1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root #*#*root*#*# ?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by smoltz, Aug 31, 2010.

  1. smoltz

    smoltz Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Hello All,

    New to the forum... while waiting for the 2.2 OTA update, I found out about the #*#*checkin*#*# to force the phone to check in for updates (or something). Being the curious sort I typed in #*#*root*#*#, it seemed to accept the command but doesn't look like it's changed the phones behavior at all. When I enter something random like #*#*foo*#*# it does nothing, so I am convinced the phone acknowledged this.

    Any ideas?

    -Adam
     

    Advertisement

  2. upther

    upther Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    456
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    456
    61
    53
    Micco, FL
    Acknowledged and did what?
     
  3. vico-c

    vico-c Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    37
    2
    16
    arizona

    Where do you input #*#*checkin*#*# I need to re check for my update. I had it earlier but messed it up because I was rooted
     
  4. nkk

    nkk Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    758
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    758
    565
    163
    The regular dialer is where you would type something like that.

    -Nkk
     
    vico-c likes this.
  5. jmolek28

    jmolek28 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    33
    7
    16
    On the Numpad, like you are dialing someone.

    edit: beat me to it lol
     
    vico-c likes this.
  6. boilator

    boilator Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    43
    6
    16
    * # * # 2 4 3 2 5 4 6 # * # *

    Lator
     
    vico-c likes this.
  7. vico-c

    vico-c Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    37
    2
    16
    arizona
    it worked but still no update:mad: I wonder if I'm going to receive it when the next batch goes out. any other ideas its driving me nuts because now I'm not rooted and no update! might have to manually do it but Im worried seems as if people are having problems
     
  8. UHF3

    UHF3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    173
    36
    43
    No one is going to believe this. But, I just did the "checkin" got a message in the notification bar that said "checkin sucess". Then I noticed 3G activity, so I checked for system updates ad there it was 2.2 downloading!!!

    [​IMG]
     
    GrandMasterB likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...