1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Rooted HTC Desire. How to debrand O2?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rocrules, Sep 14, 2010.

  1. rocrules

    rocrules Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010

    Sep 14, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Ireland
    Hi all!

    First time post.

    I have an HTC Desire, locked to O2. Bootloader 8.0. Amoled screen (according to the box).

    I have rooted it using unrevoked3.

    I have created a gold card.

    I want to debrand the phone before updating to Froyo. I am currently on 2.1 update 1.

    I am worried that maybe I'm mixing and matching too much, and could somebody point me in the right direction to debrand the phone and then upgrade to Froyo.

    There's a lot of different walkthroughs out there, and I don't want to mess this up!

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. DragosP

    DragosP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    40
    2
    16
    Engineer
    Braila, Romania
    When you will flash a new, custom ROM with Froye, automatically the phone will be debranded.
     
  3. teppic74

    teppic74 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    441
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    441
    146
    68
    Rooting/flashing a custom rom isn't debranding.

    To debrand you need to flash a generic RUU using your goldcard. Search for 'froyo ruu update' in the main forums. Use the first RUU, the second seems to cause problems.
     
  4. rocrules

    rocrules Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010

    Sep 14, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Ireland
    Ok. I'll try that. Thanks!
     
  5. Anthony1

    Anthony1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    399
    45
    43
    Luton UK
    Did you manage to get this done.

    I'm having the same problem with a friend's phone. I've rooted it OK and created a gold card but I can't seem to get hold of an RUU that works :(
     
  6. teppic74

    teppic74 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    441
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    441
    146
    68
    If the RUU fails with a CID error you haven't made the goldcard correctly.
     
  7. Anthony1

    Anthony1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    399
    45
    43
    Luton UK
    The gold card is fine. I just can't seem to find an RUU file that works. I need a 1.21 version, but can't seem to find one.
     
  8. teppic74

    teppic74 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    441
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    441
    146
    68
    You need to be more specific. What is the error message?
     
  9. Anthony1

    Anthony1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    399
    45
    43
    Luton UK
    Never mind. Most of the problem was my work network not allowing me to download the RUU files I wanted.

    Thanks for the replies though.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...