1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Root D1 with 2.2.1? help

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by robotfood, Mar 5, 2011.

  1. robotfood

    robotfood Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I'm pretty new at this, and I've been trying to root my Droid 1 and cannot. I have tried Z4root and universal androot.
    Can anyone help me?
     

    Advertisement

  2. teddyearp

    teddyearp Android Expert
    Rank:
     #93
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,411
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    2,411
    839
    233
    Store Manager
    Pinetop, AZ
    Welcome and yes. Universal Androot stopped working a while ago. z4root supposedly doesn't work for the Droid 1/A855 on 2.2.1. But there's aguide here that will get you rooted:

    http://androidforums.com/droid-all-...oid-without-rsd-lite-up-including-frg83d.html

    Make sure you type in the commands exactly as shown and it will work. Or do a google for Supe One Click, it should work as well. Just note that neither of those methods will also install a custom recovery allowing you to make backups and flash custom roms, and that said, alot of people have had trouble getting the custom recovery to stick without flashing a custom rom. But there's a fix for that as well.

    good luck
     
    DieselDood likes this.
  3. DieselDood

    DieselDood Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    20
    2
    36
    Assistant Manager of a Sears Auto Center. Shop gr
    Robbinsdale MN
    Teddy, I'm following your instructions now, step by step.

    I'm waiting for the infamous step 6.

    I got through that to the superuser step once before and it gave me an error (can't remember) that was something like not unlocked or privliges. So I started over from scratch. This time I'm seeing slightly different messages? I'm assuming I did something wrong the first time.

    Is there anything I should be watching for?
     
  4. DieselDood

    DieselDood Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    20
    2
    36
    Assistant Manager of a Sears Auto Center. Shop gr
    Robbinsdale MN
    I now get to the mkdir /system/ xbin step (10) and get
    "mkdir failed for /system/, File exists"
    #

    I'm assuming something didnt' work right?
     
  5. DieselDood

    DieselDood Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    20
    2
    36
    Assistant Manager of a Sears Auto Center. Shop gr
    Robbinsdale MN
    I did the next step and it says that it's a read only file system.

    I had to have missed something. Those are the same messages I got the last time.

    Help?
     
  6. DieselDood

    DieselDood Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    20
    2
    36
    Assistant Manager of a Sears Auto Center. Shop gr
    Robbinsdale MN
    Woohoo! I think I got it now.

    I put in a space in the
    "mount -o remount(no space here, oops),rw -t......."

    Thanks a TON Teddy!
     
  7. chadwick108

    chadwick108 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    122
    9
    36
    Male
    Sales
    Western NC
  8. teddyearp

    teddyearp Android Expert
    Rank:
     #93
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,411
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    2,411
    839
    233
    Store Manager
    Pinetop, AZ
    Correct, you did the same thing at that point as you found you did below. In the quote above, see the space?
    Code (Text):
    1. mkdir /system /xbin
    incorrect, correct:
    Code (Text):
    1. mkdir /system/xbin
    Not a problem, ya gotta look out for the syntax, it must be correct. But all this is moot as you're now rooted, good job.

    And that is a great way to do it, however, the OP already got there and you cannot discount the 'hard' way. It builds character and more knowledge IMHO.
     

Share This Page

Loading...