1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Root Zte warp elite N5918

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by HDguy181, Oct 16, 2015.

  1. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    7,054
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    7,054
    5,608
    1,063
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    This was discovered by @hroark13 .. And he's a very well known & respected Dev here in the forums. He's also been trying to help us ZTE users achieve better Root access. [emoji85] [emoji86] [emoji87]

    http://androidforums.com/index.php?posts/7317521
     

    Advertisement

    hroark13 likes this.
  2. Heckerpead

    Heckerpead Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012

    Jul 3, 2012
    103
    36
    53
    Male
    Always
    Florida, Usa
    Yes. It is there in one of the executables, I don't remember which though.
     
  3. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #41
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,287
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,287
    4,118
    483


    https://github.com/hroark13/android_kernel_zte_draconis/blob/master/arch/arm/mach-msm/restart.c

    line 375
     
    deansouth8 and bcrichster like this.
  4. deansouth8

    deansouth8 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    36
    4
    16

    You Sir. are a "FARKING GENIUS". Lol. Thanks! Alas I am not.

    Going through some things searching
    root@warp6:/ # grep -r -l "restart_reason" /system/*

    Found...
    /system/lib/ligcutils.so
    Saw...
    bootloader recovery ftmmode disemmcwp emmcwpenab ftm_read_ztecfg_bootmode ftm_write_emmc_wp_flag ftm_write_ztecfg_bootmode ftm_erase_ztecfg write_ztecfg_data_to_emmc ftm_read_ztecfg_dload ftm_read_ztecfg_full ftm_write_ztecfg_dload

    At least I can tell there is reference to the command switch.

    In libcutils.so I found...

    bootloader recovery rtc ftmmode disemmcwp emmcwpenab

    So I tried some and only these that were apparently working for me that I could tell...
    reboot ftmmode
    reboot recovery

    These files look like they have a lot of goodies but, I don't know how to apply any of what I see in them or recognize what's viable. Not sure what else there is to do but tinker like a fool.
     
    #379 deansouth8, Jul 14, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2016
  5. deansouth8

    deansouth8 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    36
    4
    16
    Oops. Bad post by me. OMG Android forums app sucks so very badly.
     
    #380 deansouth8, Jul 14, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2016
  6. Wookie48

    Wookie48 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 14, 2016

    May 14, 2016
    9
    6
    16
    Male
    Got a new outcome in running the newest version of Kingroot apk. Not really a positive thing though. After a couple failed root attempts, King root did power off my phone, only to have it stuck in a boot loop when it tried to restart. I did get it to boot to recovery menu, however the only option from there that worked for me was the factory reset. Just putting this out there for a potential word of warning for those that try every version of Kingroot that comes out,like me.... It is something new and different, but not really in a good way. Hope you all have better luck than I did!
     
    bcrichster and Dslack420 like this.
  7. GrimGrem

    GrimGrem Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    May 28, 2015

    May 28, 2015
    36
    7
    26
    Has anyone tried the PC version? Does kingoroot update the app and pc versions at the same time?
     
  8. Millertime904

    Millertime904 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    53
    3
    16
    Male
    Unempolyed
    Cape Coral, FL
    No you can't and you can get temp root with kingoroot PC only....The app just restarts your phone like its rooting it but with this phone we can't get the System Writable to finish writing the root to make it Perm. I'm in the Process of trying to get a Max or Grand Max ....I can't take it not having full root of my phone.
     
  9. JRyan433

    JRyan433 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016

    Jul 18, 2016
    4
    0
    15
    Male
    OK so I tried kingroot and got this
     

    Attached Files:

  10. JRyan433

    JRyan433 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016

    Jul 18, 2016
    4
    0
    15
    Male
    I have actually made it further than this according to kingroot I had root access but almost immediately after my phone freezes and I end up having to power it down when it restarts it goes into a boot loop and the only way out is to factory reset from recovery menu
     
  11. iamjohnm

    iamjohnm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015

    Nov 15, 2015
    106
    29
    53
    Male
    Earth
    So are you rooted?
     
  12. JRyan433

    JRyan433 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016

    Jul 18, 2016
    4
    0
    15
    Male
  13. 6th_Hokage

    6th_Hokage Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014

    so still no root guys?
     
  14. JRyan433

    JRyan433 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016

    Jul 18, 2016
    4
    0
    15
    Male
    I was able to remove bloatware which is one main reason I wanted root. But only with the king root uninstall tool. Still can't authorize any root apps
     
  15. iamjohnm

    iamjohnm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015

    Nov 15, 2015
    106
    29
    53
    Male
    Earth
    I used KingRoot a little bit ago. I suggest not using it right now unless you want to hard reset. Luckily I backed up my phone just in case. It will give a "temp root" I guess but once you restart it will not boot.
     
  16. 6th_Hokage

    6th_Hokage Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014

    the temp root won't give you access to use Flashfire or something similar?
     
  17. iamjohnm

    iamjohnm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015

    Nov 15, 2015
    106
    29
    53
    Male
    Earth
    I did not try. You can give it a shot if you want, just back up anything you don't want to lose..
     
  18. iamjohnm

    iamjohnm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015

    Nov 15, 2015
    106
    29
    53
    Male
    Earth
    Is there a way to remove the update notification?
     

    Attached Files:

  19. GrimGrem

    GrimGrem Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    May 28, 2015

    May 28, 2015
    36
    7
    26
    I think if you long hold it, you can get to the setting for it and disable the notification. My old LG was that way. Is this a new update?
     
  20. GrimGrem

    GrimGrem Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    May 28, 2015

    May 28, 2015
    36
    7
    26
    So it looks like an update was released on 7/20 per boosts phone update page. It just says Android security patches. Maybe someone can get the update package and find out a way to use the vulnerability it patches to get us root.
     
  21. iamjohnm

    iamjohnm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015

    Nov 15, 2015
    106
    29
    53
    Male
    Earth
    I didn't update it, yeah I had to block notifications from Google Play Services to turn it off.
     
    bcrichster likes this.
  22. TheWineLover

    TheWineLover Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    Adding another $20 to the kitty for successful root.
     
  23. GrimGrem

    GrimGrem Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    May 28, 2015

    May 28, 2015
    36
    7
    26
  24. iamjohnm

    iamjohnm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015

    Nov 15, 2015
    106
    29
    53
    Male
    Earth
  25. GrimGrem

    GrimGrem Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    May 28, 2015

    May 28, 2015
    36
    7
    26
    Yeah finally got home to give it a shot. I was looking for ZTE phones released around the same time and how they got root. I'd like to believe the developers reused alot of stuff for each phone. Seems inefficient to make a brand new bootloader, recovery, etc. for each phone.

    I'm assuming some items are specific to the kernel and phone being developed for, but bootloader and recovery seem like they could be interchangeable.
     

Share This Page

Loading...