1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Root ROM's that I am Making and am in need of testers.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by amalloggi, Dec 24, 2013.

  1. amalloggi

    amalloggi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013

    Sep 27, 2013
    19
    16
    38
    DISCLAIMER: I AM IN NO WAY RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY DEVICES IN WHICH ARE HARMED IN THE PROCESS YOUR DOING THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK SO MAKE SURE YOU HAVE A BACKUP AND GET READY TO TEST PORTS.

    The rom's i need help testing for the ports i am making are Cyanogen mod 11 (android 4.4), slim bean,IOS, and maybe some others that people want me to work on.

    If you're interested or have any ideas for ROM's message me.

    **MOD NOTE, THE OP HAS INFORMED US THAT HE IS SWITCHING DEVICES AND IS NO LONGER DEVELOPING THESE ROMS**
     

    Advertisement

  2. DirtyRyada

    DirtyRyada Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013

    Feb 19, 2013
    70
    2
    25
    Male
    Fixing electronics and cars
    Dallas
    Give me more details
     
  3. jimwright

    jimwright Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014

    Mar 26, 2014
    33
    2
    16
    I'm interested in the Cyanogen one when it is available. I'm about to pick up my first Android phone, the Avail 2. Fry's is selling it for only $39.95.

    As cheap as this thing is, I'm surprised there aren't more folks jumping all over it.
     
  4. DirtyRyada

    DirtyRyada Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013

    Feb 19, 2013
    70
    2
    25
    Male
    Fixing electronics and cars
    Dallas
    I got cm7 apk files
     
  5. jimwright

    jimwright Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014

    Mar 26, 2014
    33
    2
    16
    Sounds like that would be a huge step backwards, CM7 is based on Gingerbread (Android 2.3), but the Avail 2 comes with Android 4.1.1 (Jellybean).
     
  6. DirtyRyada

    DirtyRyada Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013

    Feb 19, 2013
    70
    2
    25
    Male
    Fixing electronics and cars
    Dallas
    reffer to it like this, install cm7 apk and files with 4.1 jellybean apk and file.
     
  7. DirtyRyada

    DirtyRyada Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013

    Feb 19, 2013
    70
    2
    25
    Male
    Fixing electronics and cars
    Dallas
    Can anyone try cyanogenmod installer.apk

    Here is the websitehttps://www.dropbox.com/s/vcxj4oyhv8gsx6b/org.cyanogenmod.oneclick-1.apk
     
  8. mel4787

    mel4787 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    484
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013

    Jun 23, 2013
    484
    60
    53
    Male
    problem with that. there isnt a cyanogenmod rom built for our phone. so that app would display that there isnt a rom supported for this phone. so we have to build a cyanogenmod rom for it
     
  9. DirtyRyada

    DirtyRyada Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013

    Feb 19, 2013
    70
    2
    25
    Male
    Fixing electronics and cars
    Dallas
    When will the cyanogenmod rom will be finished?
     
  10. mel4787

    mel4787 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    484
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013

    Jun 23, 2013
    484
    60
    53
    Male
    i dont know. i havent seen any development for this phone and im in these forums every day
     
  11. DirtyRyada

    DirtyRyada Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013

    Feb 19, 2013
    70
    2
    25
    Male
    Fixing electronics and cars
    Dallas
    There is a app on linux that builds cyanogenmod roms for any android device,does the app really work?
     
  12. jimwright

    jimwright Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014

    Mar 26, 2014
    33
    2
    16
    I have never heard of such a thing. ROM development requires compiling code, having device specific drivers for the radio, screen, camera, and other hardware bits. cyanogenmod doesn't include any of this by default, they have the be compiled in by the developer making the ROM.


    For what it's worth, I have a thread going on the cyanogenmod forums to try to get development going on this phone, thread here:

    [Request] Zte Avail 2 - Device Requests - CyanogenMod Forum

    I have contacted ZTE for source (as others have apparently done), their response was to request this through AT&T, which I'm about to do. But my belief is that per the license they are required to provide this source to the end user (us), a request through AT&T should not be required.
     
    FourZer0 likes this.
  13. out of ideas

    out of ideas Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    640
    Joined:
    May 19, 2012

    May 19, 2012
    640
    145
    93

    Zte is a PITA about giving out code. it held up a lot of stuff in the original avail/merit forums.

    You guys should start with the stock ROM and start doing some interesting stuff with it. It seems hard at first, but due to androids open source nature, you can probably find out how to do whatever you want if you try hard enough.
     
  14. FourZer0

    FourZer0 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014

    Mar 13, 2014
    11
    1
    16
    Do you know where I can find a stock rom? I'm going to try the method where you take an official version for a phone with the same resolution and processor, and modify the build.prop a bit. Only issue is, I need a stock rom to do so and I can't seem to find one. (It needs to be deodexed, the only one I found is odexed)
     
  15. mel4787

    mel4787 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    484
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013

    Jun 23, 2013
    484
    60
    53
    Male
    the prelude stock rom will work for this device. so use that one

    and to other ppl developing for this phone has anyone got the source code for this device
     
  16. FourZer0

    FourZer0 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014

    Mar 13, 2014
    11
    1
    16
    Thanks, I tried it out (I only needed the updater script) but it still doesn't work right. Guess we need the source code. Or just bump this thread every 12 seconds http://forum.cyanogenmod.com/forum/707-device-requests/
     
  17. mel4787

    mel4787 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    484
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013

    Jun 23, 2013
    484
    60
    53
    Male
    just use the stock prelude rom. i used it to get my phone back up and running. it should work.
     
  18. DirtyRyada

    DirtyRyada Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013

    Feb 19, 2013
    70
    2
    25
    Male
    Fixing electronics and cars
    Dallas
    Is there a cm11 unstable rom that i can download?
     
  19. mel4787

    mel4787 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    484
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013

    Jun 23, 2013
    484
    60
    53
    Male
    nope due to at&t being stubborn on releasing the source code.
     
  20. DirtyRyada

    DirtyRyada Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013

    Feb 19, 2013
    70
    2
    25
    Male
    Fixing electronics and cars
    Dallas
    Whay exactly is a source code?
     
  21. mel4787

    mel4787 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    484
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013

    Jun 23, 2013
    484
    60
    53
    Male
    Source code is what makes android. Its used to build the ROM specifically for the phone. Without that its gonna be difficult for you to build a rom
     
  22. DirtyRyada

    DirtyRyada Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013

    Feb 19, 2013
    70
    2
    25
    Male
    Fixing electronics and cars
    Dallas
    The cyanogen rom that i downloded from the cyanogenmod device request is for a different phone, the forum says its for the z992,im confused.
     
  23. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,473
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    The developer/op is no longer developing these roms as he is switching devices.

    I am going to close this thread and if you have any questions, hit me up via pm k? ;)

    Thanks.

    /thread closed.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...