1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROM]{WIP}[Port]Paranoid Android 3.0 Unofficial 1-16-14

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by LowEndGeek, Jan 14, 2014.

  1. LowEndGeek

    LowEndGeek Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    969
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    So here it is, the new rom i've been working on. It's currently in a WIP state and I need help testing it. This post will be updated as things progress.

    Ported from the Xperia J [ROM][4.1.2][Tipo/J][Paranoid Android 3.0][UPDATE 13/04/2013 For J] - xda-developers

    Based on the latest version of Phenom's CM10 with latest camera patch

    What needs to be fixed:
    # USB Mass storage (again)
    # Paranoid Settings

    Everything else should work normally as long as it works in the cm10 rom.


    Downloads are here
    Gapps
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

    callmeshulah and Dark One like this.
  2. jmpiv4

    jmpiv4 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012

    Oct 28, 2012
    152
    25
    43
    Male
    Lol love to test it out but i left my elite at home about 900 miles away
     
  3. LowEndGeek

    LowEndGeek Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    969
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    well now why would you do that? lol
     
  4. JumpinJupiter

    JumpinJupiter Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    354
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013

    Jan 3, 2013
    354
    21
    38
    Maybe he was trying to go somewhere to relax lol Sometimes there is only so much we can take of the OE.

    Anyway good to have you back Ken i though you had moved to a new device.
     
  5. LowEndGeek

    LowEndGeek Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    969
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Ha i wast just joking, no didn't move on, just unable to do very much lately
     
  6. phenomx4

    phenomx4 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    1,302
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012

    Jul 28, 2012
    1,302
    1,950
    333
    Male
    None
    North Las Vegas , Nevada
    I must be the only one that actually likes the elite.
     
  7. LowEndGeek

    LowEndGeek Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    969
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    HEY i'm here aren't I :p

    also paranoid settings issues seem to be tied into SU, looking at fixes now. I went thru the same thing with 1.6 so just need to remember what I did before
     
  8. Kasenomateru

    Kasenomateru Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013

    Oct 30, 2013
    298
    42
    43
    Male
    I only like my elite when its not freezing on me with stock ROM installed lol I will test this one out
     
  9. LowEndGeek

    LowEndGeek Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    969
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    I've been running phenoms cm10 for almost 2 weeks and haven't had any freezes. This is based on it and should perform similarly
     
  10. Kasenomateru

    Kasenomateru Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013

    Oct 30, 2013
    298
    42
    43
    Male
    ROM boots up fine without problem, runs smooth but not as smooth as aokp or cm10, wifi mac address says it's unavailable. When the tablet mode gets sorted I would love to take for a full test drive but due to the tablet mode it hurts my eyes trying to view system settings. Other than those things I'd say this ROM has great potential, just keep up the work :)

    forgot to mention upon after flashing and rebooting my phone a message popped up saying there is the possibility of loosing root access on boot but it gives the option to fix root.
     
    LowEndGeek likes this.
  11. LowEndGeek

    LowEndGeek Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    969
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Thanks for testing. The message about root is due to a different version on superuser that I'm using. There is no risk of losing root but you do need to fix permissions when prompted. This will be sorted next release. There is a way of changing modes but it must be done manually via adb for now. Working on that. Not sure what's up with the Mac address but I assume a smali edit will clear that up when I fix the roaming indicator thing. Quick fix go to settings, system and set the font size to large and it gets more readable.

    Again thanks for trying it out
     
  12. Kasenomateru

    Kasenomateru Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013

    Oct 30, 2013
    298
    42
    43
    Male
    No problem it was a real pleasure to test it out. I've been wanting to tryout new jb roms.
     
  13. LowEndGeek

    LowEndGeek Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    969
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Ok just a really quick "whats up"

    # Fixed the superuser fix permission thing

    # Roaming indicator is fixed (i actually had forgotten how to fix it till just a little bit ago then i felt stupid cause it's so easy)

    # Resized boot animation

    # Rom now boots into hybrid mode instead of tablet

    # usb mass storage now works
    Fixed led backlights but somehow broke usb storage LOL

    # wifi mac address should be sorted

    ## paranoid settings no longer force close but settings still aren't being applied, ended up being a derpy mistake by me
     
  14. starkraving

    starkraving Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,484
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013

    Apr 27, 2013
    2,484
    1,363
    323
    Male
    Contractor
    Las Vegas, Nv
    Are the PA settings kernel connected? Just wondering if that's the problem.
     
  15. LowEndGeek

    LowEndGeek Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    969
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    No idea but I don't think so. It looks like the paranoid settings are unable to read and or write the values to change modes. Getting some help from phenom about this in a little bit.

    Heading to library now. I'll upload the new zip then
     
  16. NetSpeedZ

    NetSpeedZ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    440
    31
    43
    Male
    IT Engineer
    Southwest
    Not the only one. I think the Elite - for the money, size and speed - is a great phone. My daughter has an Samsung S3 or S4 and she constantly complains about it. I'm sticking with the Elite for a while :D

    ------------
     
  17. LowEndGeek

    LowEndGeek Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    969
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Roms been updated btw
     
  18. HaTrEd360

    HaTrEd360 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,363
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012

    Aug 18, 2012
    1,363
    167
    143
    Male
    You know what would be total overkill? PACROM
     
  19. LowEndGeek

    LowEndGeek Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    969
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    currently stuck in a bootloop :thumbup:

    Just got some info, Will test tomorrow, if it's true then this thread is about to become a Pac thread.
     
  20. HaTrEd360

    HaTrEd360 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,363
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012

    Aug 18, 2012
    1,363
    167
    143
    Male
    Rainbows are coming out of my eyes as I begin to want to search for another Elite...
     
  21. LowEndGeek

    LowEndGeek Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    969
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    That's right, you don't have one anymore do you.

    pac now boots but immediately 'system ui has stopped' and reboot.
     
  22. gypsyr0ad

    gypsyr0ad Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010

    Nov 26, 2010
    28
    1
    16

    I like mine, I gave some dude $10 for it and use it as a sort of land line via wifi/groove ip and to play games etc, retired and cant afford a real data plan so this works out great.

    wouldn't mind helping you guys out and test stuff for you, just need to make sure I can properly save my current state so I can revert back easily, I have 24/7 free time
     
  23. HaTrEd360

    HaTrEd360 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,363
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012

    Aug 18, 2012
    1,363
    167
    143
    Male
    Starkraving might sell me his spare Elite for $40.00 next Friday hopefully. :) Just so I can try these puppies out.
     
  24. LowEndGeek

    LowEndGeek Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    969
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    I'll have MIUI up tomorrow :thumbup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...