1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root/ROM/Sense UI

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Wiskid, Jan 13, 2010.

  1. Wiskid

    Wiskid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    189
    5
    36
    Network Engineer
    Madison, Wi
    Do custom ROMs (Fresh, etc) run faster than the stock ROM with Sense UI??

    Is this the main benefit to rooting -- Faster ROMs?
     

    Advertisement

  2. vido.ardes

    vido.ardes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,059
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    1,059
    200
    163
    Software Developer
    Kent, UK
    In short yes. But it's debatable if it's worth the hassle. To be honest unless you are really unhappy with your phone, I woudl wait until HTC release an offical update, and see what that it like first.
     
  3. shadrap

    shadrap Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    293
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009

    Oct 18, 2009
    293
    272
    88
    I have had my Hero since release, I can tell you 100% it is worth rooting. It is faster in every aspect. Rooting is not that hard. Just follow the guide. It will literally take you 10 minutes.
     
  4. myke66

    myke66 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    33
    4
    16
    Its not debatable its absolutely worth it.Rooting and installing a custom rom makes your phone dramatically faster as well as giving it extra features. As far as the hassle goes the whole process takes maybe 10 minutes.
     
  5. myke66

    myke66 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    33
    4
    16
    wow i didnt read this before posting, you nailed it
     
  6. Mauddib

    Mauddib Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    58
    7
    16
    Heck download the pre Kitchen from geekfor.me and use the auto root function. And yes it is well worth rooting. Not only is it faster but I have fun just playing around with different things you can do. Plus you can flash a semi working 2.1 and play around with that.
     
  7. dkokkos

    dkokkos Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    49
    0
    15
    Student
    Riverside, CA
    i could root my phone but no camera right? which is the rom do you suggest that will have everything working for me?
     
  8. n0gik

    n0gik Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    71
    0
    15
    Networking/IT Professional
    Stranded in Iowa
    Root it with Pre-kitchen. Literally only minutes to do it. Actually takes longer to reboot than to root. Once you have the 1.5.2 recovery image (and running) you can use Nandroid to backup. Geek For Me – Android CDMA Sprint Hero

    With Nandroid backup, you could try most all of the available ROM choices and pretty much revert to a previously saved ROM at any time. Just make sure you have plenty of /sdcard available. May also want to copy the Nandroid backups out to a host PC.

    You'll still have your camera after you root. Depending on what ROM you run, camera functions are generally support. If you see problems tho - you can always do a restore from Recovery and Nandroid. Look for QuickBoot in the market too as it makes starting Recovery pretty simple.

    Hope this helps. :)
     
  9. jvoegele

    jvoegele Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    Oct 22, 2009
    17
    8
    16
    Your phone camera will not function if you install one of the beta "Eclair" ROMs, which are based on Android 2.1. There are also some other functions, such as multi-touch, that do not work with the beta Eclair ROMs.

    However, if you choose one of the ROMs based on the standard Sprint/HTC 1.5 base, then everything should function properly including camera, etc. Rooting your phone and installing Fresh 1.1 or MoDaCo 2.0 will improve performance of your phone, and add some functionality that you cannot currently get with the stock firmware, such as WiFi tethering. You could then also remove some of the stock Sprint or HTC apps if you wish, such as the Sprint Nascar app or the HTC Stocks app.

    I tried both Fresh 1.1 and MoDaCo 2.0. In the end, I chose to go with MoDaCo since it is closer to the original firmware whereas Fresh includes the new "Espresso" version of the Sense UI, which seems half-baked and I personally do not care for.
     
  10. NoNeck

    NoNeck Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    47
    0
    15
    North San Diego
    I have had my Hero for about 2 months now and think I'm ready to take that plunge into rooting it, but I have one question. How do you back up your phone in case something goes wrong or if i have to take it to the Sprint Store for any reason? Thanks in advance for any help.
     
  11. BSki

    BSki Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    249
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    249
    2
    36
    Read more read more read more. Asked and answered many times over.
     
  12. Wiskid

    Wiskid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    189
    5
    36
    Network Engineer
    Madison, Wi
    Thanks for the replies, guys. I think I'll take the plunge...
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...