1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Rooted Evo 4G running stock 2.2 -- worried about security

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dnoyes, Oct 26, 2011.

1. dnoyes

dnoyes Lurker
    None

Oct 26, 2011
    Hi everyone. I rooted my Evo 4G (running 2.2) about 2 months before the 2.3 OTA came out. I used unr3vok3d forever, and did NOT flash a new rom.

I'm still running 2.2, but have S-OFF and have the latest clockwork mod recovery.

I would like 2.3 (or better), but am more concerned about a potential security threat I read all HTC phones have as of October.

Since I can't accept the OTA, and I'm new to diving into the mountain of posts on here about rooting/unrooting... would anyone have any advice/suggestions?

My main concern is security. I'm okay learning/installing hotness as I go. Thanks!

Advertisement

2. dustwun77

dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)

Feb 24, 2010
    Male
    ET
    SC
    Howdy, welcome to the forums!

Some of the roms already seem to have the HTC thing removed, I am thinking that is the security issue, I understand.

First off, check out this thread, http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all...ooting-dummies-guide-gingerbread-edition.html starting with the Life after Root part.

Prob need to change your recovery, make a nandroid backup, then on to flashing roms and kernels and stuff.

When you get to the roms and kernels page, you read the developers pages and see which ones have it removed. I am thinking that the Mik 2.5x roms have it removed already, as well as the Tommy Tomatoe Classic sense 1.0 does as well. Prob a lot do, have to read.

Ask all the questions you need!

ocnbrze and argedion like this.
  3. dnoyes

dnoyes Lurker
    None

Oct 26, 2011
    Thanks dustwun77.

I've got the "I'm an intelligent guy, but MAN there's so much info... I may never get this!" feeling. I'm sure most have had that at one point. :)

It sounds like I need to not get jumpy, and to take time doing some reading.