1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root rooted but still no space message.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by zig1, Feb 24, 2011.

  1. zig1

    zig1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    43
    0
    15
    As so many posts start... I'm a real noob, so please be gentle. My question is... I 'believe' I successfully rooted my desire last night. Got super user app. I didn't make a gold card and I'm with Three Ireland. My problem is I still have 'low space message' and I'm told if I try to download an app I've no room... also a lot of apps are forced closing. I can't stress how simple replies will have to be.... next level up from computer idiot!!! Anyone any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Rooting itself does not increase space. Rooting does however, open doors that were previously locked.

    What you probably want is a2sd (see the apps2sd FAQ in my Sig). This will be a good starting point for you.
     
    zig1 likes this.
  3. zig1

    zig1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    43
    0
    15
    I was under impression that came with using revoked.... presume nothing I presume! That looks very complicated for my level but suppose ill have to try it. Once I see super user I am rooted correctly???
     
  4. LECTER

    LECTER Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,546
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    1,546
    233
    163
    Entrepreneur
    Over the hill and through the woods
    You will need app2sd which means you need a partition on your sd card for the apps to get partially stored to! ;)

    Check out my sig for a video on how to do it with Gparted.
     
    zig1 likes this.
  5. No_u

    No_u Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010

    Sep 4, 2010
    483
    45
    63
    Before you do anything.. You did not make a backup of your current phone? You should hurry and do that first.. Since you are on a branded phone.
     
    zig1 likes this.
  6. zig1

    zig1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    43
    0
    15
    The first thing I did!!! this partition looks a bit scary... several ways on u tube... are they all more or less the same??
     
  7. LECTER

    LECTER Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,546
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    1,546
    233
    163
    Entrepreneur
    Over the hill and through the woods
    Use the one I have, freeze each instruction and then do it.

    That's what I did! ;)
     
    zig1 likes this.
  8. zig1

    zig1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    43
    0
    15
    Which one did u use? Simple to follow even for the tech phobe like me??!
     
  9. LECTER

    LECTER Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,546
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    1,546
    233
    163
    Entrepreneur
    Over the hill and through the woods
    zig1 likes this.
  10. zig1

    zig1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    43
    0
    15
    Any ides on how I get into to change the Boot Device Option?
     
  11. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #111
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,274
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    Do you mean on the pc? if so depends on your bios, it will be one of the "f" buttons or escape.
     
    zig1 likes this.
  12. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    often f12 to boot manager but it depends. Or go into the bios and manually change the order.

    It tells you what F key does what at the bios splash screen
     
    zig1 likes this.
  13. zig1

    zig1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    43
    0
    15
    Running Windows 7 ultimate... can get into 'advanced boot manager' but cannot seem to find where or how to boot using the g parted cd.... sorry for questions but as I said not to familiar with this stuff!!!
     
  14. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Windows version is irrelevant.

    So when you turn on the PC and the bios screen comes up, you get an option to go to advanced boot manager? On that next screen what do you see?
     
  15. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #97
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,684
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,684
    318
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    F5 an F6 moves your options up and down the list. F10 to quit.
     
  16. zig1

    zig1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    43
    0
    15
    In the Windows Boot Manager it says... choose an operating system to start or tab to select a tool... Windows is then highlighted and the Tools are Windows Memory Diagnostic... there is also an advanced option... F8
     
  17. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #97
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,684
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,684
    318
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    That's Boot manager not BIOS. Switch your machine off, then back on again pressing either F2 on mine F5 on others F8 repeatedly.

    EDIT: The screen will Probally go blue an grey.
    EDIY: Hic
     
  18. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #111
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,274
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    f8 is usually to get in safe mode.
     
  19. zig1

    zig1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    43
    0
    15
    So turn on machine hitting F2 or F5 or F8 repeatedly... ill give it a go... cheers..
     
  20. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Tell me what PC and bios you have and I'll tell you what to do.
     
  21. zig1

    zig1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    43
    0
    15
    Got .... Please select boot device on blue screen??
    4 options.... cd/dvd: Sata: and three usb options....
    If I select cd/dvd: windows starts up as normal....
     
  22. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Once you select CD you should then get something that says "Press any key to boot from CD" on a black screen.

    You did make the CD bootable yeah? You didnt just copy the ISO to the CD and write it normal?

    Personally I use Burn4free. Then go to "Burner>Burn ISO"

    Burn4free
     
  23. zig1

    zig1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    43
    0
    15
    That's prob my prob....ill try that... I'm nearly embarrassed at this stage thanks for all help so far....
     
  24. zig1

    zig1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    43
    0
    15
    so.... root... partition... now app 2sd... no offence but I thought when I rooted phone I'd have it all!!! I'm on the app2 sd stage now....can't be far to go! thanks for all the help tho....
    Just wanted to download a few apps!!!!

    Far from out of the woods yet!
     
  25. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Yes people seem to think or are lead to believe root is all that is required. Fact is it simply opens the door
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...