1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root without flashing another ROM?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DroidJnkie, Dec 23, 2009.

  1. DroidJnkie

    DroidJnkie Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    347
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009

    Hi everyone!

    I just had a quick question. I just got a Moto Droid and am interested in rooting. I'm not a genius in this area, but I'm not a moron either. I can follow step-by-step instructions with the best of them.

    I just wanted to know if I can root without flashing a custom ROM onto it afterwards? All I want to do at this point is be able to delete stock apps that I don't want and will never use, and be able to run apps from my SD card.

    That brings up another point. If I run apps from my SD card, does it slow down the performance of the app?

    Any advice will be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Rooting and flashing are two entirely different things. My DROID is rooted, but I have yet to flash.
     
  3. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    Can you install/run apps from SD on the Droid at this point? Hadn't heard that was available yet.
     
  4. jeepguy_1980

    jeepguy_1980 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    111
    0
    35

    I too left my phone rooted for about a week before I flashed anything to my phone.

    I didn't flash anything to my phone until yesterday. There are really only two flashes worth trying at this point and for each nice/cool feature they add, they add 2 quirks.

    There are other great things you can do without flashing, i.e. screen captures
     
  5. DroidJnkie

    DroidJnkie Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    347
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009


    So does that mean that you can uninstall annoying stock apps and still have the stock home screens/interface that came on your Droid when you first bought it??
     
  6. DroidJnkie

    DroidJnkie Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    347
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009

    Can you elaborate, please? Which 2 flashes? What nice features, and what quirks have you noticed?
     
  7. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Yes. The easiest, and most reversible thing to do is simply change the name of the stock apps. They reside in the /system/app folder. Below is little HowTo.


    Removing Amazon MP3, Visual Voicemail, Multimedia Dock, and Corporate Calender.

    Using Terminal Emulator, type the following:

    su

    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system

    cd /system/app

    mv VVMStub.apk VVMStub.bak

    mv com.amazon.mp3.apk com.amazon.mp3.bak

    mv CorpCal.apk CorpCal.bak

    mv Dock.apk Dock.bak

    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system

    sync
    reboot


    The above is performed on the DROID using an app called "Terminal Emulator".

    If you ever want to "reinstall" a stock app, just change the name from .bak to .apk. Voil
     
  8. DroidJnkie

    DroidJnkie Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    347
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009

     
  9. youllberad

    youllberad Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    14
    0
    15
    To reinstall the apps the switching back from bak to apk didn't work and I ended up bricking phone trying to unroot it
     
  10. DroidJnkie

    DroidJnkie Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    347
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009

    what??? Woah. Glad I didn't try that!

    You mean your phone is totally BRICKED?

    Meaning, completely unusable?? :eek:
     
  11. jeepguy_1980

    jeepguy_1980 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    111
    0
    35

    AllDroid has the two flashes and all of their bugs.
     
  12. MisterEff

    MisterEff Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    366
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    366
    9
    56
    Do you mean 2.1 and the milestone 2.0?
     
  13. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,940
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    2,940
    564
    213
    Real Estate Agent
    M A dub'l dolla sign
    Then you did something wrong.
     
  14. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Werd! I read this so I went in and renamed CarDock.bak to CarDock.apk and rebooted. Reinstalled, worked, and DROID not bricked. :cool:
     
  15. jeepguy_1980

    jeepguy_1980 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    111
    0
    35
    Yes, those are the only two mainstream roms worth trying that I'm aware of. There may be others, but I haven't hear about them.
     

Share This Page

Loading...