1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Root explorer also install apps?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by saltire, Jun 17, 2011.

  1. saltire

    saltire Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    Before i buy it, just wanted to check that I can use Root Explorer to install apps as well as remove system apps i never use?

    Alternative is I use ADB, but just wondering how Data++ scripts would handle an app installed this way?


    Also, can anyone remind me what the original AlphaRev CM partition table sizes were before they updated to R2 - so i can rename pc folder to keep track.
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    You can use root explorer to install apps as you can with astro but only to data. Titanium will apparently convert data apps to system apps but not sure how good it.is.

    What is a data++ script? Thought it was just a hboot
     
  3. saltire

    saltire Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    Quite right (you knew that of course, and I appreciate you were being polite to a noob who might be meddling into things he shouldn't ;))
    Poor choice of wording trying to be concise, and was thinking about the check through UOT updater script trying out the kitchen's Data++ tick box just to make sure system elements moved to sd-ext looked right. ROM script just has symlinks to the sd-ext location for the elements that are moved - so yes hboot only, oops :)

    Think the question was a bit dumb anyway, as it's system elements that get moved including system/apps - so I don't think user apps are affected anyway.
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    No they probably wont be. It may be intersting to see if the framework-res.apk is moved as flashing themes wont work in the normal way
     
    saltire likes this.
  5. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,070
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,070
    15,326
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    130 system, 5 cache, 303 data if I remember right.
     
    saltire likes this.
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Sounds familiar....
     
  7. saltire

    saltire Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    Yep framework-res is moved, UOT tick box for data++ ROMs works fine for lazy folk like me though - saved me having to do a search and replace in updater script :)

    Cheers Hadron, your memory serves you well (just downloaded quick sys info and system storage is indeed 130MB). Could remember cache being 5MB, but still needed another one working with total of 437MB.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...