1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Root for Fierce 2?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by skinlab, Oct 14, 2014.

  1. Blackhawk1969

    Blackhawk1969 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012

    Jan 31, 2012
    175
    39
    63
    Male
    A galaxy far far away
    I don't know but I'm going to try to root this thing by seeing how high I can make it bounce off the ground
     

    Advertisement

    LG Fanatic and ttoommyy like this.
  2. oliver374

    oliver374 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015

    Apr 2, 2015
    4
    1
    16
    Male
    Don't end up getting it bricked bro
     
    LG Fanatic likes this.
  3. ttoommyy

    ttoommyy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015

    Mar 25, 2015
    22
    4
    36
    Good luck and keep us updated pls.
     
    LG Fanatic likes this.
  4. Im4Android

    Im4Android Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011

    Sep 30, 2011
    59
    14
    38
    Male
    searching
    SE Georgia
    It's officially Thursday April 16th, and we still haven't heard anything from Woody yet. His last post was last Sunday at about 3:00pm. I'm am absolutely NOT calling him a liar or anything of that sort, I would however appreciate any kind of update as I'm sure the rest of you Fierce 2 owners would as well. Just saying is all.
     
    floridaboy89 likes this.
  5. GTizzle

    GTizzle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015

    Jan 6, 2015
    124
    48
    53
    Male
    Android/Windows Developer
    Los Angeles
    Well said

    Lmao
     
  6. Blackhawk1969

    Blackhawk1969 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012

    Jan 31, 2012
    175
    39
    63
    Male
    A galaxy far far away
    it would seem that getting this phone rooted has about the same odds as a tornado going through a junkyard and piecing together a working 747 out of it
     
    GTizzle and herminiachristian like this.
  7. GTizzle

    GTizzle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015

    Jan 6, 2015
    124
    48
    53
    Male
    Android/Windows Developer
    Los Angeles
    You know what, I'm gonna contact a Dev to help us, I don't have spare time, and that one zxz0O0 was a price of crap, no offense to him, he never even bothered to help after he failed.
     
    Blackhawk1969, ttoommyy and mrrom like this.
  8. ChaoticClown2

    ChaoticClown2 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015

    Apr 18, 2015
    2
    0
    15
    Male
  9. GTizzle

    GTizzle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015

    Jan 6, 2015
    124
    48
    53
    Male
    Android/Windows Developer
    Los Angeles
  10. ChaoticClown2

    ChaoticClown2 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015

    Apr 18, 2015
    2
    0
    15
    Male
  11. woodyoredgar

    woodyoredgar Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013

    Jun 8, 2013
    11
    13
    28
    Male
    Auto Repair
    Chicago
    Well guys been a week and still nothing new for our Fierce 2 root.I've been checking everyday and still nothing for root.The devs working on combining exploit and SuperSU into a working apk for the Zte Zmax that I spoke last week are still working on it and when I posted on progress they were kind of rude and said it's not easy to just sit back and wait....so I guess we'll all have to wait a little longer. I'm online for at least an hour every day looking for root solution so I'll definitely post here first if I find one or whenever devs working on Zte root finish that apk there working on.
     
  12. Blackhawk1969

    Blackhawk1969 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012

    Jan 31, 2012
    175
    39
    63
    Male
    A galaxy far far away
    Good deal..
     
  13. hakujin

    hakujin Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    454
    36
    43
    I just updated to this build, regrettably. Is it just me or did this update remove Runtime choice from Developer Options? Fahhhkrrrs. The main reason i enjoy this phone was the speed & memory improvements in ART.
     
  14. derpy01

    derpy01 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013

    Jul 20, 2013
    117
    13
    38
    Male
    Sacramento
    I haven't updated yet, and i have bad experiences with the art runtime
     
  15. hakujin

    hakujin Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    454
    36
    43
    You realize there's nothing but ART now going forward? Never an issue in KK for me, smooth, fast, greatly improves multitasking memory allocation, at the detriment of size where the 4GB flash is too small.

    Anyway, I think it's still active (ART optimizes at boot for the 1st time, or is that tell-tale sign of DAVLIK?) as I still only have 300MB of available internal storage and run a really tight ship. But they removed the option to switch for some strange reason.

    I'm still deciding on retiring this phone for the Alcatel Idol 3.
     
  16. GTizzle

    GTizzle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015

    Jan 6, 2015
    124
    48
    53
    Male
    Android/Windows Developer
    Los Angeles
    Haha really? your gonna go crawling back to Alcatel for another one of their phones? I was at the T-Mobile Store today and i was really tempted to buy the Nexus 6, or The Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge. But I'll wait, this would be a perfect phone if there was root. btw, i did notice the thing about the runtime too, so now we can't chose between ART or DAVLIK, and i really love ART, mostly because of AOT, but now we're stuck with JIT, but if we're really lucky, Alcatel and T-Mobile or Metro will give us Lollipop, but i doubt it. This Phone Doesn't gain much attention :/
     
  17. hakujin

    hakujin Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    454
    36
    43
    Haha, I know right. It looks like a really good phone at the low price of $200, the extent of my budget. To tell you the truth, I've had a pretty good experience with this phone, no root notwithstanding. For price paid of 50-60, I'd say I got my money's worth.

    I don't think there will be a root but slight chance with the Zmax.

    I think I'm still on ART but yeah, can no longer change. One thing I know for sure, Metro will NEVER release Lollipop for this handset, haha!
     
    GTizzle and Blackhawk1969 like this.
  18. hakujin

    hakujin Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    454
    36
    43
    Hey, does anyone realize this is one of the few (only that I know of, but likely more?) KK phones that allows one to choose USB Mass Storage when plugged in Vs MTP? That's pretty cool.
     
  19. Fon Spaak

    Fon Spaak Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015

    Apr 23, 2015
    72
    9
    26
    Can someone get the developer from towelroot to help?
     
  20. GTizzle

    GTizzle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015

    Jan 6, 2015
    124
    48
    53
    Male
    Android/Windows Developer
    Los Angeles
    Geohot is vey busy, BUT, i will message him.
     
    Blackhawk1969, Fon Spaak and mrrom like this.
  21. Fon Spaak

    Fon Spaak Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015

    Apr 23, 2015
    72
    9
    26
    If GeoHot is willing to cooperate, in which i hope, In which time would you expect that the 7040n will have a root and why can't this phone be rooted easily?
    (If he's willing to solve this little problem for us.)
     
  22. GTizzle

    GTizzle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015

    Jan 6, 2015
    124
    48
    53
    Male
    Android/Windows Developer
    Los Angeles
    Not sure, depending how much time he has, and how much time he'll spend smashing this phone and buying a new one, I'd say 3-4 months, 1 year tops. Also, i just wanna add, i did contact ChainFire yesterday, still waiting for a reply(he's also very busy).
     
    Fon Spaak likes this.
  23. Fon Spaak

    Fon Spaak Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015

    Apr 23, 2015
    72
    9
    26
    So it will take a long time then, I also want to know is why is this rooting thing getting really dificult for this phone, is there something that anyone can contribute to the "Project"?
     
  24. ubigred

    ubigred Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    63
    5
    16
    HOUSTON = EVO KINGDOM
    Geohot now works for Google. He's not allowed to look for exploits in Android.
     
  25. Fon Spaak

    Fon Spaak Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015

    Apr 23, 2015
    72
    9
    26
    Any potential hacker out there that can root this phone?
     

Share This Page

Loading...