1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Root Root gone wrong

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lilbitmawhney, Dec 25, 2012.

  1. lilbitmawhney

    lilbitmawhney Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012

    Dec 25, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    I rooted my NC last year at this time with CM7. The wifi never worked since doing so. I'm trying to finally fix it. Can i restore it back to its original state? If so what is the best program to root it too if I decide to root again?

    Damien
     

    Advertisement

  2. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
  3. lilbitmawhney

    lilbitmawhney Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012

    Dec 25, 2012
    9
    0
    5
  4. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Root means stock rom, but the ability to install Google Play Store and any app you want.

    If by "Root" you mean a custom rom, then I'd install CM7 or CM7 Mirage or other CM7 variant.

    My experience has been that installing CM9 or CM10 is cool, but the hardware isn't fast enough to make it a pleasant (smooth) experience. YMMV.
     
  5. lilbitmawhney

    lilbitmawhney Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012

    Dec 25, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    Ok so since cm7 does not seem to work for me I guess i just want stock rom and the ability to d/l any app I want..
     
  6. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    It doesn't work because something went wrong. :D

    It depends on what you want. If you want a reader that can also do other things, go stock. If you want a tablet, that can also read books, then go CM7. Directions for both are at that link. (IMO CM7 would be easier than restoring to stock AND rooting it.)
     
  7. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,768
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,768
    1,812
    693
    Male
    USA
    I agree as I tried CM9 and it would lag and reboot. I am on Paranoid Android and it has been very good, so far. I stayed at 1100 mhz as 1200 didn't play well. It is stable, so far (still cannot figure out that netflix apk but that's for another thread).

    (Off topic)Just noticed, Colchiro, you don't have the "Guide" status? Whassup with that? Also, I didn't know you had a Gnex. I just got mine a month ago.:)
     
  8. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    "Guide" was getting to be more work than I wanted (patrolling other forums) so I dropped it. It would come in hand at times tho. :D

    Yes, love the N7. Almost bought the N10, but JB came out for my Touchpad, which was almost as good.
     
  9. lilbitmawhney

    lilbitmawhney Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012

    Dec 25, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    So my cm 7.1 encore is working. I'm trying to do the steps seen here: http://androidforums.com/nookcolor-...dirty-upgrade-your-cm7-using-rom-manager.html to update to 7.2 and update my nightlies. It says I need rom manager premium before i can d/l any of this stuff, is this true or am I doing something wrong?
     
  10. lilbitmawhney

    lilbitmawhney Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012

    Dec 25, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    Forget my last question. I was able to upgrade to cm 7.2. I assume I'll be able to download my nightlies as well. Although i'm not exactly sure what they do yet lol..
     
  11. lilbitmawhney

    lilbitmawhney Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012

    Dec 25, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    It won't let me update nightlies. Am I doing something wrong?
     
  12. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Use goo manager to DL roms. Rom manager isn't up to date anymore.
     
    tube517 likes this.
  13. lilbitmawhney

    lilbitmawhney Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012

    Dec 25, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    What cpu clock settings should i have my nook color set to?
     
  14. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,768
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,768
    1,812
    693
    Male
    USA
    1100 seems to be the most stable.

    If you try 1200 and it bootloops, then you know it's too high.

    YMMV
     
  15. lilbitmawhney

    lilbitmawhney Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012

    Dec 25, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    Set both min and max to 1100? Also, it seems to reset the speed after reboot, can i stop that from happening?
     
  16. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,768
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,768
    1,812
    693
    Male
    USA
    Set max to 1100 and min to 384 or the lowest setting (can't remember).

    There should be an option to "set on boot" or something similar, so it won't reset the speeds after a reboot.
     
  17. lilbitmawhney

    lilbitmawhney Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012

    Dec 25, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    One last thing.. since downloading my nightly google play will not open. How can I resolve this?
     

Share This Page

Loading...