1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Root+Gingerbread ROM data speeds

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by UserName872, Mar 27, 2011.

  1. UserName872

    UserName872 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    621
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    621
    89
    78
    Network Administrator
    Philadelphia, PA
    As you may have seen through other posts today, mattbe213 and I have rooted our devices easily with the one-click method and have radio-off as well.

    Here is a screenshot with some data speeds on the mobile network, not wifi.

    Just thought I'd share, this is double what I received before rooting aand flashing the ROM.

    If you have some extra time and can follow instructions you can have root and a blazing fast ROM in no time. No more bloatware.

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement

  2. mattbe213

    mattbe213 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    291
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    291
    41
    63
    School
    Missouri
    Nice. I'm dropping this ROM soon though. I want to try others as well.

    Matt
     
  3. UserName872

    UserName872 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    621
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    621
    89
    78
    Network Administrator
    Philadelphia, PA

    You'll have to let us know what others you try and what kind of benefits you find!
     
  4. mattbe213

    mattbe213 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    291
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    291
    41
    63
    School
    Missouri
    Will do!!!

    Matt
     
  5. harlenm

    harlenm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    148
    7
    36
    On froyo, not gingerbread though.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. milan03

    milan03 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    327
    46
    43
    New York City
    Where are you located?
     
  7. IrishSmash

    IrishSmash Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Austin, TX
    What rom are you guys using? I'm currently using CM7-RC4, and I'm averaging about 2900kbps down and 300kbps up.
     
  8. harlenm

    harlenm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    148
    7
    36
    That was in milford, ct in the friendlys parking lot.
     
  9. Ferrari353

    Ferrari353 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

    Feb 6, 2011
    248
    16
    38
    Student
    California
    I rooted my phone last night using Bubby's root thing (over at XDA) and it took me a good two hours, scaring me the whole time. I was so scared I'd brick my phone. I'd hardly say it was easy...I was watching a video about Bubby's thing and I had to rewind like a billion times to check that I was doing the right thing....
    Anyway, It's rooted now, but now I have no clue how to install a rom? I'd like to install Gingerbread or Honeycomb...So can you explain how to install a rom?

    Also, how do I remove AT&T's crappy bloatware? Do I have to flash a rom to remove it or can I uninstall it a different way or something?
     
  10. dots

    dots Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    965
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    965
    245
    93
    Shelby Township, MI
    [​IMG]

    Running cm7 nightly #34
     
  11. gadget069

    gadget069 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Mar 21, 2011
    24
    1
    16
    This is the same route id like to take, no you're scaring me, lol. I too would like to get rid of the "bloatware", I'm assuming flashing a new rom will take of this.
     
  12. Ferrari353

    Ferrari353 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

    Feb 6, 2011
    248
    16
    38
    Student
    California
    Well as long as the new ROM you install doesn't have the bloatware then you wouldn't have it anymore.
     
  13. austinite79

    austinite79 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Austin, Tx
    I did bubby's one click root recently as well. Titanium backup on market lets you remove almost anything on your phone,just be careful what you delete! Gingerbread and Sense 2.1 is really nice.
     
  14. LittleAnt

    LittleAnt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    157
    19
    38
    Aerospace Engineer
    Los Angeles, CA
    I'm rooted, and loving it. I've tried some different ROMs, but i can't really tell one from the next! I know that i definitely want Gingerbread. So what are my options?
    So far, i've seen these Gingerbread ROMS:
    - RCMixHD (5.8)
    - Revolution (4.0)

    I wish there was a list somewhere showing what ROMS were available, and what features they have!
     
  15. harlenm

    harlenm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    148
    7
    36
    I like the froyo roms better. Gingerbread ones feel a little sluggish to me.
     
    beseidner likes this.
  16. ultradroid

    ultradroid So many android phones...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    472
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    472
    71
    53
    Title Insurance Underwriter
    Cleveland, Ohio - the North Coast!
  17. dwhip25

    dwhip25 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

    Feb 6, 2011
    63
    8
    16
    Lexington, KY
    Do ROMs update themselves, or will I have to keep updating it through the methods in the other post?
     
  18. LittleAnt

    LittleAnt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    157
    19
    38
    Aerospace Engineer
    Los Angeles, CA
    No automatic update. If you're not happy with your current ROM performance, check out the Developer thread, and see if others have reported a problem with it. They usually come out with a new ROM every 2-3 weeks.

    If you think your ROM is perfect, however, then why bother?? :)
     
  19. th3goob

    th3goob Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    185
    13
    38
    Nanty Glo, PA
    download rom manager that will help you with everything
    including updating roms,downloading roms,installing roms, all the latest roms
     
  20. th3goob

    th3goob Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    185
    13
    38
    Nanty Glo, PA
    i have s-off, and when i do get h+ i only get 700kbps and 600kbps could the h+ in my area not be full yet? and im running cm7.0.2
     
  21. Kopsis

    Kopsis Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    109
    19
    38
    Systems Engineer
    Tampa, FL
    In some regions the APN settings in CM7 must be tweaked to get good HSPA speeds. There's a big thread in the Inspire dev section on XDA about this.
     
  22. blazeplacid

    blazeplacid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    204
    11
    38
    Drafter
    DFW TX
    i want to root in hopes of seeing MUCH faster data speeds

    I wish I had pics of when I had an iphone 4 I could get 4mbps in most areas. At work I could get 5mbps every so often.

    I live in DFW and my work has a cell tower right on the building.

    Anyone getting close to that with an inspire?
     
  23. ubusmom

    ubusmom Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011

    Apr 10, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Not sure what rooting is and I may be inover my head. I live in rural area not having wifi or 4G service yet. I connect my Inspire to laptop using tether. Will this give me faster download/upload/surfing speeds on laptop?
    Linda:rolleyes:
     
  24. evanino

    evanino Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Tech Weirdo
    Tried to root - DID NOT WORK
    un install dumb ass gingerbread = DID NOT WORK

    my HTC Inspire = useless!

    starting to miss my old iPhone 3g
    :mad:
     

Share This Page

Loading...