1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROOT][GUIDE][ONE CLICK] Asus ZenFone 2E/2/Z00D/ZE500CL/550ML/551ML

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cotylee1991, Aug 13, 2015.

  1. cotylee1991

    cotylee1991 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    I am not responsible for bricked devices, dead SD cards,
    thermonuclear war, your kids, your house, your wife, or you getting fired because the alarm app failed. Please
    do some research if you have any concerns about this
    before using it! YOU are choosing to make these modifications, and if
    you point the finger at me for messing up your device, I will laugh at you.
    A lot.



    This guide will show you how to root your Asus Zenfone 2E, in one click. I have tested, and confirmed working on the AT&T ASUS ZenFone 2E/Z00D/ZE500CL

    1. Make sure you have ADB Drivers, FastBoot Drivers, and your devices drivers installed. If so, skip to step 3.
    2. Install ADB Drivers and your device drivers by downloading this.
    1. Run it (Require administrator privileges)
    2. Press Y/Yes to install ADB and Fastboot or N/No to skip
    3. Press Y/Yes to install ADB system-wide or N/No for current user only
    4. Press Y/Yes to install Device Drivers or N/No to skip (Device must be connected via USB Debugging)
    5. Continue Driver installation - DONE!​
    3. Connect your device with USB Debugging enabled.
    4. Download the root files HERE.
    5. Unzip to dekstop.
    6. Open the folder, and double click on the file labeled "Root_zenfone.bat".
    7. It will open a Command Prompt window, (Check your device for a popup asking you to trust the connection, click YES/ALLOW) your phone will boot into fastboot, allow the process to finish, and you're done!
    8. Phone will reboot and you have root!

    NOTES
    DO NOT
    update SuperSU binaries if you want to update to a future OTA update, that is if Asus releases a 5.1 update.
    DO NOT uninstall bloatware, as if an update were to arrive, it will brick your device. I suggest "freezing" the apps you don't need with Titanium Backup or Disable Application.
    If you want to unroot, run Xoa_root.bat in the file folder.



    Coty Thomas
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    DEVICE: Asus ZenFone 2E rooted with ZenFone O.C. Root on 5.0.1
    [​IMG]
    I Pay $20 A Month, What About You...
     

    Advertisement

    #1 cotylee1991, Aug 13, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2015
    rteezy and Djole94hns like this.
  2. n0tall0wed

    n0tall0wed Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #350
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013

    Mar 2, 2013
    106
    30
    53
    Not working for me. Never finds the device
     
  3. cotylee1991

    cotylee1991 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Did you install your devices drivers using the ADB installer above? And was USB debugging enabled?
     
  4. n0tall0wed

    n0tall0wed Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #350
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013

    Mar 2, 2013
    106
    30
    53
    Yes and yes
     
  5. n0tall0wed

    n0tall0wed Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #350
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013

    Mar 2, 2013
    106
    30
    53
    Found out why it didn't work. I didn't accept the adb connection from the computer on the phone. Thanks for making root easy for fellow ZenFone 2 owners
     
    cotylee1991 likes this.
  6. cotylee1991

    cotylee1991 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Ah yes, you must click "trust", I will add that to the guide. And you're welcome!
     
  7. Djole94hns

    Djole94hns Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015

    Aug 23, 2015
    3
    0
    5
    This definitely doesn't install some strange Chinese malware ;)

    Joking aside, have you tested the system update function, and how do you know it won't brick your phone on the next update if you only don't update the binaries and remove any bloatware?
     
  8. cotylee1991

    cotylee1991 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    No Chinese software, I swear [emoji3] strictly SuperSU as shown in my screenshot.
    [​IMG]

    And as far as the binaries and bloatware, don't uninstall the bloatware because IF an update comes out, the update will try to update with those Apps, and if they are uninstalled, it could cause a brick or bootloop. And beings there's no custom recovery for the 2E yet, there's not really a way to save yourself if you were to get stuck in a boot loop. Same goes for Xposed, I don't recommend using Xposed until we have a custom recovery. Binaries, same thing, updating the binaries could cause a brick if an update comes out. And I've seen it happen to other ZenFone 2's and 2E's.

    Just to be safe, just root, freeze the Apps you don't want, and we will have to wait for a custom recovery and further development. [emoji1]
     
    Djole94hns likes this.
  9. cotylee1991

    cotylee1991 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Also, system update function still works, but currently there isn't any update above the 5.0.1 that is already on the 2E yet. I've contacted Asus and Google, both refuse to release any details about a 5.1 update for the phone.
     
    Plaigh and Djole94hns like this.
  10. Djole94hns

    Djole94hns Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015

    Aug 23, 2015
    3
    0
    5
    Damn, you're quick to respond! Thanks for the explanation :)

    I've already rooted it with your tool, so I hope it all goes fine. I don't see the need to remove bloatware in ZenFone 2, because they don't really have much of bloatware anyway.

    So, thanks again!
     
  11. cotylee1991

    cotylee1991 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    I'm glad I was able to help! And I'm always around my phone or iPad to reply. [emoji3]

    I basically froze all of the AT&T Apps. They got annoying.
     
    Plaigh likes this.
  12. Djole94hns

    Djole94hns Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015

    Aug 23, 2015
    3
    0
    5
    Eh, I've got the unlocked, "stock" ZenFone. It's pretty cheap!
     
  13. ORnH

    ORnH Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015

    Aug 26, 2015
    2
    0
    5
    Hi cotylee, would you mind sharing which exploit was leveraged to elevate privileges?
     
  14. e996

    e996 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015

    Sep 24, 2015
    1
    0
    5
    So... what if I did that? Rooted, uninstalled a bunch of the bloat, then accidentally applied the OTA update. I've since tried everything I could possibly think of to get out of the bootloop, but nothing has worked so far. Re-rooting, wiping cache, factory resetting, etc. do nothing. Trying to re-flash boot.img, droidboot.img, recovery.img, or system.img all fail due to a permissions error. Any suggestions?
     
  15. ORnH

    ORnH Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015

    Aug 26, 2015
    2
    0
    5
    So much for always being around that phone or iPad to reply. Been almost a month and no reply...
     
  16. playingmax

    playingmax Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015

    Oct 18, 2015
    1
    1
    6
    hello, after clicking on Root_zenfone.bat phone reboots into recoverty
    in cmd i get "dang root vui cho"
    then "waiting for device"
    and just hangs.
    but phone boots back to normal n its not rooted. do u have any idea what it could be
    n yes drivers were installed.
     
    Dreamx likes this.
  17. Bigshack37

    Bigshack37 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012

    Dec 3, 2012
    2
    1
    6
    Hi there, I'm trying to root my Zenfone 2e. When I run the .bat adb never finds my device. I checked my phone and it doesn't popup anything. I think what my problem is the device drivers. I ran the adb setup which says it's installing device drivers but it doesn't seem like they're working for some reason.

    Edit: I figured it out. Windows 10 is weird. Lol
     
    #17 Bigshack37, Oct 25, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2015
    domilee13 likes this.
  18. Cliffjumper126

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015

    Oct 26, 2015
    1
    1
    16
    Male
    Okay, trying to root my 2e with this method. I have installed the drivers and turned on USB debugging, but when I hit the enter key in the command prompt, the cursor moves down and nothing happens. The phone never asks anything and cmd never does anything, it just hangs after "started daemon successfully." Did you guys figure out what the problem was? I'm running Windows 7.
     
    #18 Cliffjumper126, Oct 26, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2015
    Dreamx likes this.
  19. starfishlover

    starfishlover Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012

    Dec 29, 2012
    9
    6
    6
    my phone rooted ok, can't get cwm or twrp to install, tried unlocking bootloader with no success, seems there have been several updated versions of bootloader since the forums came out. does asus have it locked again without a trap door?. getting a download glitch that freezes phone when downloading apps or anything else with cell data and wifi that i want to fix....other than that the phone works so well being rooted!
     
  20. Coolo

    Coolo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015

    Nov 4, 2015
    1
    0
    5
    Male
    some precautions that I found:

    You must sure that is not in execution any Android Emulator (like BlueStacks) during the process, otherwise "Root_zenfone.bat" don't find the device.
     
  21. domilee13

    domilee13 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015

    Nov 8, 2015
    1
    0
    15
    Hey Im having the same problem how did yours to root
     
  22. Bigshack37

    Bigshack37 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012

    Dec 3, 2012
    2
    1
    6
    I had tried the device drivers that came with the root software but even though it said it was installing "device drivers" it never did. This may have been because I was on Windows 10. I turned on debugging on my phone and I noticed in device manager that it showed up as android debug device but it didn't have a driver for it. I just allowed Windows automatic driver installer to find the driver. Ever since Windows 8 most drivers can be found automatically if you just let it try.
     
  23. Cicciux

    Cicciux Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015

    Nov 28, 2015
    1
    0
    5
    Male
    Hi, I tried to root my zenfone go whit your sistem, but it' s blocked in a black screen with "USB transferring... USB transition OK Time: 0ms Vel: 0kb/s" The Command Prompt is closed, what can i do?
     
  24. Juniedi

    Juniedi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016

    Jan 29, 2016
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    thank you for te gret guide sir, do you know any custom roms for this ZE500CL, this is the 1st reply in this forum, thanks for any help
     
  25. Unremember3d

    Unremember3d Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016

    Mar 5, 2016
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    Everything runs ok but when I run Root_zenfone.bat I get :
    error: cannot open 'magic'

    error: cannot open 'busybox'

    error: cannot open 'supersu.tgz'

    error: cannot open 'installer'

    I think this is ****ing me up? As I do not have root access
     

Share This Page

Loading...