1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Root? New Phone? Wait? What To Do???

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by oldman, Apr 19, 2012.

1. oldman

oldman Newbie

I read a gazillion posts here and elsewhere and will ask for recommendations...

First:
    I have a new GS2 AT&T (SGH-i777) and my 30 day's is over on 5/10/12. I'm an Android app programmer and 'sort of' comfortable rooting and whatnot... But, the phone has Gingerbread 2.3.6 and I see far too many folks with all sorts of problems after rooting (especially wifi and Calling).

For me, it's really just a phone and test-bed for app's. Seldom use data and maps, and don't do messaging or emails. Seldom do internet. Of course, that all may change so I don't want to loose the functionality ;)

I see a clutter of confusion on what and how to do this without headaches so, I'm hesitant to jump in without some clarity and higher success rate...

My Goal:
    I simply want to either remove or disable the bloat-ware. That's all. I don't need ICS but, would like it if getting there is painless.

Word on the street suggests AT&T will push out ICS early May but not clear if my device will be included. So, I'm mulling over the following and I appreciate your input - thanks:

1. Wait to see if ICS makes it to my device and return it if it doesn't (by end of 30 day's)?
    2. If return - get the Skyrocket (if it get's ICS)?
    3. Return it just to extend the 30 day's until ICS is released? (yeah, I know about the re-stock fee and about the HTC One due out from AT&T on My 6. I had an HTC and didn't like it).
    4. Root now and return by end of 30 day's if I have problems - will they take it back for a return and upgrade if rooted?
    5. How to root it (again, I don't care about custom ROM's, just now, anyway). Zedomax and SuperOneclick seem to have problems with this device and 2.3.6 (though I know several have had success, I don't want to spend day's fixing it)...