1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

root guide for a n00b

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Pulsss3, Aug 13, 2012.

1. Pulsss3

Pulsss3 Newbie

Hi, im new to the android os, have had a fair bit to do with iOS, but have since made a very happy transition and now own a Samsung Galaxy S2, i am interested in "rooting" my phone, but am completely confused about and having a hard time understanding the whole process, im not sure if im in the right section here or not, but i would greatly appreciate any help in figuring out what i need to do, thank you in advance! :)

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. Pulsss3

Pulsss3 Newbie

as a side note, i am also interested in overclocking my Galaxy S2 aswel.

3. Crashdamage

Crashdamage Android Expert

Look in the 'All things root' section of your phone's subforum. The info you need is there.

4. Pulsss3

Pulsss3 Newbie

im extremely confused about what to do or how to do it ?.?

5. Crashdamage

Crashdamage Android Expert

Like I said...there is a SG2 subforum, look in the 'All things root' section for the info you need. The SG2 is pretty fast, not sure there's really much to gain by overclocking.

Maybe I should add this...

Ask yourself what you need to do that actually requires root or if you just want to play with the phone. For most users it's probably the latter.

Android and hardware have come a long way. Storage space is usually adequate and a lot of customization is possible without root. For regular users there's just not as many things that require root as before. I haven't bothered to root my daily driver in a long time and nowadays usually recommend against it.

No offense to hard-working developers, but custom ROMs do vary some in terms of quality, stability, functionality and features. Rooting will void your warranty.