1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Root Zte warp elite N5918

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by HDguy181, Oct 16, 2015.

  1. deansouth8

    deansouth8 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    36
    4
    16
    Did anyone confirm this works and can confirm the validity of the comment there that the system partition is write protected unless you are booted from recovery? When you do this then what happens when you try to mount system r/w in recovery or FTM mode from ADB when connected to a PC?
     

    Advertisement

  2. iamjohnm

    iamjohnm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015

    Nov 15, 2015
    106
    29
    53
    Male
    Earth
    No the bootloader is locked
     
  3. coolbeans2015

    coolbeans2015 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015

    Jan 27, 2015
    131
    42
    63
    Male
    Multi-Tasking :-)
    Atlanta, GA
    Incredible, this phone is actually going down in the non-root pile.............. seriously??!!!!!!!!​
     
  4. Millertime904

    Millertime904 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    53
    3
    16
    Male
    Unempolyed
    Cape Coral, FL
    I have temp root
     
  5. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    7,054
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    7,054
    5,609
    1,063
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Seriously. The Warp Sync & Zmax are pretty much the last Rootable ZTE devices available.. For now. We can probably thank Boost Mobile for that one.
     
  6. Millertime904

    Millertime904 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    53
    3
    16
    Male
    Unempolyed
    Cape Coral, FL
    I can get temp root with Kingo Root PC but when I restart my phone it goes away
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Millertime904

    Millertime904 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    53
    3
    16
    Male
    Unempolyed
    Cape Coral, FL
    I can get temp root with Kingo Root PC but when I restart my phone it goes away
     
  8. Millertime904

    Millertime904 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    53
    3
    16
    Male
    Unempolyed
    Cape Coral, FL
    That's not true I had a zte prestige that I had prem root on
     

    Attached Files:

    bcrichster likes this.
  9. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    7,054
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    7,054
    5,609
    1,063
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Perma Root?
     
  10. Millertime904

    Millertime904 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    53
    3
    16
    Male
    Unempolyed
    Cape Coral, FL
    Yes
     
  11. 01011111

    01011111 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016

    Jun 26, 2016
    2
    0
    15
    Ohio
    So this phone is so buttcheaks with all the bloatware on it and all the uneeded stuff on it. But temp root is better than no root. I guess
     
  12. GrimGrem

    GrimGrem Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    May 28, 2015

    May 28, 2015
    36
    7
    26
    You can disable most of these by going into settings>apps.
     
  13. Millertime904

    Millertime904 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    53
    3
    16
    Male
    Unempolyed
    Cape Coral, FL
    Ok I got temp root by doing Kingoroot on PC and installing supersu deleting kingoroot superuser app. Now I'm trying to update supersu binary and I'm having a issue doing it.
     
  14. _n6

    _n6 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016

    Jul 8, 2016
    1
    0
    15
    New user here. Been lurking this thread for a while hoping someone would have success.

    I tried the Kingo Root program on my PC. It said that root was successful, but I couldn't uninstall any bloatware from my phone.
     
  15. coolbeans2015

    coolbeans2015 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015

    Jan 27, 2015
    131
    42
    63
    Male
    Multi-Tasking :-)
    Atlanta, GA
    My brother has this phone in another city. Trying to help him out with root. If there is no kdz available, would be suicide to try substituting cfroot for temp.............
     
  16. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    7,054
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    7,054
    5,609
    1,063
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    This is a ZTE device.. No .kdz available since the .kdz files are LG only [emoji41]
     
  17. Millertime904

    Millertime904 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    53
    3
    16
    Male
    Unempolyed
    Cape Coral, FL
    If we can get reboot disemmcwp to work on this device we can get full root.
     
  18. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    7,054
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    7,054
    5,609
    1,063
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    I read somewhere it has to do with the type of bootloader lock..

    Edit: as far as Rooting is concerned
     
    #368 bcrichster, Jul 9, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2016
    Cammers1995 likes this.
  19. Cammers1995

    Cammers1995 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016

    Jul 11, 2016
    2
    0
    15
    Male
    If someone could finally manage to break this bullshit bootloader lock zte has for the newer phones it could pave the way to get the maven and other zte "unrootable" phones to be rooted.
     
  20. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    7,054
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    7,054
    5,609
    1,063
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Boost don't want us to have access to a recovery to do what we want
     
  21. Cammers1995

    Cammers1995 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016

    Jul 11, 2016
    2
    0
    15
    Male
    Another great reason this phone should be available through somewhere else. Boost has been trying this with other handsets too. The warp elite is a very good phone. I wish someone could figure this out. Can anyone confirm if the temp root allows removal of the bloatware? I want boost zone permanently purged.
     
  22. deansouth8

    deansouth8 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    36
    4
    16
    Nope no access to /system partition. However I was able to remount "/" as read write so looking for something to get excited about. /sbin is in the $PATH and made some things execute from there apparently as root, as soon as your reboot /sbin goes back to default as well as sever other changes I made. I kept having to move su back to /sbin in order to keep useing it in an extremely limited fashion.

    So no ability to remove Facebook or the Yahoo Contacts app. There is some kind of lock on that /system partition along with others or just the entire phone. I would go as far as saying it was a special lock of some kind. Annoying.
     
  23. deansouth8

    deansouth8 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    36
    4
    16
    Likely because they are concerned about security holes in their network and fear root access could bleed over to reveal what their default ROM and apps really are capable of and lead to bad things for them. I can't necessarily blame them but, we trust them too much with every aspect of our lives. They could at least do the same for a fair playing ground. Right?

    Trying to remember that logging software that was on every phone and devs got hold of the phone, dissected the rom, and apps, discovered that it recorded and sent every stroke on the phone to some company and then got the pants sued off them while denying it. It was on my old Samsung Galaxy Prevail.
     
    bcrichster likes this.
  24. deansouth8

    deansouth8 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    36
    4
    16
    Okay... Hopefully useful information. Don't see anyone talking about it in any detail. I see hardly any mention DFU mode. I was able to get the phone in what I'm pretty sure is DFU mode a few times (I THINK) by holding VOL UP+VOL DOWN+POWER from off state with USB connected.

    Not sure where I got the driver from or if auto detected, it installed and wanted serial port 6 for me. ZTE Handset Diagnostic Interface(DFU)

    The hardware ID in Windows is...
    USB\VID_19D2&PID_0112&REV_0000

    I tried to Putty to the serial port just to see. There appeared to be a connection, (usually putty bombs out if there isn't something on the other side). Putty simply would echo 0 several times for everything I typed giving the impression someone is home.

    Not sure what can be done from here with the right tools and knowledge. Not sure if there are any probe tools that can be downloaded or toys to play with or possible foothold to send commands to it.
     
  25. deansouth8

    deansouth8 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    36
    4
    16
    Sorry for spamming the forum. My brain works like this and I just can't help it. I'll stop after this.

    disemmcwp
    Who was the first to discover it?
    More importantly, how & where did they discover it?
    Doubt it was by accident and likely not provided as a result of a support call. If the info just leaked then meh.

    I'm thinking that if there is a place this command was discovered at, for example looking at a flat file that exists on the original phone. We maybe could look there with our temp root and see if it's there or changed, maybe.
     

Share This Page

Loading...