1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root ROM's

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nastydahitman, Jul 19, 2010.

  1. nastydahitman

    nastydahitman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Hello everyone,
    I'm rather new to this rooting stuff and I want to like it...the only problem is that I can't seem to find a decent ROM. Any suggestions would be nice. I've tried xtrrom but I couldn't even find the market icon on there. I've tried eris lightning, but it's just not cutting, and i've tried ayori snow and that just plain didn't work. Basically I'm looking for one with the Clock and Weather widget on it and live wallpapers. Thanks. Oh also what is all of this kernel talk about, i dont even know what that means or does?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    The ROMs you name there are all quite decent.

    If Market is missing from xtrROM, then you may have invoked the app drawer too quickly after your first boot; there is a delay as things settle in during the first several seconds after the home screen shows up.

    That changes a bit after overclocking.

    Something tells me you might need to really slow down with all of this, the whole process of rooting, flashing ROMs and configuring them is best done with a bit of patience (I mean absolutely no offense at all by saying that, I went through some similar problems back when I first rooted; I'm speaking from experience ;)).

    Do what I did and go to the threads where the ROMs are posted by the developers and read the whole thread; spend a lot of time there, just stop everything and read.. that xtrROM thread at [ROM 7/15/2010] xtrROM3.0.3 [apps2sd,jit,lwp,nav,oc]-Vanilla that embraces HTC - xda-developers has a lot of info in it, especially right in the first post with the instructions and configuration advice.
     
  3. DroidJW

    DroidJW Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    IF you can give up Sense, I would recommend KaosFroyo -- its mostly stock android 2.2, and its sweet. Runs very smooth on my Eris. The improvements Google made to Android 2.2 are fantastic, and Kaos and fellow devs have included other enhancements. v23 is out now, and I believe Kaos is close to releasing v24.
     
  4. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #55
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,695
    1,927
    483
    For the xtr rom, you have to flash two files - the 3.0.3 xtr rom, and then a separate flash of the "stock apps". That will add gmail, the market, etc. There is a third flash for the "social sync" HTC apps and tools, for Facebook syncing and the like, if you want that as well.
     
  5. cornbreadfarts

    cornbreadfarts Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    429
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    429
    21
    58
    Nashville, TN
  6. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    580
    63
    98
    What are the differences in 2.2?

    I am running White Widow for now (which I love), so I have to imagine that Froyo is pretty similar... yes/no? Just curious what the improvements are.
     
  7. DroidJW

    DroidJW Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    The little things like google doing backups of some settings to your google account (your wifi network & password, and other settings).

    Big improvement for me... the backup of your market apps to your google account. Actually it restores them by downloading them again (the apps themselves are not stored). When I wipe and flash a new/updated KaosFroyo version, within a few minutes of startup, my apps begin downloading again. I understand this can be accomplished with backup apps, so again its my personal approach. Just seems like a more complete OS experience.

    Kaos has JIT enabled and has overclocked the kernal (in v23, and v24 supposed to be even better). Now I routinely get 4.8 to 4.9 on Linpack -- no need for setCPU or an OC app either (though you can install to customize your OC settings)

    I don't dislike Sense, but always it always seems slower even on overclocked ROMs. Some of this is probably my own preferences for my tech -- when I get a new PC, I immediately wipe the entire drive and reinstall Windows 7 and then my desired apps. No OEM bloatware ! Probably why I prefer android 2.2 + whatever apps I want to add. I even remove ADW launcher from Kaos and use the stock launcher.

    Oh and so far, I've not had the silent call bug with Android 2.2 -- while I estimate I have had it happen fewer than 7 times, it was occurring with great frequency before root, and once, post-root, on one of my Sense-based ROMs

    If you consider trying Kaos, perhaps wait a few days, for the arrival of v24 -- there is a new kernel and other purported goodies.
     
  8. Haxcid

    Haxcid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    413
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    413
    29
    43
    He is correct. The flashing of the ROM adds a bunch of zip files for various items to your sdcard. Each one adds in various functionality. I really like this as you can pick and choose what you want. If you read the instructions at the xda site it lays this out for you. Install xtr, then reboot and flash in some of the other zip files and give it a second look. I think you will find it far better than you first thought.
     
  9. emunny

    emunny Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    85
    4
    16
    Kaos is good but i'll wait till the camera bug is fixed on 24 cause cant stand not having a camera on my phone. Besides that its golden
     
  10. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    580
    63
    98
    Isn't there some sort of issue when moving from an a2sd ROM (such as my current White Widow) to Kaos? Like you have to reformat/partition or something?
     
  11. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,311
    173
    163
    Texas

    That is the way I understand it.
     
  12. DroidJW

    DroidJW Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Dont quote me on this, but I believe the issue is that Froyo/Android 2.2 does not allow a partitioned SD card, so apps2sd is a no-go.
     
  13. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,311
    173
    163
    Texas
  14. Dukeblue

    Dukeblue Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    46
    3
    16
    Illinois
    i just flashed kaos foryo v 23 today coming from white widow with partitioned sd card and it told me i had a blank sd card or it wasn't supported. And told me to reformat. After i saw that i went back to WW
     
  15. Rossco_Pee

    Rossco_Pee Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    270
    12
    38
    Iowa
    Froyo ROMS don't use partitioning like 2.1 does.
     
  16. EricB

    EricB Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010

    Mar 8, 2010
    268
    30
    43
    Wichita, Ks
    Here's what I've learned using KaosFroyo for the past few days: Everything about it is faster than any 2.1-based ROM I've tried. Also, the SD card must be formatted in FAT32 and nothing else. If it is, everything works smoothly. If you don't know how to do this, back up your SD card and Froyo will give you a prompt that the card isn't correct and will ask you if you want to format it. It did on mine and now it works great, but it DID delete everything I had on my card, so BACK UP YOUR CARD!

    The camera can be fixed by downloading Camera Magic from the Market.

    The Gallery which doesn't like being changed from portrait to landscape (or vice-versa) can be fixed by downloading the fixed Gallery app that's on the XDA Kaosfroyo thread, somewhere in the 300 pages, lol! (I have it and if you can't find it I can email it to you)

    The LED light staying on is now fixed in V24.

    I have not found an app yet that didn't work well with it from the Market.

    Live wallpapers DO work, in fact I downloaded the N1 Bootscreen live wallpaper and it works great with the o/c, but it sucks battery like a vampire that hasn't had a drink in 300 years.

    I've tried EE3.0, Suave Smush, XTRSense, KaosLegendary, and Eris Official along with KaosFroyo and I have to say that this one is the best out of them all. I was totally stuck on using a Sense-based rom, but after a few days on KaosFroyo I have to say I don't miss Sense at all, and it makes the phone feel like a totally new phone. I HIGHLY recommend going with it!
     
    wilceaux likes this.
  17. wilceaux

    wilceaux Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010

    Jan 15, 2010
    70
    9
    16
    Austin, TX
    Are you referring to the Gallery.apk from CELB (p. 343)?
     
    Shnuddy likes this.
  18. EricB

    EricB Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010

    Mar 8, 2010
    268
    30
    43
    Wichita, Ks
    Dat be de one! It works great, and you can go from portrait to landscape without any problems.
     
  19. wilceaux

    wilceaux Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010

    Jan 15, 2010
    70
    9
    16
    Austin, TX
  20. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #55
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,695
    1,927
    483
    The last two versions of Weatherbug Elite FC like nobody's business. The last one from yesterday is worse than the one before.
     
  21. Papadroid

    Papadroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,139
    281
    183
    Tampa, FL
    Weatherbug does not work with Froyo, if you're using Froyo.
     
  22. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    I've been using it since I first flashed Kaos Froyo.

    It's the paid version (Weather Bug Elite); I don't know if there are problems with the free version.
     
  23. Papadroid

    Papadroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,139
    281
    183
    Tampa, FL
    I stand corrected, but I thought I saw that it had major problems on Froyo.
     
  24. hempforvictory

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    PDX
  25. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    In any 2.2 I found that it took much longer to settle in and acquire location. I got one force close with KF 23, but just restarted it and it never messed up again.

    In 2.4 there were no FCs, but as I say, it did lag at the very beginning right after I re-installed it from Market. It's been perfect since then.
     

Share This Page

Loading...