1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root root cricket zte grand x max

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by leo5111, Nov 12, 2014.

  1. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,259
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    Boot is the kernel.
     

    Advertisement

    BehemothHex likes this.
  2. softtech

    softtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    370
    29
    43
    Why isn't that being updated? I'll bet that's the problem. Could I get a zip that includes everything but aboot in a single file? Do you see any problem with that?
     
  3. softtech

    softtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    370
    29
    43
    Masterchief??
     
    BehemothHex likes this.
  4. BehemothHex

    BehemothHex Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015

    Jul 31, 2015
    20
    3
    26
    Male
    uploadfromtaptalk1444479072544.png New and updated V 4.6.0 beta1 of KingRoot on Z987 5.1 OTA strategy available but not successful still waiting on root methods..
    [​IMG]
     
    #704 BehemothHex, Oct 10, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2015
  5. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,259
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    @softtech
    Here.
    https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=24052804347834555
    You know the drill. This one has everything but the new bootloader all in one zip.
    By the way the boot partition aka kernel has been updated in every version I have posted. The ROM would not even boot without it being updated. There is absolutely no difference between flashing this zip vs flashing the previous version along with the bt.zip I made for you but you wanted it and I was bored so here you go.
     
    #705 Masterchief87, Oct 10, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2015
    BehemothHex likes this.
  6. softtech

    softtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    370
    29
    43
    Well, thanks. I did a factory reset from within TWRP, installed it, reinstalled TWRP (and nothing else) and tried to pair with bluetooth and had the same problem I've always had.

    I give up, I'm at a loss. Guess I'm going to stay in KitKat for quite awhile as two different phones exhibited the same problem when they were upgraded to Lollipop via your ZIPs. So, unless you somehow screwed up and included files from some other ZTE phone (which I doubt), this is a gigantic mystery.

    Thanks for the help. If you have any ideas about WHAT is going on, I'd be interested in hearing your thoughts. Maybe there's some dependency on something within ABoot, but that sounds utterly, utterly bizarre and, from you describe, would be dangerous to test.
     
  7. softtech

    softtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    370
    29
    43
    Ugh!!

    So now I'm back at KitKat with WiFi and Bluetooth as messed up as they were with Lollipop. I had taken a Nandroid prior to running the update and installed your Cricket_Z987V1.3.9_Full_Stock_20150808.zip to go back to KitKat prior to restoring the Nandroid.

    I'm almost certain that's how I got back in the first place from Lollipop being messed up.

    Any ideas??
     
  8. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,259
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    I have an idea of why things are still misbehaving on stock KitKat. The rooted lollipop zip updates 8 different partitions but when you downgrade back to KitKat, 6 of those 8 partitions are still set up for lollipop. I anticipated that it might become necessary to make a zip that reverts these other 6 partitions back to the state they were originally in before installing the update, so I had somebody who had not installed the update copy and send me these raw partition images(sorry but I can't remember who it was). Upon reading your post, I have begun making a zip that will restore these 6 partitions(modem, rpm, sbl1, sdi, splash, & tz) to their original state. I'll let you know when it is finished.

    I am clueless as to why you have had so many problems after upgrading to lollipop when others did not. With the exception of the SuperSU zip used to add root, everything else included in the Lollipop zip came straight from the official update. I am certain of this.
     
  9. softtech

    softtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    370
    29
    43
    I never had any doubt. I'm as confused as you are! The other alternative, I guess, would be for me to run with a mix of partitions from KitKat (whichever directly talk to the WiFi and Bluetooth hardware) and Lollipop (everything else??).

    But that's a subject for another day. Right now I just need to get back up fully under KitKat and you're obviously all over it. Although, it seems to me that if I have a standalone ZIP that only flashes the 6 other partitions I could give a try to installing that on top of the Lollipop ZIP. Inefficient as hell, but it might get the job done.

    Thanks, MasterChief. So appreciate the support above and beyond. I hope that we've cleared up the thing the other day and are good.
     
    Masterchief87 likes this.
  10. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,259
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    Yeah we are good. That was my bad. Sometimes I take things personally when I shouldn't. Sorry for that. I'm getting ready to upload the zip now.
     
    BehemothHex likes this.
  11. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,259
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
  12. softtech

    softtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    370
    29
    43
    Kit Kat is running fine again. I'll be trying to flash partitionbackups on top of lollipop sometime in the next couple of days. Wish me luck and thanks again!
     
  13. softtech

    softtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    370
    29
    43
    By the way, you shouldn't take any of this personally unless you personally are responsible for the mess that ZTE created. From where I'm standing it sure looks to me like you're doing your damnedest to deal with and clean up their mess. You da man!
     
    Masterchief87 likes this.
  14. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,259
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    Was it the partition backups zip that made things go back to normal on KitKat? Also, if you flash the partitions backups over the lollipop zip WiFi won't work.
     
  15. softtech

    softtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    370
    29
    43
    Yes, it was the partition backups that fixed KitKat. Are you CERTAIN that WiFi won't work with the partition backups on top of Lollipop? Is there some subset, that contains the WiFi and Bluetooth drivers, that might?? Are you tired of playing this horrible game (I hope not, but I wouldn't blame you at all for calling an end to it)?
     
  16. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,259
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    Unfortunately flashing the partition backup zip over top of the lollipop zip will definitely break WiFi because you will be undoing the modem update that the lollipop firmware requires in order for WiFi to work.

    I think your best bet is to back up everything on your phone to your SD card or pc then reboot to twrp and select advanced wipe and wipe everything but your SD card and then install the newest lollipop zip and test Bluetooth immediately after you finish the setup wizard and before you do anything else with the phone. Other than that I don't know what to tell you.
     
  17. softtech

    softtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    370
    29
    43
    I've nearly done that. The only thing I didn't wipe for certain, but might have, is the internal sdcard partition. I don't think that would make a difference even if I missed it, but I'm not certain. Are you? I'll try it if you think it's worthwhile...
     
  18. softtech

    softtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    370
    29
    43
    Masterchief?
     
    BehemothHex likes this.
  19. BehemothHex

    BehemothHex Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015

    Jul 31, 2015
    20
    3
    26
    Male
    Dude wait until MasterChief responds on his own dude he's probably at work..
    -__-
     
  20. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,259
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    I really don't know. I'm just taking a shot in the dark here. To be honest I'm very tired of trying to figure out why you have problems while, as far as I can remember, not one person other than you has had any problems with Bluetooth not working correctly. As far as Bluetooth not working for you on lollipop goes, you are on your own from here on out. I've tried to help in every way I possibly can and nothing seems to have worked. That is why I was suggesting that you back up whatever you don't want to lose then erase everything but your SD card and flash the update then skip through the setup wizard and go test the Bluetooth device you were having problems. That is the last thing I can think for you to try and is my final suggestion. If it doesn't work then I'm sorry but I can't help you. You will have to just deal with KitKat or you will have to deal with Bluetooth not working 100%. Its up to you.
     
  21. softtech

    softtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    370
    29
    43
    I understand. I don't get it either. Do you think it makes a difference whether I wipe the internal SD card? I'll try it if so, but there's no need to waste the time if not.

    Also, is the link on the first page of this thread still the right one to use? Could I have been flashing the wrong ZIP??
     
  22. BehemothHex

    BehemothHex Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015

    Jul 31, 2015
    20
    3
    26
    Male
    Hey softtech just get the OTA Bluetooth works absolutely perfect besides KingRoot only needs a few more people before they release a root method
     
  23. softtech

    softtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    370
    29
    43
    Also, FYI, the public download seems to be the multi-partition version that you made for me. Is that what you want??
     
  24. softtech

    softtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    370
    29
    43
    So you installed the OTA update instead of MasterChief's and gave up root??
     
  25. BehemothHex

    BehemothHex Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015

    Jul 31, 2015
    20
    3
    26
    Male
    MasterChief didn't post his zip at the time of me ending up and just getting the OTA if I would've waited a few days I could have but I didn't so yeah I gave up root for Lollipop
     

Share This Page

Loading...