1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Rooted Carolina West HTC Hero.......Success!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MattX13, Jan 2, 2011.

  1. MattX13

    MattX13 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    32
    2
    16
    My carrier is Carolina West Wireless. I was afraid to try and root my phone because I couldn't find any info on rooting a Carolina West phone (CDMA).
    My buddy rooted his Sprint Hero and talked me into trying it on mine. We followed the directions at theunlockr.com and installed the Cyanogen ROM. It was a success and I couldn't be happier. Just wanted to post this in case there is someone else out there with my carrier that doesn't know if they can safely root their phone.

    My phone says "Sprint" on the lock screen now, but other than that it works great. Much faster. My carrier just recently released a 2.1 update for this phone, but to find out about it I had to call them. It was ok, but not as good as the 2.2 Cyanogen ROM.
     

    Advertisement

    Hazmatt86 and andygu3 like this.
  2. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,382
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,382
    8,111
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Cool, nice to see see success stories without all the grief, well done and keep us posted and enjoy your phone again the way it is suppose to work, and make sure you make a Nandroid this way you can play with different Roms.


     
  3. Songsinger

    Songsinger Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Does the Camera work ok for you with this ROM. I think I saw where this had been an issue for this ROM and the hero.
     
  4. MattX13

    MattX13 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    32
    2
    16
    Camera works just fine. As far as I can tell, everything works normal.
    Oh, and I found in the settings how to turn off the Sprint logo on the lock screen.
     
  5. Songsinger

    Songsinger Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Sweet! Thanks for the quick reply!
     
  6. Songsinger

    Songsinger Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Hey Matt, Is picture messaging working for you?
     
  7. MattX13

    MattX13 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    32
    2
    16
    I can receive, but not send. But it has always been like that. Even before this phone!
     
  8. Songsinger

    Songsinger Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    humm. I could do both on the 2.1 release Carolina West put out last August. Now with CM6 I can't do either. :thinking: Also I miss being able to play more flash videos.

    Everything else is MUCH better than the stock ROM that was CWW's most recent.
     
  9. MattX13

    MattX13 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    32
    2
    16
    I don't know what the problem is with picture messaging. I've never been able to send. I like CM6 better than CW's 2.1 release. I don't have any problem with video. The Youtube app works for me, and for other video sites I use the Skyfire browser.
     
  10. levatator

    levatator Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    8
    1
    6
    ive never been able to send or receive mms with my HTC Hero since new out of box ,
    PRL change from Carolina west Wireless 09992,to 0710, to 0410 ... same with all .
    Internet ... perfect, email , market , sms , all perfect !
    MMS all i get is similar to playing wacka-mole with download button in message
     
  11. levatator

    levatator Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    8
    1
    6
    Well guys I think on the HTC Hero (CDMA) with Carolina West Wireless is in the connection settings ... Seems the Hero that CWW has was made by a company called (PCD) Personal Communication Devices . It wasn't branded for any particular Carrier .
     
  12. Hazmatt86

    Hazmatt86 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011

    Nov 9, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    NC
    If you guys are still active,thanks for this thread! My friend uses this network,wanted to root his phone. gladto see its possible. Can I ask a few questions though?
     
  13. MattX13

    MattX13 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    32
    2
    16
    Be glad to help if I can. I have a Motorola Milestone X2 (Droid X2) now, but I still have the Hero laying around.
     
  14. ajharrold444

    ajharrold444 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012

    May 6, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    My Carolina West HTC hero is stuck on 1.5, it won't let me update or anything.. I even tried this..help?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...