1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root ROMs without Blur Dialer

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cron912, Mar 11, 2011.

  1. cron912

    cron912 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    48
    9
    16
    I'm currently running Apex on my X, but have the issue where, after using the Blur Dialer the first time, it shows up in sensor usage 100%, and drains the battery.

    I would like to try a ROM that doesn't use the Blur Dialer. Are there any?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    Liberty and GummyJAR both use the standard AOSP dialer.
     
  3. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    Fission doesn't use it either :D
     
  4. PerCompLLC

    PerCompLLC Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    521
    128
    93
    Web Application Programmer
    Northern Virginia
    Rubix as well...
     
  5. cron912

    cron912 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    48
    9
    16
    Thanks, I'll probably give Liberty a try first, then maybe the others.

    I'm fairly new to custom ROMs. I need to get back to stock first, correct? So, either from a nandroid backup, or SBF?
     
  6. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    No, you don't have to go back to stock.

    Just make a backup of your current setup. When you install the new ROM, there will be installation instructions - follow them, and it won't matter what your current setup is.
     
  7. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    are you sure its actually killing the battery?...because i have had the same problem with the dialer using 100% sensor, and even so ApeX kills Liberty on battery life...
     
  8. SaurusX

    SaurusX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    179
    35
    43
    I noticed this blur dialer issue a few weeks ago. Im on Apex so it affects me all the time, but I love it too much to switch. Just toggle wifi on/off and then the phone will sleep normally.
     
  9. cron912

    cron912 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    48
    9
    16
    I did some testing, and it used more battery with the 100% sensor usage, although I wasn't getting very good battery life on Apex when it didn't show 100% sensor usage. Maybe it's just due to the difference in phones, but so far the opposite has been true running Liberty. I flashed it yesterday, and right now the battery is sitting at 47% and it's been about 28 hours.
     
  10. alprazolam

    alprazolam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,722
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    1,722
    194
    143
    I prefer the blur dialer because AOSP sucks in my car dock. No landscape.
     

Share This Page

Loading...