1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

root help

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by h0und10, Mar 14, 2011.

  1. h0und10

    h0und10 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    hi im new to the forum and i have read and serched a bit about rooting myphone but i want the most current informaton so i dont end up breaking my phone. but i mostly would like to root so i can delete the pointless apps that no one uses (wheather, nascar, nfl mobile, etc) also i would like to store apps on my sd card because i keep getting the "low on storage" notifacation on my phone.. also it would speed up my phone.
    so if anyone can walk me through or give me some insight would be greatly appreciated
     

    Advertisement

  2. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    12,973
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,973
    9,513
    1,423
    UK
    You're using a Sprint/CDMA Hero, right?
     
  3. h0und10

    h0und10 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    10
    0
    15
  4. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    12,973
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,973
    9,513
    1,423
    UK
  5. h0und10

    h0und10 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    hi im new to the forum and i have read and serched a bit about rooting myphone but i want the most current informaton so i dont end up breaking my phone. but i mostly would like to root so i can delete the pointless apps that no one uses (wheather, nascar, nfl mobile, etc) also i would like to store apps on my sd card because i keep getting the "low on storage" notifacation on my phone.. also it would speed up my phone.
    so if anyone can walk me through or give me some insight would be greatly appreciated
     
  6. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    782
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
  7. h0und10

    h0und10 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    10
    0
    15
  8. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    782
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
  9. h0und10

    h0und10 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    thanks. will give it a shot!
     
  10. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    782
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    No prob, let us know how you make out....;)
     
  11. h0und10

    h0und10 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    its not working! it keeps saying i dont have the neccisary drivers when i try to run here root.exe.... idk how to get those. i downloaded the requirements first. i figured the drivers would be in there.
     
  12. h0und10

    h0und10 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    its not working. says "necessary htc drivers are mssing install drivers using htc sync, or directly with the driver zip (advanced)
    i downloaded the requirements and i figured tha would ave the drivers too but i guess not..
     
  13. KitsapAndroid

    KitsapAndroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    743
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    743
    118
    113
    Male
    Group Sales Associate/Front Desk Clerk
    Washington (state)
    It sounds like you probably need to install HTC sync on your PC. You can DL it direct from the HTC website.
     
  14. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,461
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,461
    8,275
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Do a little reading in the all things rooted section, there are many threads where we have helped many root there phone, get familiar with them a little, then when ready let us know and we will guide you in the right direction, a few threads for you to read in the meantime, see below

    Ok, Im ready to ROOT. How long is the process? ([​IMG] 1 2 3 ... Last Page)

    Root FAQ - Root FAQ

    How To Root 1.5 or 2.1 - How-To Root a Sprint Hero

    How To Flash a Custom ROM - How To Flash a Custom ROM

    Lots of Other Useful Root Info - "Lots useful root info"
     
  15. h0und10

    h0und10 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    i cant figure out how to root my phone!! i have an htc cdma sprint hero
    im runnin the newest version 2.32 i believe and my computer is 64 bit but i cant seem to get any of the "one click" solutions to work. it keeps saying i dont have the neccesary drivers installed. i cant figure out how to install them... ughhh!!
     
  16. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    Try out the RegawMod method of rooting: http://androidforums.com/sprint-her...awmod-hero-rooter-v1-3-updated-3-06-11-a.html . Be sure to download the x64 version and not the x86 version because you have a 64-bit computer. Let us know if you need assistance after trying the above method to root.

    EDIT: Ugh, I noticed you have posted about three threads for the same thing. You really should just keep it one thread. I gave you information above that you already mentioned in another post that you were having trouble with, but I did not know because you have made multiple threads.
     
  17. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    Also, please stop making multiple threads asking the same thing. It is confusing and slightly annoying to the people trying to help you out if they see you asking the same thing in many threads. :(

    Try and keep it to one thread and all will be well. We will get you rooted and help you flash your first custom ROM. ;)
     
  18. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,869
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    1,869
    267
    173
    Florida
    threads merged.

    LBP is right, it is much easier to help you if you post in one place. Thanks!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...