1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Root [Root][R910/R915] One Click Root for Samsung Galaxy Indulge :: OUTDATED USE AIO OUTDATED :: 4/10/11

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by k0nane, Apr 10, 2011.

  1. k0nane

    k0nane Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    803
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011

    Apr 8, 2011
    803
    779
    163
    Male
    I do stuff, with things
    127.0.0.1
    One Click Root for the Samsung Galaxy Indulge
    Fully working, includes Superuser


    THIS IS OUTDATED! Use the ALL IN ONE ROOT AND CWM.

    About

    Greetings, Indulge users! After quite a bit of troubleshooting, poking around, and a few logcats, INC and I have got a full root package for you. There were several roadblocks along the way, most importantly that something appears to be interfering with the install of Superuser specifically, whether by signature or by package name.

    We've bypassed that. Included in this package is a modified, recompiled, resigned version of Superuser, along with a matching recompiled su binary. This has been tested on three devices, and is guaranteed to work.

    How To Install

    This package will automagically install the su binary, Superuser, and an updated Busybox to your device. To use it:

    1. Extract the contents of the zip to a folder
    2. Put your device in USB Debugging mode (Settings > Applications > Development)
    3. Connect your device to USB
    4. Double-click run.bat

    And that's it! You'll be rooted.

    Downloads
    We do not use file hosts with waiting times!

    Download One-Click Root
    Download One-Click Root (mirror)


    FAQ

    Q: My antivirus thinks this is a virus!
    A: What your AV is detecting is Rage Against The Cage, the exploit that's used to root your phone. It's an Android exploit, and cannot harm your PC. Turn your AV off.

    Q: My phone is connected, but it says it's not!
    A: Make sure your device is in USB Debugging mode.

    Credits


    • Silvist: generous donation of remote access time during the development process
    • noobnl, Firon, joeykrim: Original one-click batch file for Epic 4G


    Donations

    This is not, and will never be donationware. However, I and others have put several late nights into this - and it's only the beginning! Your generosity - if you feel like showing it - is deeply appreciated! Note: Please PM me if you donate! Thanks!

    [​IMG]

     

    Advertisement

  2. k0nane

    k0nane Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    803
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011

    Apr 8, 2011
    803
    779
    163
    Male
    I do stuff, with things
    127.0.0.1
    P-O-S-T :: R-E-S-E-R-V-E-D
    ...for future use.
     
    1jharper0 and indulge like this.
  3. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    WHOOOOO sexin me up k0 ;P

    http://tinyurl.com/3l4gt72

    please use this new version, its updated. it will now ask if you want to root or unroot extensive testing has been done thanks to miketoolz
     
  4. Silvist

    Silvist Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010

    Dec 23, 2010
    370
    113
    68
    Student
    San Francisco, CA
    FTW woooo go go:

    [​IMG]
     
  5. k0nane

    k0nane Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    803
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011

    Apr 8, 2011
    803
    779
    163
    Male
    I do stuff, with things
    127.0.0.1
    ;)
     
  6. Vance Fox

    Vance Fox Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011

    Apr 10, 2011
    128
    25
    43
    $25 sent. Thank you again.
     
  7. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    :O
     
  8. k0nane

    k0nane Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    803
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011

    Apr 8, 2011
    803
    779
    163
    Male
    I do stuff, with things
    127.0.0.1
    Anyone who has downloaded this before this post, please redownload and reuse - there's a minor update to the remount script. It makes no difference unless you call the script yourself, but you should probably have it anyway.
     
  9. ciper

    ciper Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011

    Mar 31, 2011
    368
    83
    53
    I wanted to ask - Is there any specific caveats to applying this before (or after) MikesToolz old bloatware and partial root script? I don't think there would be but it doesnt help to ask for others sakes.

    Edit: If you're sure the device is in debugging mode and the script still doesn't detect it try another USB port. I was having trouble with mine. It showed the USB icon and little Android icon on the phone but when I checked device manager it wasnt there.
     
  10. sookieball

    sookieball Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010

    Dec 24, 2010
    164
    18
    38
    Wooohoooo thanks guys! I posted this link on prepaidandroids.net for those indulgers to come over and thank u guys for this.
    Hope u folks dont mind.
    I also asked them if they can and feel as thankful as i do
    To donate for ur magic!


    Edit: woops ill change the link to go to this thread. My bad
     
  11. k0nane

    k0nane Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    803
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011

    Apr 8, 2011
    803
    779
    163
    Male
    I do stuff, with things
    127.0.0.1
    Nope - this script will clean up the mess that any old root attempts have left behind.


    We certainly don't mind - feel free to link it anywhere! :) EDIT: But please link here, and not to 'development thread'.
     
    sookieball likes this.
  12. italianpnoy112

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011

    Apr 11, 2011
    17
    1
    36
    Male
    Student at the University of Southern California
    Los Angeles, CA
    Thank you! Finally this phone is getting the attention that was much needed! I'm in debt to you guys and as soon as I receive my next paycheck I'm putting up my donation :)
     
  13. isujoy

    isujoy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    54
    9
    16
    Computer Consultant
    Boynton Beach, Florida
    Hi, I'm very new to this. I just downloaded the file and follow all the instructions.

    How do i know if the phone is fully rooted.

    This is what the script said on my screen.

    k0nane and the Android Creative Syndicate present


    ::: :::
    ::: One Click Root for the Samsung Galaxy Indulge :::
    ::: :::


    Original script by Firon, noobnl, joeykrim
    for the Samsung Epic 4G




    Press any key to continue . . .
    * daemon not running. starting it now *
    * daemon started successfully *
    Copying and running the exploit (may take up to two minutes). Ignore messages ab
    out re-logging in.
    If more than five minutes pass, reboot the phone and try again.
    cannot open 'rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin': No such file or directory
    0 KB/s (43 bytes in 0.057s)
    Wait for phone to reconnect...
    Root was not obtained after 60 seconds. Make sure the phone is connected and tha
    t adb is working. If adb shell isn't root, reboot the phone and try the script a
    gain.
    Press any key to continue . . .
    Mount system as r/w, cleanup old files, do some basic configuration
    mount: Operation not permitted
    19 KB/s (4834 bytes in 0.240s)
    /data/local/tmp/rootsetup: cannot create /system/etc/resolv.conf: read-only file
    system
    /data/local/tmp/rootsetup: cannot create /system/etc/resolv.conf: read-only file
    system
    Copying files onto phone...
    failed to copy 'su' to '/system/xbin/su': Read-only file system
    failed to copy 'rootperm.apk' to '/system/app/rootperm.apk': Read-only file syst
    em
    failed to copy 'busybox' to '/system/xbin/busybox': Read-only file system
    failed to copy 'remount' to '/system/xbin/remount': Read-only file system
    Setting permissions...
    Unable to chmod /system/xbin/busybox: No such file or directory
    Unable to chmod /system/xbin/remount: No such file or directory
    Unable to chmod /system/xbin/su: No such file or directory
    Unable to chmod /system/xbin/su: No such file or directory
    link failed File exists
    Installing busybox...
    /system/xbin/busybox: not found
    Rebooting phone...
    Cleaning up files...
    Press any key to exit the script.
    Press any key to continue . . .

    Thanks!!:)
     
  14. MikesTooLz

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010

    Nov 24, 2010
    547
    157
    113
    Computer Tech
    Miami, Florida
  15. MikesTooLz

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010

    Nov 24, 2010
    547
    157
    113
    Computer Tech
    Miami, Florida
    do you have USB debugging enabled?
     
  16. isujoy

    isujoy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    54
    9
    16
    Computer Consultant
    Boynton Beach, Florida
    Yes I did. I went to Settings - Applications - Development - And I enable USB Debugging.

    I was missing one step. I enable Allow mock locations and it worked.

    Thanks mike!!!!!
     
  17. n4zty

    n4zty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,302
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    4,302
    1,700
    313
    Male
  18. MikesTooLz

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010

    Nov 24, 2010
    547
    157
    113
    Computer Tech
    Miami, Florida
    yes you can just run it agian.

    It will ask you to enter yes/no for each app. remove the ones you want or all of them if thats what you want to do. Some people in the past stated they didn't want to remove them all. With the exception of the Iron Man movie app you should be able to install any of the removed apps through Metros own App Store.

    Metro should have made it like this to begin with. Load their app store on the phone and let us choose the apps we want on the phone, not force these apps on us.
     
    ccnemrod likes this.
  19. confed

    confed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,076
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011

    Apr 9, 2011
    1,076
    377
    183
    Male
    Philly
    So I just got my first android, the indulge on friday and followed mike directions to remove the bloatware, which i hate. What advantages does a normal, first time user of android gain by using this full root? Will I have more options on the programs? Right now the only thing bugging me is that my email goes to my gmail app and another email app that i cant disable. If this is in the wrong thread, i apologize
     
  20. tiede

    tiede Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,494
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    1,494
    522
    213
    Male
    curious, aren't we?
    Orlando, Fl
    I am not sure think free office is in metro's app store. I'll check and confirm if no one else does by the end of the day. Can't do it atm...

    Also, is it me, or k0nan's update to su this morning killed my superuser's rooting goodness?
    It was fine last night, but now I don't even see the prompt when an asp asks for su anymore...
     
  21. MikesTooLz

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010

    Nov 24, 2010
    547
    157
    113
    Computer Tech
    Miami, Florida
    only change from my old root/bloatware script is that this one is a little more userfreindly (no messing up if you click away from it, and its all in one script) also it add's a working SuperUser app. This means you will be prompted any time a new app is requesting root access. You can then grant the app root access or deny the app root access. K0nane cleaned up some things the old root did so its a good idea to run the new one click root.


    for your issues with both email apps getting the notifications. go into the app your not using and under settings turn off the notifications. You then only get notifications from the app your using.
     
    confed likes this.
  22. MikesTooLz

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010

    Nov 24, 2010
    547
    157
    113
    Computer Tech
    Miami, Florida
    are you trying new apps that require root? By default the SuperUser has the option checked off to always remember your choice for that app. So it will ask you once for each app.
     
  23. confed

    confed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,076
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011

    Apr 9, 2011
    1,076
    377
    183
    Male
    Philly
    Thanks for the tips mike. Just rooted the phone and got CPU tuner to see what I can mess around with to get this battery where i want it. I'll make a thread in a few days with my experience.
     
  24. n4zty

    n4zty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,302
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    4,302
    1,700
    313
    Male
    ok metro studio is still there and metro mail ive tried twice with ur version root and in the box it ask me if i wanna remove it i press yes and it says directory isnt found but the first time i ran it found it and removed it but the funny thing its still on my phone. just a noob question was i suppose restart and remove the battery? i mean everything worked even have the superuser app installed but them two app are being a pain.
     
  25. MikesTooLz

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010

    Nov 24, 2010
    547
    157
    113
    Computer Tech
    Miami, Florida
    Remove the battery for 30 seconds and see if it shows up when you reboot.
     

Share This Page

Loading...