1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Root through Mac

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Hagibor Chayil, Aug 5, 2011.

  1. Hagibor Chayil

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    4
    0
    25
    Ok, so I just got my Samsung DROID Charge yesterday, I like it a ton, great battery life, maybe I am the only one, IDK, but I took it out of the box with a 70% charge, went to work and it lasted me 20 hours with moderate-heavy internet (wi-fi) use.

    Now I am in the market for rooting. I have read a ton of posts about it and have but one question.

    Is all of this stuff available for a Mac? I just moved and dont yet have internet in my new place so my desktop PC is just sitting around without internet and I am currently sitting at a WiFi Hotspot near my house with my MacBook...
    So for the time being, I would be using a Mac.

    Thanks,

    PS, can I say that I really like the fact that when I typed in the title to my post it came up with a list of similar threads, what a brilliant feature I haven't ever seen of a forum before. hopefully it actually cuts back on reposts. as far as the 4 options go that came up for me, none really helped.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. birthofahero

    birthofahero Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    442
    81
    53
    I too would like to know this.
     
  3. Hagibor Chayil

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    4
    0
    25
    Well even though it has only been 23 hours I decided I wanted to try and Root my Charge. A lot of the files, esp ODIN is an exe, which is native for Windows and as far as I can tell won't run on a mac. unless you partition Windows into a section of the HDD. or spend some money on something that does close to that. I am still looking but so far that is what I have.
    Will edit if I find anything else


    **EDIT**
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=805300
    This is what I could find on XDA... I dont really want to go through those troubles on my old macbook. so I will get everything transferred over to my desktop tonight and hope that they dont require internet access.
     
  4. Turb0wned

    Turb0wned Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    22
    0
    15
    Man, easiest way, just install vmware and install windows on your mac, thats what I did.
     
  5. birthofahero

    birthofahero Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    442
    81
    53
    Just seems silly to install windows just for root. Although, I used to have windows on my Mac just for monkey Island games.
     
  6. Turb0wned

    Turb0wned Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    22
    0
    15
    Well your going to probably have to use windows alot on mac if you plan on keeping Samsung devices.
     
  7. birthofahero

    birthofahero Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    442
    81
    53
    Ya, i guess your right. I'm stuck between rooting now or when GB comes out because the dev community will more than likely explode
     

Share This Page

Loading...