1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root questions

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by gdubmedia, Mar 26, 2010.

  1. gdubmedia

    gdubmedia Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    23
    0
    15
    Music/audio production and engineering, and artist
    Franklin, TN
    Hey all...I have my Hero rooted with Fresh 1.1. I love it, but I have a few questions for the future.

    1- I recently switched from a PC to a Mac. If I want to switch ROM's or go back to stock, can I do this on a mac? Or do I have to use a Windows pc?

    2- I was interested in switching from Fresh 1.1 to Fresh 2.0c, but I'm a bit confused. Do I have to go back to stock, then root and flash 2.0c? Or can I flash it on top of 1.1?

    Thanks!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. 702DROID

    702DROID Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    582
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

    Oct 9, 2009
    582
    22
    63
    NEVADA
  3. uminchu

    uminchu Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Oct 14, 2009
    525
    134
    93
    Fresh 2.0c currently has a glitch where, as posted, the superuser utility for root apps got left out, and there's a patch to put it back in. Also, the accelerometer isn't working. The patch to fix that kills Apps2SD, so either way will be a compromise. Check out DamageControl 1.0. Very stable, and everything works for me except Sprint VVM and landscaped home screens.

    You don't need to go back to stock, but you do need to wipe your data before flashing a from one OS version to another. It's a good practice to do a Nandroid backup, backup your SD card to your PC, and backup all your apps and data before you wipe. You can find backup apps in the market. ASTRO File manager will will back your apps up for free, but there are easier, more powerful options like Titanium backup (free version available, but the $4 version is infinitely better) and MyBackup Pro or Sprite Backup for your data (about 5 bucks each).
     
    gdubmedia likes this.
  4. mysticmead

    mysticmead Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,348
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    1,348
    175
    143
    Kingston, GA

    welcome to the forums..

    1- you can use a MAC to copy the ROM to the SD card. However, to RUU back to brand new out of the box condition, you have to use a windows PC. just run it in bootcamp or parallels

    2. To switch from Fresh 1.1 copy the ROM to the root of the sd card. boot into recovery. WIPE data. then flash the zip file (the ROM).. to go back to Fresh 1.1 repeat the process. Wiping Data does mean that ALL apps you have installed from the market are gone. ones you purchased will still show in the market under my downloads
     
  5. gdubmedia

    gdubmedia Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    23
    0
    15
    Music/audio production and engineering, and artist
    Franklin, TN
    Thanks guys, I appreciate the help.

    Uminchu: So....it's either I give up accelerometer, or I give up saving apps to the sd card, right? I would much rather have the accelerometer. lol

    and I have to wipe my data...so pretty much going back to stock to switch ROMs then, right?

    Sorry...I've gone the distance with tinkering, done as much as you can do without rooting, and I just dove in head first and are (am?) still learning. :)

    Thanks for the help!!
     
  6. gdubmedia

    gdubmedia Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    23
    0
    15
    Music/audio production and engineering, and artist
    Franklin, TN
    Okay...gotcha. So since I'm already rooted, I can transfer the zip file to the phone, then flash and everything from the phone itself. Gotcha....I think. ha ha ha
     
  7. uminchu

    uminchu Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Oct 14, 2009
    525
    134
    93
    You could flash DamageControl and have both.

    Wiping your data might sound the same as going back to stock in the sense that all your apps, contacts, pics, and user data are gone, but that's not really the case. You're still rooted, your Nandroid backups are still there, and you can still boot into recovery and restore your phone back to any of them.

    Running the RUU utility returns your phone back to the same internal state as when you first took it out of the box; Android 1.5, Sense, no data, original apps and sprint bloat, slow and laggy, with your warranty intact. The top sticky thread with the FAQ and tutorial explains all this much better than I can.

    PS - We is all still learning :cool:
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...