1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Root woot!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Thwip, Feb 17, 2012.

  1. Thwip

    Thwip Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    26
    3
    16
    retired
    Southern NJ

    Advertisement

  2. Thwip

    Thwip Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    26
    3
    16
    retired
    Southern NJ
    Works like a charm! :)
     
  3. AntimonyER

    AntimonyER AF Addict
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    13,646
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    13,646
    8,004
    1,343
    Statesboro, GA
    Hey, I am moving this to the All Things Root Section, thanks for understanding. :)
     
  4. Peccator

    Peccator Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    17
    0
    35
    SoCal, U.S.A.
    This hasn't worked for me after three tries. I get all kinds of fail/error messages on the black screen there.

    My tablet's only a couple of weeks old. I wonder what's wrong...
     
  5. jwest06

    jwest06 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011

    Sep 13, 2011
    18
    7
    16
    Constultant
    Atlanta
    Are you running ICS? (4.0.4) This method was designed for a prior release.
     
  6. Peccator

    Peccator Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    17
    0
    35
    SoCal, U.S.A.
    Yes, I'm running ICS. That's what came with the tablet. I'll look for a fresher version of the method.

    (Sorry I responded after so long; I guess I lost a little hope soon after not receiving a quicker answer.)
     
  7. kevdvd

    kevdvd Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    3
    2
    6
    I downloaded and rooted per first post above and it works PERFECTLY. I did try wifi tethering but it didn't go through. Then I downloaded and installed foxfi and foxfi addon (this addon has to install along with the foxfi app) from Google play.
    I also use 4G active simcard that I currently use with my Droid Razr Maxx HD from Verizon then plug it into the Xyboard and it works perfectly, signal receptions HELL strong as it should.
    I also installed App Quanrantine and OTA RootKeeper apps from Google play
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  8. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Which apps have you deleted or quarantined?

    I'm about ready to root my DROID XYBOARD 10.1,but,still hold out hope that MOTOROLA will update to JELLYBEAN.

    I know, I know Don't laugh TOOOOO HARD. I'll probably see SASQUATCH before I see an official JELLYBEAN update.... :D
     
  9. kevdvd

    kevdvd Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    3
    2
    6
    i use quarantine app to quarantine that I don't need like vcast, verizon navigation, verizon video, in general those bloatwares that I think NOT neccessary for me
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  10. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:


    Definitely anything VZW, I have no use for any of their apps. As for the MOTOROLA apps,I know there's at least one that you can't quarantine/disable, w/o affecting the email &/or G-MAIL apps.
    Can't remember which one it was, but, it'd be easy enough to figure out.
    I'll BRB, gonna take a look & see which one it was that gave me issues when disabled......
    Edit:

    I believe it was MotoEmailConfig.
     
  11. PrinceCorwin

    PrinceCorwin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    961
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012

    Oct 23, 2012
    961
    266
    123
    Male
    Welder
    Houston, TX
    New xyboard user. Anyone know about custom ROMs for a rooted xyboard 10.1?
     
  12. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Other than root access,there isn't much,if anything to be found for the XYBOARD.You could try your luck @ XDA-DEVELOPERS or XOOMFORUMS.
     
    PrinceCorwin likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...