1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root help [Noob]

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by madflava54, Jun 6, 2010.

  1. madflava54

    madflava54 Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    My phone comes in tomorrow and I am not sure how to interpret one step. I was just downloading the necessary files and wasn't sure about this step. Sorry for perhaps a noob question, but I just want to be sure not to brick my phone.

    Step 2: Extract the Android SDK zip. Move the contents of the extracted zip to C:\
    Your Android tools folder path should now be C:\android-sdk-windows\tools


    I guess when I first get the phone, do I install something previously or am I just creating this folder and placing the contents of the zip into the folder I make?

    Thank you!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Dolza

    Dolza Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Mar 3, 2010
    9
    2
    6
    After you download the zip file from the XDA site you will need to extract the contents. The path you listed above is the location where you will extract them too. While extracting that location should be created automatically.
     
    madflava54 likes this.
  3. madflava54

    madflava54 Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Thanks for the response!

    So, I don't need to run the SDK Setup file after extraction and just concerned with the "Tools" folder?
     
  4. Dolza

    Dolza Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Mar 3, 2010
    9
    2
    6
    I'm not looking at the instructions at the moment, but as I recall I don't think so. Just follow the guide and you will be all set.
     
    madflava54 likes this.
  5. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    779
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    I think I read somewhere that the sdk setup is for android development. You don't need it to root, though
     
    madflava54 likes this.
  6. madflava54

    madflava54 Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Thanks a lot guys! HUGE noob here
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...