1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root attempt failed

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by westkc3, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. westkc3

    westkc3 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    64
    4
    16
    Attempted to root using super 1 click. Geting a msg "Auto version check failed" and asks if I'm running 2.0 or higher. I answer yes and at the end of the process it says "Getting mount path...
    rootfs / rootfs ro 0 0
    FAILED".

    I double checked and the phone is running 2.1 (update 1). Debugging is checked. My pc is running Vista.

    Any suggestions?
     

    Advertisement

  2. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,558
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,558
    8,554
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    This needs to be moved to the all things rooted section


     
  3. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,558
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,558
    8,554
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Try using Z4Root, much easier and you don't need your PC, report back

    Z4ROOT ONE CLICK


     
  4. carlosrx7

    carlosrx7 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 19, 2011

    May 19, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Have the same problem, I do this, remove your battery, remove sim card, put your battery back, inmediatly push root on your oneclick program, one click will show your android version and looks everything going fine, if you have the same message push root again if ask select 2.0 or higher , let it end and you will be root, if doesnt work close oneclick and restart your computer and follow the same procedure above, is going to work......:D
     
  5. westkc3

    westkc3 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    64
    4
    16
    I'd love to try it but can't find it in the market. Is it listed under a different name?
     
  6. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,558
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,558
    8,554
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    It is not in the market anymore, thus the reason why I gave you the link to download it, put it on your SD card and the either use a file explorer to install, or download an app called App installer and that will find the Z4Root APK and allow you to install it.


     
  7. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,558
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,558
    8,554
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    If you have a sim card then you are in the wrong section, this is for Sprint CDMA Hero, LOL JK, Z4Root is much easier



     
  8. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    Thread moved to the root section. Thanks, DonB.

    Additionally, +1 on using Z4Root. That is how I rooted my Sprint HTC Hero.
     
  9. westkc3

    westkc3 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    64
    4
    16
    No joy, hangs at rebooting.
     
  10. rb312102

    rb312102 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    302
    82
    53
    It always hangs at the reboot. You turn it off then on and look for the super user app in your app drawer. If it's there your rooted.
     
  11. westkc3

    westkc3 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    64
    4
    16
    You are correct sir. Thanks for hanging in there with me. It was getting very frustrating. Now it's on to bloatware removal and overclocking. Thanks again for all your help.
     
  12. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,558
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,558
    8,554
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    I would not remove anything unless you know exactly what your removing, you best to flash a new Rom that has no bloatware in it, like AOSP 2.3.4, or Liquidsense 2.1, and there are many others if you want


     
  13. rb312102

    rb312102 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    302
    82
    53
    Have you thought about flashing a newer rom that has the bloatware removed and is overclocked already? The new gingerbread roms are super fast and smooth.
     
  14. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,558
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,558
    8,554
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    RB, did you try the new Kdeck release today



     
  15. rb312102

    rb312102 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    302
    82
    53
    I downloaded it this morning and forgot about it till you just said something lol. I'll flash in the few.

    Have you seen jaybob's 2.3. 4 rom he just incorporated sobes kernel he's tweaking seems like I may need to try that too. I also read in that thread someone said they had freecaddie with screen off for 20 min wit no reboot so it may interest you a well.
     
    DonB likes this.
  16. westkc3

    westkc3 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    64
    4
    16

    Well I'm starting to wish I'd never gone down this road. I'm trying this;

    To remove bloatware with Android Mate, run it after installing it. Before you can do anything with it, you will need to give it superuser access; hit "Allow":
    [​IMG]
    After you give it superuser access, navigate to "File Explorer" and type in /system/app:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    At the /system/app folder, select the APK and ODEX files of the apps that you want to remove, and hit "Delete":
    [​IMG]
    Be warned that even with superuser permissions you should not just remove any and all apps you want; some apps are required for your phone to function normally, so I highly recommend you do a little bit of research to see what apps can be removed safely and what cannot. Typically third party apps, apps that are not from Google, your phone manufacturer, or your service provider (like apps from Amazon) can be removed safely.
    Take note that sometimes Android Mate is quirky. It took me three attempts to delete apps from the /system/app folder; on the first two attempts the apps simply were not deleted. On the third attempt - and all attempts afterward - the apps got deleted just fine. So, if you find Android Mate is not properly deleting apps, try it again until it works.
    Last but not least, Android Mate provides a lot more features than just bloatware removal. It is a launcher, an installer, an uninstaller - the developer describes it as "Android Mate = App Organizer + SU File manager + Task manager + APK Installer". (You may be prompted by Android asking if you want to use Android Mate as your default launcher - you can always say no and use the launcher you had before.) Unless you want to use the rest of Android Mate's features, you may want to consider uninstalling the app after you have removed all the bloatware off your phone.

    Problem is, I can't see the delete cut copy buttons because an add keeps overlaying them. I long press and hit delete but the apps aren't removed. Arggg!
     
  17. rb312102

    rb312102 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    302
    82
    53
    You should use titanium back up to remove apps very easy to use.
     
  18. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,558
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,558
    8,554
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Let me know if you try it and if it works.


     
  19. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,558
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,558
    8,554
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    As mentioned before I would not remove bloatware unless you absolutely know what you are removing and if it is safe to remove, you are better off flashing a non bloatware rom, and there are many out there, I would simply Nandroid back, and then choose a rom of your choice IMO


     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...