1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Rooted MS690 and MetroPcs

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Dustinito, Jun 8, 2011.

  1. Dustinito

    Dustinito Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    38
    1
    16
    Computer FreeLance
    Stockton, CA
    Okay so my phone is Rooted and Custom Recovery installed. NAND backup complete and such. Lets say I want to install a custom ROM, will I lose my service with Metro upon the new ROM being installed? I don't know how to exactly ask this: Like will I have to reactivate my phone with Metro: Create a new account? Or is there some way to just transfer everything over to the new ROM to keep my current number going as it was before?
     

    Advertisement

  2. blaxican25

    blaxican25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,520
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    1,520
    730
    213
    Another planet Far Away
    no you wont lose service just back up your apps that you want to keep, your number and account stay the same and when you sign back into your gmail it restores your contacts.
     
    Dustinito likes this.
  3. Dustinito

    Dustinito Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    38
    1
    16
    Computer FreeLance
    Stockton, CA
    How does my number/service jump over to the new ROM? It just carries over through some background task?
     
  4. blaxican25

    blaxican25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,520
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    1,520
    730
    213
    Another planet Far Away
    trust me you wont lose your service from flashing a rom ask anyone
     
    Dustinito likes this.
  5. Dustinito

    Dustinito Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    38
    1
    16
    Computer FreeLance
    Stockton, CA
    Okay, I'm no really worried I just don't want to have to deal with MetroPCS or the person who pays my bill. :p I'll just restore my NAND if it gives me crap. Thanks for the help good sir!
     
  6. blaxican25

    blaxican25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,520
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    1,520
    730
    213
    Another planet Far Away
    you know how to flash a rom right?
     
  7. Dustinito

    Dustinito Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    38
    1
    16
    Computer FreeLance
    Stockton, CA
    I've done it many times over on my G1. But I thought that maybe because my phone was CDMA it may be different since there is no SIM involved.
     
  8. blaxican25

    blaxican25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,520
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    1,520
    730
    213
    Another planet Far Away
  9. Dustinito

    Dustinito Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    38
    1
    16
    Computer FreeLance
    Stockton, CA
    Hey I saw you answer this question before somewhere else? But on the CM7 ROM when my screen locks and turns off and when I go to turn it back on its just black?
     
  10. t3084

    t3084 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

    Feb 6, 2011
    327
    28
    43
    Tustin, CA
    go into your main settings > Cyanogenmod settings > Display> uncheck on and off animations
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...