, 2012

    May 14, 2012
    12
    1
    16
    wifi works off and on with me. sometimes I have to turn off then on for it to work or I will get a message that says no network connection. other than that I love the ROM so far. at first I couldn't get play store to connect. kept getting an error. So I fixed permissions in CWM and everything is great. runs really smooth. just wish PG's kernel was working.
     
    sammyz likes this.
  22. mrdude5660

    mrdude5660 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012

    Jun 12, 2012
    30
    3
    16
    Is v1.0.2 an update out a complete flasable ROM?
     
  23. angrybanana500

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    May 11, 2012

    May 11, 2012
    32
    15
    18
    It is.
     
  24. tymer

    tymer Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 14, 2012

    May 14, 2012
    12
    1
    16
    after using this ROM for the past few days I noticed slow downloads even when connected to wifi. I ran a speedtest and I clocked between 400-700 kbps consistently. what can I do to get my wifi speeds to the full capacity. should be 6 mbps at home where I am testing it. thanks for the help.
     
  25. mrdude5660

    mrdude5660 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012

    Jun 12, 2012
    30
    3
    16
    Flashed it last night and first thing I noticed was there wasn't an app manager. Quickly took care of that with titanium backup because I had a backup of it. Otherwise good so far. Will keep you updated with anything else I find.
     

Share This Page

Loading...