1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Root? Developer Options

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by millar43068, May 23, 2014.

  1. larrycl

    larrycl Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010

    Nov 16, 2010
    75
    17
    18

    Advertisement

  2. donjuro

    donjuro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    I doubt it'll work, but it wouldn't hurt to try. I can't do it right now cause I'm at work. Hopefully someone can try it out soon.
     
  3. TazExtreme3

    TazExtreme3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012

    Mar 18, 2012
    17
    9
    16
    The above fails for unsigned update package... Gotta unlock the bootloader.
     
  4. aguba

    aguba Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012

    Jul 16, 2012
    110
    56
    53
  5. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,848
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,848
    1,123
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
  6. TazExtreme3

    TazExtreme3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012

    Mar 18, 2012
    17
    9
    16
    That's a no go for me. "adb reboot oem-unlock" just restarts the phone back into the os. I haven't gotten anything to work in fastboot either. I can get into recovery with "adb reboot recovery", however.
     
  7. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,909
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,909
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Data partition being wiped effectively means the device will be factory reset
     
    bg4m3r likes this.
  8. DirtyDee

    DirtyDee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    2,205
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013

    Mar 18, 2013
    2,205
    443
    203
    Male
    Janitor/cook I know strange two jobs to have
    Detroit Michigan
    Did you put it in software mode first? If that even means anything
     
  9. aguba

    aguba Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012

    Jul 16, 2012
    110
    56
    53
    Have you tried the second method he lists toward the bottom of the first post, the one using BL-unlock.bat?
     
  10. TazExtreme3

    TazExtreme3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012

    Mar 18, 2012
    17
    9
    16
    yes, below is the result
     
  11. TazExtreme3

    TazExtreme3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012

    Mar 18, 2012
    17
    9
    16
    Well, I've tried everything I've found and still nothing. I'll leave it to the professionals now, since I really have no clue what I'm doing.
     
  12. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,848
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,848
    1,123
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    It seems to mean to put the phone in firmware update mode. This is accomplished by turning off the phone and holding Vol+ while plugging in the USB cable. The phone will automatically boot into update mode. This seems to be similar to Odin mode on Samsung phones. Now, bear in mind that I did this with USB debugging off, but the interesting thing is that when it comes up it states whether or not the phone is rooted. It said mine is, in fact, rooted. o_O ADB still did not detect the phone, but this mode installed new drivers, which actually provide a hardware ID...also, now when I plug in the phone, it shows up as LG Androidnet Phone, not LGE whatever.

    I did not try applying anything because my battery is low at the moment, and I want to back up some things first, but I will be looking into this further tomorrow.
     
    portezbie and Kahroo like this.
  13. donjuro

    donjuro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    Hurry up! Lol jk
    I wish I didn't have to work or I'd be helping you guys out.
     
  14. millar43068

    millar43068 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013

    Sep 18, 2013
    71
    12
    18
    right i get off work and just start drinking

    Alcohol + rooting = instabrick

    posted a thread linking this one and an xda thread to combine efforts
    New LG Volt LS-740 - Page 3 - xda-developers
     
    donjuro likes this.
  15. bluemonstr

    bluemonstr Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    25
    8
    16
    Male
    Project Management
    OC - southern cali
    Okay - I'm a new poster to the site but I've been rooting my phones for a few years now. Came from the Optimus V and then the Samsung S2 - which I really liked but it didn't like me as it suddenly died last week.

    Sooo, I picked up the Volt simply for the potential and price. Of course I want to root it so that I can get my adaway on asap. I hate getting ads with my 'free' software. ;)

    Anyways, I was rooting (pun intended for the joviality of it) around on the net and came across a reference from a facebook site...that referred me to this:

    thetechbulletin.com/how-to-root-lg-volt-ls740-on-kitkat-4-4-4114/

    I'm not allowed to post links or images so I had to chop the above up. I know you net tech savy guys will be able to get to this.

    It looks like it has the files and links needed to get the job done. I'm sitting at work right now...copying my micro card - so that I can format it into the correct ext2 but I have a pretty big card to back up...in the mean time I figured I'd throw this out to any other 'testers' out there.
     
    ZAXIS likes this.
  16. millar43068

    millar43068 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013

    Sep 18, 2013
    71
    12
    18
    Worth a shot I wouldnt download anything from that site though like the drivers I would be suspicious of the update.zip, I work at a credit card company in fraud and our filter is saying that site is suspicous and won't allow me to visit it

    I would recommend taking caution when downloading these if anyone wants to try it id open up that update.zip and double check to see what its actually doing to your phone
     
  17. ZAXIS

    ZAXIS Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    330
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    330
    35
    43
    wescoast
    Curious if we just need an ext2 partition, or if the whole card needs to be ext 2, anybody know?
     
  18. bluemonstr

    bluemonstr Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    25
    8
    16
    Male
    Project Management
    OC - southern cali
    I won't be able to try this until I get out of work. Unfortunately I cannot partition/format my card IN my phone. I need to have my external usb 'converter' thing and that is sitting at home. :( Lot of good it's doing me now. Otherwise I'd have tried this already.

    I just found that site - it looks like whoever put it up just today. Having nothing else to do at the moment I did scan those files off that site...we have a pretty tight anti virus at my work and it seems to check out. But as was posted - check it yourself before trying. I am just hopeful this will be the root path we need.
     
    ZAXIS likes this.
  19. millar43068

    millar43068 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013

    Sep 18, 2013
    71
    12
    18
    once we get root check out aparted for partitioning your sd card in your phone pretty nifty
     
  20. TazExtreme3

    TazExtreme3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012

    Mar 18, 2012
    17
    9
    16
    Just a partition is fine. I have an ext2, and a fat32 on mine and recovery recognizes the ext2 fine.
     
    bluemonstr and ZAXIS like this.
  21. ZAXIS

    ZAXIS Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    330
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    330
    35
    43
    wescoast
    That's what thought thanks, if I remember correctly that's how my old opV was set up... hoping to try this out tonight after work as well, anybody give it a go yet?
     
  22. bluemonstr

    bluemonstr Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    25
    8
    16
    Male
    Project Management
    OC - southern cali
    So just to verify - if I partition a section of my SD - I would then place the update.zip file there - correct?

    I'd much prefer not to reformat the whole card - however - I guess it might be wise to do that anyways.

    Thanks Taz!
     
  23. ZAXIS

    ZAXIS Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    330
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    330
    35
    43
    wescoast
    Think so, because I'm not sure you'd be able to transfer stuff into card that's formatted as ext2, does Windows recognize that format?? Think Mac does, but dont remember off the top of my head
     
  24. David98

    David98 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013

    Sep 4, 2013
    27
    1
    16
    I keep getting error:device offline on command prompt
     
  25. TazExtreme3

    TazExtreme3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012

    Mar 18, 2012
    17
    9
    16
    Correct.
    Unfortunately, however, I just tried the "guide" on thetechbulletin and it's the same outcome. Nada. I've pulled the rom and im rifling through it trying to find something. I'm also going to try to pull the stock recovery. I have to figure out how to do that though. I think the key that we're missing may be finding a fastboot driver. Not sure though. Learning as i go here.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...