1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Rooted HTC One V as a Mobile Hotspot

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by los panda, Sep 23, 2012.

  1. los panda

    los panda Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012

    Aug 28, 2012
    92
    4
    36
    has anyone used the htc one v as a mobile hotspot? i am very interested in using mine as a hotspot, i want to know if it is possible.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jaay Dogg

    Jaay Dogg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    758
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011

    Ya if your using sense then use the android WiFi tether, & the native hotspot works great on CM10
     
  3. cwhite803

    cwhite803 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012

    Oct 6, 2012
    8
    2
    6
    Columbia, SC
    is the hotspot adhoc? i ask because i had an optimus v, then sold it and got an optimus elite that would only do adhoc. my nexus 7 doesn't recognize adhoc, so i got rid of the elite and got my old optimus v back. i had the elite for almost a month and the v feels like a huge downgrade, but at least i can tether again. looking at the one v now ($100 at radio shack on black friday looks like a deal). but if its adhoc i'll keep looking. thanks in advance!
     
  4. cwhite803

    cwhite803 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012

    Oct 6, 2012
    8
    2
    6
    Columbia, SC
    Bump. Nobody knows?
     
  5. los panda

    los panda Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012

    Aug 28, 2012
    92
    4
    36
  6. riggerman0421

    riggerman0421 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #398
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012

    Aug 1, 2012
    205
    57
    63
    Louisiana
    I'm running a stock based custom Rom( SuPrimo) and just tried to connect the built in hot spot to my Nexus 7. No dice, just gets stuck at the authenticating screen. Hope this helps.
     
    cwhite803 likes this.
  7. simonsimons34

    simonsimons34 Rom & Kernel Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    583
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    583
    688
    163
    Male
    self employed programmer/computer repair specialis
    Sevierville
    Flash cm10. Its the only ROM besides any other source built ROM with tethering
     
  8. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    The Evo V is currently $149 on the VMUSA site and I can only confirm that with the Midnight rom and the Anthrax kernel wifi tethering works fine.
     
    cuallito likes this.
  9. simonsimons34

    simonsimons34 Rom & Kernel Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    583
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    583
    688
    163
    Male
    self employed programmer/computer repair specialis
    Sevierville
    The one v can't use it. Its blocked in firmware in multiple ways. Sense will not get it for the one v
     
  10. MasterControl

    MasterControl Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012

    Nov 15, 2012
    9
    5
    6
    It also worked for me on AOKP 11/18 using your 2-0-0 kernel (but it seemed to be broken on PAC v15.3)

     
  11. simonsimons34

    simonsimons34 Rom & Kernel Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    583
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    583
    688
    163
    Male
    self employed programmer/computer repair specialis
    Sevierville
    It all depends on who did what to the rom
     
  12. bunanson

    bunanson Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    108
    14
    38
    This is the attached build.prop for the stock ROM:
    =============================================
    ro.ril.oem.ecclist=911
    ro.ril.fast.dormancy.rule=1
    ro.ril.disable.fd.plmn.prefix=23402,23410,23411,23420
    ro.ril.enable.sdr=0
    ro.ril.set.mtusize=1472
    ro.com.google.clientidbase=android-htc
    ro.com.google.clientidbase.yt=android-virgin-us
    ro.com.google.clientidbase.am=android-virgin-us
    ro.com.google.clientidbase.gmm=android-htc
    ro.com.google.clientidbase.ms=android-virgin-us
    ro.wifi.hotspotUI=0
    ro.tether.denied=true
    ro.bt.tetheringUI=0
    ro.usb.tetheringUI=0
    ro.product.brand=virgin_mobile
    ro.product.model=HTC One V
    ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha=Virgin Mobile
    gsm.sim.operator.alpha=Virgin Mobile
    gsm.operator.alpha=Virgin Mobile
    ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric=311490
    gsm.sim.operator.numeric=311490
    gsm.operator.numeric=311490
    gsm.sim.operator.iso-country=us
    gsm.operator.iso-country=us
    ro.da1.enable=true
    persist.radio.voice.dom.roam=0
    dev.defaultwallpaper=/system/customize/resource/scene_wallpaper_htc_default.jpg
    dev.deviceimage_large=/system/customize/resource/primo_device_187x370.png
    dev.deviceimage_small=/system/customize/resource/primo_device_32x58.png
    # begin build properties
    # autogenerated by buildinfo.sh
    ro.aa.customizationid=375667
    ro.aa.project=PRIMO_C_ICS_40A
    ro.onecid=
    ro.aa.romver=1.08.652.11
    ro.aa.maincid=SPCS_002
    ro.aa.rid=343
    ro.aa.modelid=PK7630000
    ro.aa.cidlist=SPCS_002
    ro.aa.report=com
    ro.build.display.id=1.08.652.11 710RD
    ro.aa.skulist=652
    ro.aa.taskid=286124
    ro.aa.mainsku=652
    ro.cwkey=SPCS_002
    ro.com.google.clientidbase=android-htc
    ro.build.id=IML74K
    ro.build.display.id=IML74K
    ro.build.version.incremental=63812.11
    ro.build.version.sdk=15
    ro.build.version.codename=REL
    ro.build.version.release=4.0.3
    ro.build.date=
     
  13. simonsimons34

    simonsimons34 Rom & Kernel Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    583
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    583
    688
    163
    Male
    self employed programmer/computer repair specialis
    Sevierville
    You will get error 16. Its coded in the ROM. Trust me here
     
    bunanson likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...