1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[ROOT} root not happening with no SN

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Lostsorrow, Jan 11, 2012.

  1. Lostsorrow

    Lostsorrow Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    105
    32
    43
    I void warranties, Team Wookie Member
    In the shadows behind a keyboard
    After much research it seems as if somehow I ended up with a german prime running US software. The results in the image below match what other people have been posting on XDA. There is no serial number encoded into the tablet which will turn into a fun call with Asus later. (will update with results) It seems if you are in the boat I am in root is not achievable. If there has been any progress to those with the same situation please post. I am including a screen shot of what I get when using viperboys root tool version 2. When I try to root using the normal nachoroot method I get permission denials. Seems that you should only get Uid and Gid to pop up if you have a rootable version, not all this extra stuff. I am running version US_Epad8.8.3.33 Any ideas other then return it ????

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement

  2. Lostsorrow

    Lostsorrow Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    105
    32
    43
    I void warranties, Team Wookie Member
    In the shadows behind a keyboard
    UPDATE: No SN means no root, No OTA ever, just a bunch of future headaches. Tablet is going back to Asus today. The only way to get the serial number back in the kernal is to ship it back to Asus, they will pay for shipping. Will update in 2 weeks when I get it back hopefully.
     
  3. youngnex

    youngnex Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011

    Sep 13, 2011
    141
    51
    53
    Florida
    did you follow the instructions on killing the sync and the slash app?
     
  4. Lostsorrow

    Lostsorrow Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    105
    32
    43
    I void warranties, Team Wookie Member
    In the shadows behind a keyboard
    Yes. it still did not work. Lools like i ended up with one of the german builds that were being discussed over on xda. I already shipped it back to Asus so will update when i get it back.
     
  5. youngnex

    youngnex Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011

    Sep 13, 2011
    141
    51
    53
    Florida
    There is a new exploit on XDA if you havent sent it in to ASUS you can try.
     

Share This Page

Loading...