1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[ROMs] Monaco Releases

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ronaldramsayii, Jul 22, 2010.

  1. ronaldramsayii

    ronaldramsayii Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    588
    118
    93
    Entrepreneur
    Atlanta
    Modaco Releases

    I'm not sure how many people seen this on here, but I've decided to bring it here. This IS NOT my ROM. One link is the Deodexed version of the build that comes with all Galaxy S including TW 3.0. The other in case you don't like TW is the Vanilla Android....meaning clean, no TW, just plain ol' Android.

    GalaxySDeodexed.zip


    VanillaGalaxyS.update.zip

    The Vanilla build should work for all versions, but you're gonna have to add your carriers apps to them, ex: Captivate has AT&T TV and so on.

    The deodexed I believe should be the same way, but I'm not 100% sure if it's compatible with them all. It should be though. Deodexed is basically a build without the odexed files, so the devs that may want to theme can theme the phone without having to worry about the security of the apks and framework.

    To root your version of the Galaxy S check out these links....
    Captivate: http://androidforums.com/samsung-captivate/120616-captivate-root.html
    Vibrant: Vibrant Root

    For those who still want to try anyways....No one is responsible for what happens to your phone.

    Here's the links to the original Stock ROMs for the Captivate and Vibrant in case something happens....
    Check here for the stock rom:
    Capitvate: Stock Captivate
    Vibrant: Stock Vibrant Installation Guide
    Extra Files For Vibrant: Vibrant Stock ROM, 512 File, Odin 1.0

    UPDATE:
    Clockworkmod Recovery and ROM Manager available....
    Captivate Clockworkmod Recovery

    Tremendous Thanks To: Koush and his hard work!!!
    Check Out Koush's Site for updates
    Thanks to: BlackForge for providing the link for the Captivate's Stock ROM
     

    Advertisement

    mikeysangramsay, deeps29 and KappaG9 like this.
  2. mjgunn

    mjgunn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    26
    3
    16
    Is there an install guide anywhere for these? Really interested in the vanilla android one.
     
  3. ronaldramsayii

    ronaldramsayii Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    588
    118
    93
    Entrepreneur
    Atlanta
    Is ur phone rooted already?
     
    mikeysangramsay likes this.
  4. KappaG9

    KappaG9 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    132
    17
    38
    Gerogia
    Yeah a guide would be nice!
     
  5. Baldilocks

    Baldilocks Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,242
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Not going to try the install unless we know for sure that it will work with the Captivate, as they ARE different. :)
     
  6. mjgunn

    mjgunn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    26
    3
    16
    Yes it is.
     
  7. ronaldramsayii

    ronaldramsayii Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    588
    118
    93
    Entrepreneur
    Atlanta
    Check the OP (Original Post) for the link to it. It's a few steps, real easy to follow.
     
    mikeysangramsay likes this.
  8. circazero

    circazero Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    51
    11
    18
    LA, CA

    Where is the original post?

    Since my device is rooted can I just rename the vanilla.zip file to update.zip and put the phone in recovery mode and apply it like I did the rooting process??
     
  9. ronaldramsayii

    ronaldramsayii Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    588
    118
    93
    Entrepreneur
    Atlanta
    The original post is the 1st post, the post that started the thread. And yeah that's all you have to do. I've seen people flashing something name Odin, but I don't believe that's a necessary step since it wasn't needed to root the phone. I'm still getting use to the Galaxy S's so u know.
     
    mikeysangramsay likes this.
  10. circazero

    circazero Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    51
    11
    18
    LA, CA

    this will delete all my information on my phone?
    i want to try this so bad but i dont know if i should.

    has anyone been successful doing this on a captivate?
     
  11. KappaG9

    KappaG9 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    132
    17
    38
    Gerogia
    i'm waiting a few weeks for everything to be tested and good to go before i mess around with it
     
  12. ronaldramsayii

    ronaldramsayii Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    588
    118
    93
    Entrepreneur
    Atlanta
    Flashing it won't delete everything from your phone unless you wipe/format the phone before you flash. But I would encourage you to hold onto this ROM until Nandroid back up becomes available.
     
    mikeysangramsay likes this.
  13. circazero

    circazero Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    51
    11
    18
    LA, CA
    i would try it but there is no stock rom if i decide to go back right?

    its weird how the vanillaGalaxyS.update.zip file is 106 MB
    and the GalaxySDeodexed.zip file is 63.4MB.
     
  14. dsjr2006

    dsjr2006 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    378
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009

    Mar 25, 2009
    378
    14
    38
    Michigan
    Anyone tried this yet??
     
  15. circazero

    circazero Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    51
    11
    18
    LA, CA
    anyone used ROM Manager on the captivate?
     
  16. ronaldramsayii

    ronaldramsayii Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    588
    118
    93
    Entrepreneur
    Atlanta
    Yeah I feel you on that. There isn't a SBF file just yet and clockwork recovery is still in the works by Koush. The Deodexed is for those who want to theme, and Vanilla is the basic.

    Looking within the app folder on the Vanilla it looks like it still has TW on it, since some of the files are still in there. There's also a few more files included also, not sure what they are and what affect on the phone it has. My best bet is if anyone wants Vanilla Android, just remove TW, and TW everything from the app folder within the build. And make sure there is a launcher inside the folder, like Launcher 2 or ADW or Launcher Pro. I've seen a Galaxy S variant with ADW on it, it runs pretty good.
     
  17. circazero

    circazero Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    51
    11
    18
    LA, CA

    if i remove the TW stuff inside the app folder and then add Launcher Pro do i just zip the file back and it works or is there something else i should do if i want to flash like update.zip?
     
  18. ronaldramsayii

    ronaldramsayii Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    588
    118
    93
    Entrepreneur
    Atlanta
    Yeah you can do that...that's what I'd rather do. This release wasn't released by me, but by a dev team Monaco....a guy name Paul.

    When deleting stuff though, I'd strongly advise you to be careful in what you delete because one important missing file can cause a bootloop, or endless force closes. That's why in releasing this in spite of what the developer says, I'd advise waiting for either an SBF file or the feature to do Nand back ups/restores.

    I just released the deodexed version for those who want to play with it a little bit, and just threw the Vanilla version in as well, just in case those who don't want TW period can mess with it as well. Just trying to help build a developer base in the versions of the Galaxy S threads.....you see what I'm saying?
     
  19. circazero

    circazero Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    51
    11
    18
    LA, CA
    yea i understand. so both of these .zip files do have TW in them?
     
  20. dsjr2006

    dsjr2006 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    378
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009

    Mar 25, 2009
    378
    14
    38
    Michigan
    He got it from the Modaco site, not Monaco and I'm not sure this works on the Captivate. Another commenter said it messed up the radio on his Vibrant and had to reflash the stock rom.
     
  21. ronaldramsayii

    ronaldramsayii Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    588
    118
    93
    Entrepreneur
    Atlanta
    I mean dang....yeah Modaco, man I jacked that name up. Yeah I heard that to, but some people also had success with it.
     
  22. circazero

    circazero Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    51
    11
    18
    LA, CA
    does anyone have a link to the stock rom for the captivate or something close to it?
     
  23. Blackforge

    Blackforge Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    56
    6
    16
    Senior Systems Engineer
  24. circazero

    circazero Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    51
    11
    18
    LA, CA
    does anyone know if i can run titanium back up to back up all my personal data and apps. then once i restore to stock rom can i root and run titanium backup to restore all the stuff i backed up?

    or is there another way to save my personal info, settings and apps?
     
  25. rob989_69

    rob989_69 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    159
    17
    38
    I'd highly recommend waiting till ROMs come out specifically for the US versions. Some of the guys at XDA that tried out the beta for the clockwork recovery have either bricked their phones, or else found that certain functions aren't working correctly. Like volume, screen orientation, and SD card not being recogized. I highly doubt the roms would be any different. I'm very anxious to move to 2.2 and would definately go with a vanilla install but I'd wait till this is confirmed working on the captivate.
     

Share This Page

Loading...