1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Root For the APPLE NATION?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mrbojanglez, Aug 23, 2011.

  1. mrbojanglez

    mrbojanglez Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011

    Aug 23, 2011
    9
    4
    6
    Is there a way to root the EVO with a MAC? I tried searching the forum, but NO LUCK! Just wondering what about the APPLE NATION! Show us some LOVE!
     

    Advertisement

  2. iMethod

    iMethod Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    80
    27
    23
    Houston, Texas
    Someone asked this question already but heres the instructions

    Original Thread - http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-things-root/118052-mac-root-all-evo.html
     
  3. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
  4. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,873
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,873
    1,766
    633
    /home/
    could also do it with parallels, or bootcamp. And possibly a VM, but I'm not sure on that one...
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  5. Muellersirch

    Muellersirch Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    26
    8
    16
    That method will not work with 2.3.3 Evo's. You will need to use Revolutionary, which does not yet support Mac. Use boot camp/parallel to run linux.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  6. iMethod

    iMethod Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    80
    27
    23
    Houston, Texas
    I think i heard that too im not sure about the whole mac thing cause i don't use mac but that sounds about right, yet he did not specify what version he was running.
     
  7. RyanMac

    RyanMac Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011

    Aug 23, 2011
    21
    0
    35
    Here , Here! I am a Mac user as well with an Evo and there not enough support for our community.:eek:
     
  8. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Pffft.

    And I bet you cats thought I'd forgotten about you - NEVER gonna happen, compadres! ;)

    OK - here's what you need to do to make revolutionary.io happen on a Mac, the free way -



    1. Install a virtual machine (VM)
    2. Install Ubuntu inside that machine
    3. Do revolutionary from there

    And - we have good friend willy900wonka at XDA to help light the way:

    [Guide]Using Revolutionary and Getting Soff on a MAC - xda-developers

    Note - that's for the Evo 3D, but so what, there is really only one sky, if you get my meaning.

    He has some picture instructions on how to set up the VM linked to -

    How to set up Ubuntu Linux on a Mac -- it's easy and free - TUAW - The Unofficial Apple Weblog

    The pictures are a little out of date - but don't panic - the newer version with the different options - just accept the defaults on the extra setup screens. (Except where given the choice to say Linux/Ubuntu.)

    And the VM - although free - is exactly what I'm using on one of my business Macs to run a Red Hat distribution - to be honest, in some ways, I like it better than Parallels (it's like the old Parallels in that it's easier to configure and it just works). Best of all, it's free, and you get it from here -

    http://virtualbox.org

    And you want to get and use Ubuntu 10.04 (again - instructions are for Ubuntu 9, and wonka said to use 10.10, but 10.04 is the long-term supported version and should do nicely - but I think you'll be able to get the idea). Like any virtual machine setup, you need a CD of an operating system - or just an ISO image of the install CD that VirtualBox can mount as a virtual CD. And you can get that from -

    http://www.ubuntu.com/start-download?distro=desktop&bits=32&release=lts

    That's for the 32-bit version, I am *pretty sure* that will work just fine.

    It's going to look like a lot of fol-de-rol but it's what you expect:


    • Set up virtual machine
    • Set up Ubuntu
    • Set up Android sdk to get adb and fastboot (if needed)
    • Trust the revolutionary.io wiki - public:revolutionary [RootWiki]

    Questions? Post 'em here, I'll do my best! :)
     
    mrbojanglez, ocnbrze and iMethod like this.
  9. iMethod

    iMethod Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    80
    27
    23
    Houston, Texas
    Good job EarlyMon i totally forgot about that!
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  10. mrbojanglez

    mrbojanglez Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011

    Aug 23, 2011
    9
    4
    6
    You are the man! I was just thinking why is MAC left out all the time?!? Why no love? I appreciate the help Earlymon! The APPLE nation thanks you! lol
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...