1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root ROMTools flashing rom help

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by LintLicker, Jun 4, 2011.

1. LintLicker

LintLicker Lurker
    None

Jun 4, 2011
    I downloaded and installed ROMTools v2.3.1, have all the lg drivers installed, my phone is rooted, in USB debugging mode, and I have aospCWMod-VM670-20110531.img in the roms folder of ROMTools. When I click 1 to "Flash ROM to phone" I get this message:

Press any key to continue . . .
    * daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
    * daemon started successfully *
    remount failed: Operation not permitted
    cannot create /cache/recovery/command: permission denied
    cannot create /cache/recovery/command: permission denied
    reboot: Operation not permitted

This is my first android phone so im still new to flashing roms and stuff. As far as I know everything should be ready for an easy flash, but ROMTools just messes up. Not sure what is wrong. I tried also option 5 "Push ROM to sd card", but 20 mins later it got nowhere so i had to unplug and restart my phone. It then got into a boot loop but i was able to work it out.

edit: Every tutorial says to first create a backup in case something goes wrong and then flash, but I don't see an option to backup in ROMTools. Also, what is the deal with the dalvik-cache? Some guides say Yes wipe, others say No, and still others say it doesn't matter if it is wiped.

Advertisement

2. mkbkr1

mkbkr1 Android Enthusiast
    None

Feb 15, 2011
    Sunset, Louisiana
    Read, read, read. Have you rooted the phone first? Have you installed a custom recovery?