1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Root/ROMs on a Mac

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bugdog, Mar 11, 2010.

  1. Bugdog

    Bugdog Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    132
    6
    56
    Chicago
    Hey all -

    First of all, I really appreciate the community we have here, and all the work that the more adept members (I'm lookin at you BH_MAN, among others) have done to help people get the most out of their phones. I'm hoping someone can help me make the jump to rooting, etc., because I haven't been able to get there myself. This is my first Android phone, my only computer is an intel Macbook (2006), and I've never been very sophisticated about tech - the closest I've come to doing something like this is wiping a blackberry to reinstall/update that OS. Is there anyone that can post a step-by-step root tutorial for dummies with a Mac? I tried and failed to follow the myhangoutonline tutorial; I couldn't tell if I was doing it right so I quit rather than brick my phone. Most of the threads on here seem to assume that one is already familiar with adb and ODIN, among others, but I'm not. I may have missed something here on the forums, and I apologize if I'm irritatingly ignorant, but I would really appreciate it if anyone can point me in the right direction (even to another thread that I missed). Thanks in advance - I really just want the lovely stock Android on this beautiful piece of hardware. (and no diner dash or telenav - I don't have to worry about the other games b/c no update for me) :D
     

    Advertisement

  2. Bugdog

    Bugdog Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    132
    6
    56
    Chicago
    Okay, first issue - SDK says it requires OSX 10.5.8 or later, which I don't have ... Searching for some kind of work-around or older SDK version, if anyone knows anything I would appreciate some help!
     
  3. chadmd23

    chadmd23 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    530
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    530
    57
    78
    NYC
    Download Google Android SDK for Mac - Preview the next development kit for Google MacUpdate Mac Software Downloads

    Found this site with an older version of the SDK it looks like. Use google to find older versions, it looks like the newest version of the tools also had the version bump.
     
    Bugdog likes this.
  4. oquinones

    oquinones Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    26
    4
    16
    I would also like to see a tutorial for rooting / flashing the Behold 2 on the Mac. It is my primary computer and don't have a PC to get it done... Many thanks for all of your guys' hard work.
     
  5. Nu11u5

    Nu11u5 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    263
    234
    88
    IT Customer Support
    Rolla, MO, USA
    You will be able to use ADB in MacOS X, but not flash. The program Odin is used for flashing and is closed source and only available on Windows.

    You best bet would be either find a friend with a PC you could borrow, setup BootCamp, or try to see if ADB will work in a virtual machine like VirtualBox.
     
    Bugdog likes this.
  6. mmandros

    mmandros Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    84
    12
    18
    Project Manager
    Roanoke VA
    I use Parallels Desktop on my Macbook. Works fine. I also have bootcamp but I haven't used it in quite a while since the more recent version of Parallels does a great job of USB sharing. Early on there were some drivers that didn't quite work in the vm environment so I booted into Bootcamp.
     
    Bugdog likes this.
  7. Bugdog

    Bugdog Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    132
    6
    56
    Chicago
    Thanks for that input, guys - I do have a copy of XP floating around, but it's floating around about 1000 miles away in my hometown of DC. I think, at least for now, I will wait until I'm back there in May and have my brother help me - he's a Linux genius, running 2.1 on his G1. With his help I will learn to do whatever I can on my Mac and/or get Windows on here; for anyone else who's interested, I will def post any progress I make once I get there - but it's going to be about 6 more weeks. Thanks again!
     

Share This Page

Loading...