1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Rooted] Is "Wi-fi Hotspot" free?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jeff123, Aug 8, 2011.

  1. Jeff123

    Jeff123 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    26
    0
    15
    I was using CM7, but today, I decided to switch to Synergy's Sense 3.0 rom.

    Since the rom has both "Wireless Tether" and "Wi-fi hotspot", I know that it's very likely that the Wi-fi hotspot costs money.

    However, when I opened it up and turned the wifi hotspot on, I was never prompted with a warning saying that I would be charge.

    Is this app free, as I never got a message saying that I would be charged, or is it likely that I will be getting charged on my next bill?
     

    Advertisement

  2. mcl1981

    mcl1981 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    198
    33
    43
    The app from Sprint requires you pay $30/mo for the application to function. If you do not pay it, the application will not work. If you use some other application to turn your phone into a hotspot, there is no charge.
     
  3. jericko

    jericko Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    344
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    344
    124
    68
    Systems Engineer
    Omaha
    I am not sure about Synergy, but I know Mik roms have it unlocked for free.
     
  4. Jeff123

    Jeff123 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    26
    0
    15
    My guess is that Synergy also unlocked it, but then it doesn't really make sense why Synergy would include two tethering apps in his rom.
     
  5. jericko

    jericko Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    344
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    344
    124
    68
    Systems Engineer
    Omaha

    I think the reason why, and I may be wrong, but the Sprint Hotspot can only theater 3G, the other app (non-sprint) can do 4G as well (I do not have 4G in my city so I am not 100% sure if that's true).
     
  6. joseph.v1988

    joseph.v1988 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    27
    2
    16
    Tmobile hotspot is free if u have unlimted i have 5gb unlimted and is free for me now i changed my 5gb to 10 and is still free sprint and verizon has to pay.
     
  7. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    so for most roms if there is sprint's hotspot app then it is most likely hacked which means that you can do it for free. just be careful how much data you use with it. they may find out and term you. here is a guide to tethering:http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all...net-tethering-w-evo-4g-3g-wireless-wired.html
     
  8. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    You are correct. The wireless teather can run 4G, the WiFi hotspot app only runs 3G.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...