1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Root with z4root

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DaTexter, Dec 19, 2010.

1. DaTexter

DaTexter Newbie
    None

Nov 29, 2010
    California
    I want to root my Ascend by using Z4root so i can get wireless tether however i don't want to mess anything up seeing as this is my first time rooting. So my Question is what should i do before rooting? I've been looking around threads like crazy and I've read about backing up a Recovery Image and using Titanium Backup to back up the stock applications but I haven't actually done anything because I don't know how to do it. Can someone lend me a hand?

Advertisement

2. rp1030

rp1030 Newbie
    None

Sep 23, 2010
    Z4 root should be risk free, I did mine with no worries.
    just make sure you have a good amount of battery left, or do it on a charger.

That's just what I think though, others may have different opinions or recommendations.

3. DaTexter

DaTexter Newbie
    None

Nov 29, 2010
    California
    Well it worked like a charm, however i did have a complication. after Z4root rooted mu phone i attempted to connect to my wifi router and i got nothing. I couldn't turn on the wifi option on the phone at all once i push the button the letters grey out and i can't do nothing. what should i do? reroot? or unroot and then root again?

4. Ascendedx

Ascendedx Newbie
    None

Dec 7, 2010
    Android Enthusiast
    Android Land
    DaTexter, I've actually had somewhat of the same experience, except i was toying around with barnacle and somehow or another when i went to enable wifi, I got the same thing. I simply flashed the recovery rom for the ascend and everything was fine, once again. You can find the recovery rom here:

Custom and Recovery ROM’s | Android News and Updates, Android Guides, and More!

But use only if you have the cricket version of the ascend, im currently seeking the metroPCS version.

Hope this helps,

CheerZ!