1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root rooted? help?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by badkitty, Aug 6, 2011.

  1. badkitty

    badkitty Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    ok so back in like feb i rooted my phone. When the OTA 2.2 update came i did it , but i got the status 7 error. So i just left it alone and stayed with 2.1

    I did a hard reset to factory and i tried the update again. I get same error. I CANNOT get the phone to connect to pc, either in USB mass storage mode or Debugging mode. i have tried everything including uninstall/install USB drivers a millions times, 5 different cables including the cable the phone came with and even on 3 different pc's , 2 of which had BRAND NEW install of windows 7. I think it's my phone's usb port that's messed up, so i'm giving up.

    My question is how can the tech at sprint see if my phone is rooted or not?

    I don't remember which method i used and since i cannot get the phone connected in any way to a pc to UNROOT it, i can't change it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Stringyquark

    Stringyquark Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    94
    13
    18
    I had this issue, can you connect the phone in download mode (hold 1 and power). After I used odin to flash a complete rom kernal and modem this issue that's followed me from ec05 fixed and my usb worked again. Download odin and see if you can connect through that. If you can try flashing a full rom. Worked for me, might work for you.
     
  3. junebogey

    junebogey Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    146
    9
    36
    New Jersey
    That stuff won't unroot it they can tell because it tells them if it's s-off or s-on s-off means your rooted which voids your warranty you can try searching for samsung epic unroot
     
  4. badkitty

    badkitty Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    i figured it out. all 4 of my cables were bad or just didn't work with my phone. one cable used to before but not now. i borrowed a friends cable who has a vibrant. BAM it worked. sighh.

    I got the 2.2 eb13 rom and used odin to flash it. worgs just fine now. but thanks.
     
  5. ewarren29

    ewarren29 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    122
    4
    36
    If you flash back to stock and unroot can the techs tell if it has been rooted before?
     
  6. rounsy222

    rounsy222 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    592
    69
    78
    machinist
    superior wi

    They shouldn't be able too.
     
  7. badkitty

    badkitty Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    well i flashed mine to 2.2 and did a root check , i do not have root access anymore. so they can't tell if you ever did have it rooted or not
     
  8. Gavisann

    Gavisann Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    290
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011

    Mar 31, 2011
    290
    24
    38
    I misunderstood your question..

    Yes, if you don't have CWM and you don't have the superuser app, they will never know.
     
  9. Stringyquark

    Stringyquark Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    94
    13
    18
    Also make sure the three finger salute doesn't take you to clockwork mod or anything else other then the stock recovery.
     

Share This Page

Loading...