1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Root Zte warp elite N5918

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by HDguy181, Oct 16, 2015.

  1. messi2050

    messi2050 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #92
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    530
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016

    Oct 22, 2016
    530
    892
    173
    Male
    I can try to compile one but not before 2 to 3 weeks from now as my exams starts next week..
     

    Advertisement

    Heckerpead likes this.
  2. Kobalt_K

    Kobalt_K Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016

    Nov 7, 2016
    4
    2
    16
    Male
    So I have unpacked the boot.img and modified the qccom.fstab and build.prop to get root. I tried several methods of flashing this modified boot.img back to the phone with no success until I tried using the code below.
    Code (Text):
    1. dd if=/sdcard/boot.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p20
    This looks like it has flashed the image to this device, however it has put the phone in a boot loop. I have tried flashing the stock boot.img back through recovery, but it fails the verification test. Also tried dding it, but I can only get adb to work when the phone is booted up normally. Does anyone have any advice to get the stock boot.img back?
     
    #502 Kobalt_K, Nov 7, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2016
  3. messi2050

    messi2050 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #92
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    530
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016

    Oct 22, 2016
    530
    892
    173
    Male
    Why not using flashify or flashfire since you have a temp root
     
  4. Kobalt_K

    Kobalt_K Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016

    Nov 7, 2016
    4
    2
    16
    Male
    Because the phone does not boot up after I flashed my modified boot.img. It just shows a blank screen with the notification light on. I thought I might be able to flash it through FTM, but I haven't been able to bring it up again so I think that may have been a part of the boot.img too. The only place I've been able to use adb is in recovery, and it won't let me open a shell there. I tried flashing a update.zip earlier from one of the posters here, but it says "This package is not ks package" and aborts the installation.
     
  5. messi2050

    messi2050 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #92
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    530
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016

    Oct 22, 2016
    530
    892
    173
    Male
    You sould disable dm verify to boot successfully on a modified system
     
  6. Heckerpead

    Heckerpead Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012

    Jul 3, 2012
    103
    36
    53
    Male
    Always
    Florida, Usa
    Is ftm in aboot, I modified boot and tried to flash it to recovery, it tried to boot when I boot into recovery, but then rebooted itself into the stock kernel. I wasn't brave enough to try to flash anything to boot.

    Anyways I'm at work now but I can try and help when I get home.
     
  7. messi2050

    messi2050 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #92
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    530
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016

    Oct 22, 2016
    530
    892
    173
    Male
    Man why you want to modify the kernel , the only thing you need now is a custom recovery
     
  8. Heckerpead

    Heckerpead Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012

    Jul 3, 2012
    103
    36
    53
    Male
    Always
    Florida, Usa
    This was a few months ago. I was going to write boot.img to recovery to see if I could mount it rw.
     
  9. Heckerpead

    Heckerpead Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012

    Jul 3, 2012
    103
    36
    53
    Male
    Always
    Florida, Usa

    If it was either the recovery.img or boot.IMG, neither were zipped. If it was the update.zip it was the b12 update
     
  10. Heckerpead

    Heckerpead Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012

    Jul 3, 2012
    103
    36
    53
    Male
    Always
    Florida, Usa
    Edit: Oops double posted.
     
    #510 Heckerpead, Nov 7, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2016
  11. Heckerpead

    Heckerpead Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012

    Jul 3, 2012
    103
    36
    53
    Male
    Always
    Florida, Usa
    Should we be using something like this :

    dd if=/dev/hda/boot.img of=/dev/block/memblck0p20 bs=512 conv=noerror,sync

    Not sure of the blocksize to use maybe bs=4k might be better.
     
  12. Kobalt_K

    Kobalt_K Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016

    Nov 7, 2016
    4
    2
    16
    Male
    I used that command without the stuff after /memblck0p20 and it seemed to flash okay. Though I wouldn't recommend flashing the boot partition until we find out why it bricked my phone. I think there must be something on another partition that verifies the boot.img to make sure it is stock. I saw an option to disable dm-verity in adb but never messed with it. You might try flashing something in FTM (file transfer mode) and see if that works. You can get to that by pressing volume up when the phone is powering on. I couldn't get the phone to show up with fastboot in that mode but it did show in adb.
     
  13. Heckerpead

    Heckerpead Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012

    Jul 3, 2012
    103
    36
    53
    Male
    Always
    Florida, Usa
    What version of adb are you using? I'm using 1.0.32 in windows and disable dm-verity is not an option.
    Plug your usb to your computer and go to device manager and see if any of these highlighted devices are detected.
    [​IMG]

    You can try installing this driver: QUD.WIN.1.1 Installer-10039.2 from here .
    If you install these drivers you probably have to run a cmd window as admin and do these commands.
    Code (Text):
    1. bcdedit /set testsigning on
    2. bcdedit /set loadoptions DDISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS

     
    #513 Heckerpead, Nov 7, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2016
    woodgaser likes this.
  14. starkraving

    starkraving Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,484
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013

    Apr 27, 2013
    2,484
    1,363
    323
    Male
    Contractor
    Las Vegas, Nv
    Glad to see there's still interest in this device. The Warp 7 is the exact same device in a new body...would probably be pretty easy to port the 6.0.X rom to the Elite if the bootloader issue can be solved. Good luck guys will definitely be watching this thread. [emoji4]
     
    Heckerpead likes this.
  15. starkraving

    starkraving Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,484
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013

    Apr 27, 2013
    2,484
    1,363
    323
    Male
    Contractor
    Las Vegas, Nv
    I know I'm being incredibly lazy but I really don't want to read back through 52 pages...but has the obvious been done? Enable OEM unlocking, debugging boot into bootloader and "fastboot oem unlock"?
     
  16. Heckerpead

    Heckerpead Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012

    Jul 3, 2012
    103
    36
    53
    Male
    Always
    Florida, Usa
    Yeah, all of the usual stuff.
     
    starkraving likes this.
  17. starkraving

    starkraving Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,484
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013

    Apr 27, 2013
    2,484
    1,363
    323
    Male
    Contractor
    Las Vegas, Nv
    Maybe we should reach out to the Modaco guys... they do loads of ZTE development.
     
  18. woodgaser

    woodgaser Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013

    if you are a member...post a question and test the waters..can not hurt...
     
    starkraving likes this.
  19. benny920

    benny920 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015

    Mar 20, 2015
    38
    0
    15
    I have a ZTE n9518 through Boost Mobile. I have been watching and participating on and off with this thread for a while. I was wondering what is the best and newest boost phone for developers to root?
     
  20. Heckerpead

    Heckerpead Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012

    Jul 3, 2012
    103
    36
    53
    Male
    Always
    Florida, Usa
    Samsung j6 is rootable I think. @messi2050 would know for sure if the j700p version is or not. The last time I checked it was up in the air. It's a pretty old phone now though. I was going to get the axon 7 but I don't think it has all the frequency bands required for Boost Mobile.
     
    bcrichster likes this.
  21. Heckerpead

    Heckerpead Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012

    Jul 3, 2012
    103
    36
    53
    Male
    Always
    Florida, Usa
    You have held the power button until it reboots right. Have you tried a factory reset yet. I think I had to. I think I had to when I tried something similar.
     
  22. Heckerpead

    Heckerpead Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012

    Jul 3, 2012
    103
    36
    53
    Male
    Always
    Florida, Usa
    I DID IT!!!!!:D:D:p:cool: disabled write protection. I'm a Farkin Genius Toooo!!!!

    No test folder.
    [​IMG]
    in terminal no temp root I typed this command after looking through aboot in Ida pro.
    Code (Text):
    1. reboot dismmc_wp
    [​IMG]
    Test folder!!!!!
    [​IMG]
    Finally perm root!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    Edit: Nevermind, it Didn't work I just realized I wasn't in /system.
     
    #522 Heckerpead, Nov 16, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2016
    woodgaser likes this.
  23. Heckerpead

    Heckerpead Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012

    Jul 3, 2012
    103
    36
    53
    Male
    Always
    Florida, Usa
    delete please
     
    #523 Heckerpead, Nov 16, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2016
  24. woodgaser

    woodgaser Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013

    is it possible ...in temp root to install busy box....and change permissions with Linux commands through a terminal? just a wild thought...
     
  25. Heckerpead

    Heckerpead Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012

    Jul 3, 2012
    103
    36
    53
    Male
    Always
    Florida, Usa
    Nah tried that :setenforce 0
    however you can change permisions on anything that is not in /system.
     

Share This Page

Loading...