1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root root cricket zte grand x max

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by leo5111, Nov 12, 2014.

  1. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,258
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    And you are STILL the only person to report that problem!!
     

    Advertisement

    BehemothHex and Christopherco like this.
  2. Christopherco

    Christopherco Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    186
    Joined:
    May 28, 2015

    May 28, 2015
    186
    53
    63
    Male
    If I were you, I would buy another one and use the one you have for experiments. I am going to buy another just for that reason...
     
  3. Th30n3

    Th30n3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015

    Aug 20, 2015
    173
    24
    48
    Male
    I saw the phone down to $120 at my cricket store
     
    Christopherco likes this.
  4. softtech

    softtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    370
    29
    43
    I've already had Cricket send me a replacement. The new phone has the same problem.

    I'm thinking it might be the car system (2006 Chrysler). I'm contemplating upgrading the in-dash system to something new that support Android Auto.

    Anyone have any success with Android Auto and the ZTE?
     
  5. darandnik

    darandnik Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 27, 2015

    May 27, 2015
    20
    3
    26
    Male
    Kind of off subject, got my unlock code because cricket screwed me over pretty good, went to net 10 which has been great, and now can't get WiFi tether to work... says I need to contact cricket to unlock... apns have been changed, obviously went with net 10 for the at&t sim, but can't get tether no matter what I do, rooted lollipop, thank you for any help...
     
  6. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,258
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    You could try WiFi tether router. I've been told that the dev will help you set it up and if he can't get it to work for you he will give you a refund
     
  7. softtech

    softtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    370
    29
    43
    So has anyone at all tried to use Android Auto with the GrandX Max+???
     
  8. jvillejoe

    jvillejoe Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    606
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Use this app, no root needed.

    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.sand.airdroid

    Had the same problem with the stock tethering on T-Mobile. Hotspot, and tethering work using airdroid.
     
  9. Christopherco

    Christopherco Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    186
    Joined:
    May 28, 2015

    May 28, 2015
    186
    53
    63
    Male
  10. softtech

    softtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    370
    29
    43
    So I finally gave up and flashed back to KitKat and my bluetooth problems went away completely. While on Lollipop I couldn't successfully connect via Bluetooth to the new Pioneer auto receivers that support Android Auto.

    Does anyone think that possibly some part of the OS was damaged and that I should try to flash Masterchief's files again? Would that be a waste of time as I did a FULL factory reset when I flashed. I got back to KitKat by using his other files to flash back to stock and start over.

    No problems running XBlast, etc. Everything's fine, but I do prefer Lollipop if it works...
     
  11. softtech

    softtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    370
    29
    43
    Also, I looked at the updater.script that ZTE is using to get us to Lollipop and it appears to be updating more files than you do (this makes sense as you want to protect the Recovery partition from being updated).

    Perhaps there are more files that SHOULD be updated. I ran Storage Space and it identifies mmcblk0p22 as being the recovery partition.

    Is it just the boot.img that you don't want to update? What about NON-HLOS.bin? rpm.mbn? emmc_appsboot.mbn (this one seems suspicious based on the name)? tz.mbn? sdi.mbn? sbl1.mbn?
     
  12. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,258
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    Between the rooted update zip and the other zip I made for you, the only partition that the official update touches that didn't get updated on your phone is the bootloader(/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/aboot). The file that flashes to the bootloader(aboot) is emmc_appsboot.mbn and it might lock the bootloader altogether and brick your phone. That is the only partition that did not get updated on your phone(for good reason).
     
  13. softtech

    softtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    370
    29
    43
    If you're game I'd like to try something that installs everything and then installs supersu. Would be trivial at that point to reinstall recovery....
     
  14. softtech

    softtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    370
    29
    43
    Looks to me like you skipped both boot.img and emmc_appsboot.mbn
     
  15. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,258
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    I didn't skip the boot.img. The ROM would not even boot if I had left it out. Flashing the ROM zip posted on my thread along with the extra zip I made for you does the exact same thing you are talking about. Making a single zip that flashes everything would not make a difference.
     
  16. Stevo4G

    Stevo4G Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013

    Jun 21, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    Would anyone be kind enough to give me a stock factory image in a zip file or a nandroid...or any other file? Please!!! I have no OS in this phone. It got erased by my friend who was playing with my phone. I could use a dropbox link or google drive or you can email me! I am desperate. Lol I'll take anything... sleepycloud71@gmail.com
     
  17. Th30n3

    Th30n3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015

    Aug 20, 2015
    173
    24
    48
    Male
    You could reab several pages before there's the update 5.1 rooted that you can download
     
  18. Th30n3

    Th30n3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015

    Aug 20, 2015
    173
    24
    48
    Male
    Hey masterchief87 I was reading through the xda forums for these phone and I saw some one say he has a zte firmware flaser to get him back to kitkat to root can you check that out.
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/android/help/zte-grand-x-max-t3028834/post63122425#post63122425
     
    BehemothHex likes this.
  19. softtech

    softtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    370
    29
    43
    Something must have gotten whacked along the way.

    Could you tell me how I could build it myself?
     
  20. BehemothHex

    BehemothHex Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015

    Jul 31, 2015
    20
    3
    26
    Male
    If anyone has found a root method that works with the 5.1 OTA for the Grand X Max+ reply or pm me I would greatly appreciate it if not I guess I'll have to wait even longer since I was foolish enough to take it and not research more to find a rooted zip
     
  21. softtech

    softtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    370
    29
    43
    MasterChief,

    Can you please tell me how I can take the ZTE Update.Zip file and modify it to perform *all* of the updates within it, but add SuperSU and root to it when done. I continue to identify two partitions that you are not updating, even with the BT.zip file.

    Thanks
     
  22. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,258
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    You consistently talking like you know more about this than I do is really getting very frustrating. The ONE partition that I did not put into either zip is the bootloader FOR OBVIOUS REASONS. You say that you "continue to identify two partitions" that I'm not updating. Then please tell me the name of the other partition.
     
    BehemothHex likes this.
  23. softtech

    softtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    370
    29
    43
    Look, I don't pretend to know more about all of Android than you do, but I've been writing software for over 40 years now, including both IOS and Android software, and know a fair bit.

    It isn't at all obvious why you don't want to overwrite the bootloader. The other partition that you are not updating is emmc_appsboot.mbn. There is both a boot and an aboot. I'm not really clear what the differences are and, quite frankly, I'm not even sure why we can't overwrite the bootloader. Please explain it to me - it's not quite obvious.

    It seems to me that if I can get root under 5.1 by installing *ALL* of what ZTE has, plus your mods to give root, then it's trivial for me to reinstall zmax_twrp_286.apk and get the recovery back.

    What am I missing? Something isn't talking correctly to something else. I strongly suspect that if I took all of the ZTE update that it would solve the bluetooth problem, but I would lose root. I don't want to lose root.
     
  24. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,258
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    Emmc_appsboot.mbn goes to the aboot partition which is your bootloader. The reason why that is not included in the rooted update zip is because I have no way of knowing if it locks the bootloader completely(I have already explained this in previous posts on this thread). Similar devices like the zte zmax have been getting updates that lock the bootloader down even more than it already was by adding a security check that will brick your phone if you flash unofficial firmware onto it. Once you install twrp and flash SuperSU the security check causes the phone to go straight from the splash screen to a black screen that says something like "security error: this device has been flashed with unauthorized software" and not even flashing back to unrooted stock fixes it so you are left with a broken device that has no warranty. If you really really want to try a rooted update that also updates the bootloader I will make it for you but just know that there is a possibility that it will permanently brick your phone. I have talked about why I excluded the bootloader from the update in previous posts but I didn't put it this bluntly or provide specific examples but now you know exactly why I removed it from the update. If you want to be a guinea pig and risk bricking your phone just let me know and I'll re do it just for you. The ball is in your court.
     
    BehemothHex likes this.
  25. softtech

    softtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    370
    29
    43
    Now I understand. I've read everything that you've said to date, but didn't understand until now.

    That's aboot. What about boot??
     

Share This Page

Loading...