• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Root/Unroot for Mac?

brlebu

Jun 7, 2010
I apologize if this has been posted before. I'm new to the whole smartphone thing, and I can't seem to find this information...

Is there a "one-click" root/unroot method available for Mac users? I've come across a couple of website that mention Mac options for rooting, but none of them seem to have an option for unrooting. And since I'm new to this, I want to have an option available if I screw up rooting somehow.

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Thanks for the reply.

I actually found that a few minutes after I posted this topic and tried it out. But no luck. I got this error:

! Error
!
! You must extract the entire contents of the zip file and then run this script
! from the directory where the zip was extracted.

I followed a link from Pete's site to RootzWiki and read a few dozen pages of the thread there, but couldn't figure anything out.

I'm running OS 10.6.8 on my Mac and I've got system version 5.6.890 on my Droid 3.

Upvote 0
Sounds like you need to unzip and extract the file to a folder using a zip file extractor for Mac. Then run it from that folder.

Figured it out last night. I was dragging and dropping the .sh file from the unzipped folder to Terminal. Turns out I needed to point Terminal to that folder (cd [folder directory]) before it would work.

Now I'm rooted and I've frozen all bloatware with Titanium Backup!

Thanks for the reply!

Upvote 0
Has anyone been able to unroot their Droid 3 using a Mac? I was a little overanxious to root my phone, and haven't been successful in figuring out how to unroot.