1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ROOT] One-click root for LG Connect 4G :: 3/3/2012

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by k0nane, Mar 3, 2012.

  1. k0nane

    k0nane Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    803
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011

    Apr 8, 2011
    803
    779
    163
    Male
    I do stuff, with things
    127.0.0.1
    k0nane, Shabbypenguin, and bliss present...
    One Click Root for LG Connect 4G

    About

    Oh hello, Connect users! I'll be brief - your phone is close to the LG Spectrum. It can be rooted the same way. So we didn't actually have to do anything! The talented Dan Rosenberg already rooted the LG Spectrum (see here) and was kind enough to post a one-click for Windows and OS X/Linux. Myself and Shabbypenguin don't have much to add - it works, Mr. Rosenberg (bliss/@djrbliss) did all the work, you all have him to thank.

    But, without further ado...

    How to Install

    Your device must be in USB Debugging mode. To turn it on, go to Settings > Applications > Development and check the box.

    Linux/Mac: Connect your device to your PC, unpack the archive, and run run.sh. You may need to chmod 755 run.sh.

    Windows: Install the LG Spectrum USB drivers (download), unpack the archive, and open run.bat.


    Downloads
    We do not use file hosts with waiting times or CAPTCHAs!

    Windows Download (Direct) | Mirrors :: Direct #2
    Linux/Mac Download (Direct) | Mirrors :: Direct #2



    Credits


    • Dan Rosenberg: security researcher, rooter, friend of the Hit Squad, did all the work
    • markolo25: locating working drivers
    • Shabbypenguin: Shabbypenguin

    Don't forget to join us in the IRC channel! If you want to donate, donate to the EFF, Red Cross, or Mr. Rosenberg.
     

    Advertisement

    Xieon, mussio, S3M420 and 33 others like this.
  2. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    reserved
     
    webyrd and cynical0ne like this.
  3. k0nane

    k0nane Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    803
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011

    Apr 8, 2011
    803
    779
    163
    Male
    I do stuff, with things
    127.0.0.1
    P-O-S-T :: R-E-S-E-R-V-E-D

    [​IMG]

    Original artwork by Pendulum via Gasolin3.

    ...for future use.

    Follow me on Twitter @k0nane and @publik0!
    Follow Dan Rosenberg on Twitter @djrbliss!
     
    webyrd likes this.
  4. kidthai

    kidthai Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    50
    2
    16
    Awesome job! That was quick and thanks!
     
  5. kidthai

    kidthai Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    50
    2
    16
    Root success. Deleting bloatware with root explorer. Is it okay to delete the yahoo and Google apps?
     
  6. k0nane

    k0nane Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    803
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011

    Apr 8, 2011
    803
    779
    163
    Male
    I do stuff, with things
    127.0.0.1
    Yes, but do not delete Talk, or anything that starts with "Google" in its filename. Keep backups just in case.
     
    webyrd, blackdeath48 and kidthai like this.
  7. KUSHWRECK

    KUSHWRECK Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011

    Mar 29, 2011
    148
    18
    38
    $$
    CALIFORNIA
  8. kidthai

    kidthai Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    50
    2
    16
    Alrighty thanks!
     
  9. brayan31

    brayan31 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    31
    5
    16
    Lakeland
    Thanks guys that was fast :)
     
  10. Matlon

    Matlon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012

    Jan 13, 2012
    93
    2
    16
    This is great. Now, someone should make a custom rom =)
     
  11. brayan31

    brayan31 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    31
    5
    16
    Lakeland
    i cant get my phone to interact with the computer i have selected usb debugging and all the options in the connectivity area how did u guys do it?
     
  12. kidthai

    kidthai Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    50
    2
    16
    Did u install the LG Spectrum's drivers in your computer?
     
    firenemesis7 likes this.
  13. prodman

    prodman Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012

    Mar 3, 2012
    4
    1
    6
    So this is safe for the Lg connect 4glte (metro pcs)...just pumped out 4hundo on this dang thing don't want to Fk it up
     
  14. budde2

    budde2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    380
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011

    Dec 14, 2011
    380
    48
    43
    brandon fl
    I am waiting a while before i do anything cuz how the esteem was all fk up out the box
     
  15. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    you should do a google search for our names :p

    we like to get the ball rolling on phones that may not otherwise see any kind of dev love. myself and k0nane have been involved in the rooting/rom/cwming of a good number of phones. root is done, i have a test cwm that is available... however at this t ime with no return it makes it VERY risky in that you wont be able to get back to stock should something go amiss :/
     
    webyrd, matter0ni and flabinall like this.
  16. drylakebed

    drylakebed Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012

    Mar 3, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    I downloaded the spectrum_drivers.zip file and extracted this file: LG VZW_United_WHQL_v2.4.1.exe .
    That's great, but my LG Connect is on MetroPCS.
    Do you have a spectrum driver file for MetroPCS?
    thx.
     
  17. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    trust us the driver works, the one from lg doesnt
     
  18. drylakebed

    drylakebed Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012

    Mar 3, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    When I begin the run process on the Verizon executable, the first box states it's the Verizon app. I hit "cancel" to stop the installation at that point.

    Different network. Both are CDMA, but MetroPCS is a different network and I'm concerned that the Verizon LG Connect might have different Android OS tweaks than the MetroPCS LG Connect does.

    Did you create this .exe? If so, can you create one for MetroPCS LG Connects? Do you test on Connect phones from both operators?

    Looking to hear your thoughts...
    thx
     
  19. Rlwallace

    Rlwallace Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    May 15, 2011

    May 15, 2011
    37
    6
    16
    dallas/ fort worth
    Yes it works i have it on my Lg connect 4g from metro , it works flawlessly trust them and us when we say it works with no issues, i trusted them enough to take control over my pc to try and get this rolling but we couldnt get ADB to work luckly someone else showed up that could and then boom we had root ive already deleted 18 bloatware apps also nothing will go wrong with ur phone

     
  20. drylakebed

    drylakebed Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012

    Mar 3, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    this makes me nervous now;

    "...i trusted them enough to take control over my pc to try and get this rolling but we couldnt get ADB to work luckly someone else showed up that could and then boom we had root ive already deleted 18 bloatware apps also nothing will go wrong with ur phone...."

    Why did someone need to remotely access your pc to get this to work? Also, what if I don't have someone else to show up? Do I freeze my pc, or brick my phone?

    Can you clarify why you needed remote access to your pc to get this to work?

    Also, I'm assuming Gingerbreak doesn't work on this phone like it did on my last LG. Yes?
     
  21. Rlwallace

    Rlwallace Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    May 15, 2011

    May 15, 2011
    37
    6
    16
    dallas/ fort worth
    because they did not have the phone nor have they seen or messed with one yet what were they suppose to do magically make the exploit from scratch , they were gonna root my phone for me from my pc by doing their magic i watched everything they did and not once did i feel like they were doing something they should have not been , TRUST ME YOUR PHONE IS GONNA BE FINE , but do as you wish man keep the bloat if you like its your loss

     
  22. Rlwallace

    Rlwallace Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    May 15, 2011

    May 15, 2011
    37
    6
    16
    dallas/ fort worth
    the other person was able to get adb working which helped that is all i meant by that, he showed up in the irc channel
     
  23. kidthai

    kidthai Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    50
    2
    16
    Just follow their instructions. It works
     
  24. Jaredmh20

    Jaredmh20 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    Mar 4, 2012
    18
    6
    16
    Doesn't work for me.. it just stops on *Waiting for Device*

    Although the "Debugging" mode is grayed out when the USBs plugged in. That might be why isn't not working, but how do I check it?
     
  25. k0nane

    k0nane Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    803
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011

    Apr 8, 2011
    803
    779
    163
    Male
    I do stuff, with things
    127.0.0.1
    What rlwallace said has absolutely no connection to what you are going to do with what you see here. He was helping us test drivers and root methods.

    That's exactly why it's not working. As the instructions state, you have to check that box, which you can't do while it's plugged in.

    We are aware that the drivers have notes about Verizon in them. Trust us, they work for - and as of this time, are the ONLY drivers that work for - this device.
     
    drylakebed likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...