1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

root and hdmi out

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dirtmouth, Feb 22, 2011.

  1. dirtmouth

    dirtmouth Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    361
    6
    36
    Corpus Christi , Texas
    I can find no logo for hdmi anywhere . anyone know why? I cant view anything on my tv, however this is the first time I have tried. this may have been a waste of 25 dollars....
     

    Advertisement

  2. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    Are you asking where the hdmi plug is on the phone? Beside the USB mini plug. You will need a HDMI micro to standard cable. What do you mean by a waste of $25.
     
  3. dirtmouth

    dirtmouth Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    361
    6
    36
    Corpus Christi , Texas
    I cannnot or dont know how to view on the tv via the hdmi out on the DX.
    Someone said go to gallery app , open a photo then click on the hdmi logo....well I cant find that logo anywhere
     
  4. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    Is your X hooked to the TV? If so and you go to Gallery and do not see the HDMI "logo" then the ROM you are running probably doesn't support it. Can you flash back to stock to see if your HDMI is working?
     
  5. dirtmouth

    dirtmouth Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    361
    6
    36
    Corpus Christi , Texas
    That must be it!...25 dollars for the cable, is it really that usefull at this point.
     
  6. mruno

    mruno Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    949
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    949
    180
    103
    Male
    Home
  7. Der Juicen

    Der Juicen Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    145
    14
    38
    are you using a custom rom? if so what rom are you using?
    when i had liberty 1.0 installed hdmi was not supported. i am now running apex 1.4 and apparently it is supported, although i have not actually tested it out yet.
    but a rom could be the culprit.
     
  8. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    Next time you need a cable you should google first. I paid $3.99 w/ free shipping.
     
  9. dirtmouth

    dirtmouth Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    361
    6
    36
    Corpus Christi , Texas
    ya running apex 1.4 and no hdmi logo in gallery
     
  10. mruno

    mruno Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    949
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    949
    180
    103
    Male
    Home
    use the blur gallery. change it in the toolbox
     
    dirtmouth likes this.
  11. dirtmouth

    dirtmouth Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    361
    6
    36
    Corpus Christi , Texas
    Thx got it. !
     
  12. Outlaw71

    Outlaw71 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,482
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Sweet, so now do you feel the $25 dollars was worth it?
     
  13. dirtmouth

    dirtmouth Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    361
    6
    36
    Corpus Christi , Texas
    ahhh still debating it. but i feel better about it :eek::eek:
     
  14. Der Juicen

    Der Juicen Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    145
    14
    38
    Were you actually able to get hdmi out working poperly? I finally had reason to try it out the other night and i cant get pictures to or video to work from the galley, yet audio plays through. I also cannot get real hdmi working.

    Apex 1.4.1 w/blur gallery. And real hdmi.
     
  15. mruno

    mruno Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    949
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    949
    180
    103
    Male
    Home
    did you try more than one tv?
     
  16. Der Juicen

    Der Juicen Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    145
    14
    38
    no, but i will.
     
  17. dirtmouth

    dirtmouth Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    361
    6
    36
    Corpus Christi , Texas
    yes i can view on my flat screen 2 years old the pics. havent tried music or any type audio or video yet .
     
  18. obtuce

    obtuce Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Feb 28, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Hello to all,... I just got my Droid X flashed to Liberty 1.5. Do I understand you right ... there is no way to use the HDMI out with Liberty 1.5?

    If that is so (and I'm not doubting you) why would anyone run Liberty if Apex 1.4 is just as good plus you get to use your HDMI? Thanks for your feedback...
     
  19. mruno

    mruno Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    949
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    949
    180
    103
    Male
    Home
    That was a deal breaker for me and was the reason I moved back to apex.
     

Share This Page

Loading...